We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hotel, excellent location - still my pick for Whistler hotels but service is slipping....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great hotel, excellent location - still my pick for Whistler hotels but service is slipping....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

This was our third year staying at the Westin Whistler for a family ski holiday with our two young children. Overall, this place is still my pick of Whistler hotels for the overall package it offers – Westin style & comfort of accommodation can always be relied on, and the location of the resort is excellent. However, my review this year is a little mixed - we all left feeling a little disappointed – the resort managed to suitably impress us in the last two years with exceptional service, but the warm hospitality we had previously experienced was definitely lacking this year.

The great things about this place
- LOCATION – I still think this is the best location in Whistler, especially when travelling with young children – 20 metres from the ski valet to the dropoff for Whistler Kids and the Village Gondola, close to all the village shops & restaurants
- ROOMS – we always stay in a 2 bedroom apartment which is compact (as is most accommodation in central Whistler Village) but provides plenty of space & all the amenities we need when travelling with 2 children – separate living with gas log fire, small kitchen, 2 bathrooms, plenty of storage space; the décor is warm and inviting, and the room temperature remains constantly comfortable; the only thing it lacks is it’s own washing machine (each floor does have its own laundry with excellent front loaders which have a good gentle cycle for those delicate base layers) and sufficient space for a drying rack for clothes (which simply meant that our 2nd shower was usually permanently set up as a drying room!)
- WESTIN HEAVENLY BEDS – are just that! Incredibly comfortable!!
- SPA – great masseuses, but a little pricey and you still can’t charge to the room
- SKI VALET – extremely efficient once again, never a queue (even at peak times); at the end of the day they set up a tent at the bottom of the gondola run, so you can hand your skis over before walking back to the hotel

The not-so-good experiences this year:
- ROOM REQUEST – we arrived jetlagged having travelled for more than 40 hours to find that the room we requested (booked 12 months in advance), was not available so we were moved to an "equivalent" room several floors lower. Aside from the disappointment of being moved, it also resulted in a further delay at check-in because I had to request my parents be moved to the same floor as us as initially requested in our booking. To add salt to the wound, we then had the misfortune of a week's worth of extremely noisy upstairs neighbours who seemed to be thumping on their floor every night until close to midnight – despite Starwood’s promise to upgrade Gold members when available, this felt distinctively like a downgrade!
- HOUSEKEEPING – every morning we would leave at 8.30 for ski lessons, and return at 4pm after picking up the kids – on several occasions, our room was either in the process of being serviced or had not even been attended to yet – which is incredibly frustrating when you have exhausted kids in tow. As a top ski resort, I would expect that all rooms be serviced before the mountain closes at 4pm to allow guests to return and rest/shower/change
- HOSPITALITY – we noticed that the friendly “service with a smile” had miraculously disappeared in the 12 months since our last visit; whilst staff were polite, the warmth and sincerity we had previously experienced was not forthcoming. In addition, personal attention was also lacking – on arrival in our room, there was a "welcome" card on our kitchen bench, which would have softened the lingering frustration from check-in until I opened it to discover it was actually addressed to somebody else!!
- POOL – we took the kids to the pool once during our stay, and vowed never to return! The pool area was reminiscent of public pools in the 80s (drab & unwelcoming décor) and crowded with rowdy, inconsiderate and misbehaving kids (the parents were no better!!)

In summary, this resort is still my preferred place to stay in Whistler, and whilst overall, I left feeling a little disappointed, it has not deterred me from returning. Hopefully, next time we will find the warm and personal level of service restored, and we will give this place the accolades we have given it in the past.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarKri02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear CarKri02,

Thank you very much for returning with your family for your annual stay! We truly appreciate welcoming you back each year and hearing the detailed comments you take the time to share. Please accept my personal apologies that our associates weren't able to extend the warm and welcoming service you have every right to expect. Exceptional service is an effort that requires constant focus and improvement, and your comment is certainly an opportunity for us to ensure we are doing everything possible to maintain it. We look forward to welcoming your family back next year and are confident you will have the memorable experience you deserve.

Stay Well,
Bryce Beatty
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    901
    573
    201
    75
    59
See reviews for
614
612
61
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sammamish, WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

The Westin is probably the best location to stay at Whistler, literally steps away from the Whistler Gondola. Although a bit pricey, it is in line with other equivalent hotels in the Village area (Hilton and Pan Pacific). I wish the rooms were a little bigger for the price, but overall this is place I would reccomend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
Thank ddasilva2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Skiing in Whistler is terrific and the Westin is a very good base from which to enjoy it.

For
1. Location, location, location
2. Full kitchen (in suite anyway)
3. Ski valet at the bottom of the mountain - expensive but worth it
4. Staff are enthusiastic and do their best to deal with any issues - well done Brooke and Colin
5. Room service is swift and efficient

Against
1. There is a feeling of being "chiselled" - CAD 100 for a week's internet (shame on you Westin) and a delivery charge to bring wine to the room which is unattractive
2. No bar service in the pool jacuzzi for some reason
3. Storing ski boots in the room with no heaters can make the designated boot cupboard a bit "ripe"
4. Washers and driers only take CAD 1 coins - hoarding these was a pain
5. Breakfast in hotel restaurant was very expensive for what it was

I will stay here again next year but may have a look around next time since the charges for anything outside the core stay irritated me

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyBBad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, wa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

It takes a lot to ruin a ski trip to Whistler/Blackcomb, but the Westin Resort and Spa managed to do it.

Let's start with the room: billed as a "Junior Suite," it promised "a living room, sleeping area and kitchen, complete with a Jenn-Air dishwasher, Sub-Zero refrigerator and Jenn-Air oven" and a balcony. Totally untrue. We had a typical two-bed hotel room with a kitchenette like you would see in a motor home. The refrigerator really was a Subzero (I checked the logo), but it was obviously from their subcompact line: again like what one would see in a motor home, it had about 2 cubic feet of space with shared freezer and refrigerator compartments. Things near the bottom froze, while those near the top stayed warm. There was a 2-burner stove, but no real counter space, and no table or other place to sit except the beds. Nor was there a balcony. In fact, there wasn't even a window we could open. This was a tiny efficiency at best, and far too small for two adults and two small kids.

And then there was the pool/hot tub. Yes, the pool goes from inside to outside, which we though our kids would love. However, the pool was far too cold for any fun. Though I didn't have a thermometer, I'm sure it was no warmer than the mid 70's, and we could only stay in for about 10 minutes. No chance to warm up in the two hot-tubs, though, because they were jam-packed. Nor was there any place to sit or even put our towels and bathrobes down: it's like the entire pool facility was designed for no more than 1/3 of the number of people actually crammed into it.

Now let's talk about the fees. It cost $30.00 (plus tax) per day to self-park our car, even though the cavernous garage was mostly empty. In addition, because you can't store your ski gear in your room, there's a mandatory "ski valet" charge of $8.00 (plus tax) per pair per day for the privilege of standing in line every morning to have someone hand your equipment to you. Want to use the internet? It costs $14.00 (plus tax) per day--at least 5 dollars more than most places, if they even charge at all. And forget about watching your DVDs in the room--there's no DVD player. If you want entertainment, you have to use their in-room movie service, which costs $15.00 (plus tax) for any movie you've ever heard of.

I go to Whistler at least once every year, and I will be back next year. But I will never, ever stay at the Westin again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Arty A,

I am sorry to see your comments here despite trying to connect with you via email. We are truly sorry that you and your family did not enjoy your stay with us, and would like the opportunity to speak with you to discuss further. At your earliest opportunity please email me at bryce.beatty@westinwhistler.com.

Thank you,
Bryce Beatty
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Cannot beat the location, the hotel backs onto Whistler mountain. Staff were excellent and room was decent and well appointed. I think this hotel has to check out the competition and make some changes. Parking is one of the most expensive in Whistler (if not the most expensive) and is unsecured, charge for wi-fi, and more importantly the only accommodation in Whistler I know of that charges for ski storage - $8 per equipment to max of $24 per room per night. Location is great, but quite a few good hotels in the village have great locations, secured parking, and free equipment storage.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bctravelling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 km away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.2 km away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#6 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
3.3 km away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
0.2 km away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
0.7 km away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
Address: 4090 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Whistler
#5 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#7 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#11 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#13 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price range (per night): $216 - $1,436
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Whistler Village just yards from the gondolas and the slopes of Whistler and Blackcomb mountains, The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler is an all-suite, full-service conference hotel and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Starwood so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort And Spa, Whistler
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler Hotel Whistler
Westin Resort Whistler
Westin Hotel Whistler
Westin Whistler
Whistler Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing