We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Can't beat the Westin for location at Whistler!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sammamish, WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't beat the Westin for location at Whistler!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

The Westin is probably the best location to stay at Whistler, literally steps away from the Whistler Gondola. Although a bit pricey, it is in line with other equivalent hotels in the Village area (Hilton and Pan Pacific). I wish the rooms were a little bigger for the price, but overall this is place I would reccomend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
Thank ddasilva2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    929
    591
    211
    78
    61
See reviews for
650
625
64
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Skiing in Whistler is terrific and the Westin is a very good base from which to enjoy it.

For
1. Location, location, location
2. Full kitchen (in suite anyway)
3. Ski valet at the bottom of the mountain - expensive but worth it
4. Staff are enthusiastic and do their best to deal with any issues - well done Brooke and Colin
5. Room service is swift and efficient

Against
1. There is a feeling of being "chiselled" - CAD 100 for a week's internet (shame on you Westin) and a delivery charge to bring wine to the room which is unattractive
2. No bar service in the pool jacuzzi for some reason
3. Storing ski boots in the room with no heaters can make the designated boot cupboard a bit "ripe"
4. Washers and driers only take CAD 1 coins - hoarding these was a pain
5. Breakfast in hotel restaurant was very expensive for what it was

I will stay here again next year but may have a look around next time since the charges for anything outside the core stay irritated me

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyBBad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, wa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

It takes a lot to ruin a ski trip to Whistler/Blackcomb, but the Westin Resort and Spa managed to do it.

Let's start with the room: billed as a "Junior Suite," it promised "a living room, sleeping area and kitchen, complete with a Jenn-Air dishwasher, Sub-Zero refrigerator and Jenn-Air oven" and a balcony. Totally untrue. We had a typical two-bed hotel room with a kitchenette like you would see in a motor home. The refrigerator really was a Subzero (I checked the logo), but it was obviously from their subcompact line: again like what one would see in a motor home, it had about 2 cubic feet of space with shared freezer and refrigerator compartments. Things near the bottom froze, while those near the top stayed warm. There was a 2-burner stove, but no real counter space, and no table or other place to sit except the beds. Nor was there a balcony. In fact, there wasn't even a window we could open. This was a tiny efficiency at best, and far too small for two adults and two small kids.

And then there was the pool/hot tub. Yes, the pool goes from inside to outside, which we though our kids would love. However, the pool was far too cold for any fun. Though I didn't have a thermometer, I'm sure it was no warmer than the mid 70's, and we could only stay in for about 10 minutes. No chance to warm up in the two hot-tubs, though, because they were jam-packed. Nor was there any place to sit or even put our towels and bathrobes down: it's like the entire pool facility was designed for no more than 1/3 of the number of people actually crammed into it.

Now let's talk about the fees. It cost $30.00 (plus tax) per day to self-park our car, even though the cavernous garage was mostly empty. In addition, because you can't store your ski gear in your room, there's a mandatory "ski valet" charge of $8.00 (plus tax) per pair per day for the privilege of standing in line every morning to have someone hand your equipment to you. Want to use the internet? It costs $14.00 (plus tax) per day--at least 5 dollars more than most places, if they even charge at all. And forget about watching your DVDs in the room--there's no DVD player. If you want entertainment, you have to use their in-room movie service, which costs $15.00 (plus tax) for any movie you've ever heard of.

I go to Whistler at least once every year, and I will be back next year. But I will never, ever stay at the Westin again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Arty A,

I am sorry to see your comments here despite trying to connect with you via email. We are truly sorry that you and your family did not enjoy your stay with us, and would like the opportunity to speak with you to discuss further. At your earliest opportunity please email me at bryce.beatty@westinwhistler.com.

Thank you,
Bryce Beatty
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Cannot beat the location, the hotel backs onto Whistler mountain. Staff were excellent and room was decent and well appointed. I think this hotel has to check out the competition and make some changes. Parking is one of the most expensive in Whistler (if not the most expensive) and is unsecured, charge for wi-fi, and more importantly the only accommodation in Whistler I know of that charges for ski storage - $8 per equipment to max of $24 per room per night. Location is great, but quite a few good hotels in the village have great locations, secured parking, and free equipment storage.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bctravelling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

As always, the snow was outstanding, the hotel location is excellent for both skiers and non-skiers, meals about town excellent. And love that outdoor hot tub (indoors for the meek) and heavenly bed. The bathroom was a bit tired and small - not the usual high powered shower head and curved shower curtain rod. Used the gym, sauna and steam too. Look forward to going back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
Thank JZTdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear JZTdot,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your review! We appreciate your comments and are glad to see how much you enjoyed your trip. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Stay well,
Bryce Beatty
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 km away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.2 km away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.2 km away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
0.7 km away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
1.1 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
Address: 4090 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Whistler
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#5 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#7 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#11 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#13 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price range (per night): $244 - $990
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Whistler Village just yards from the gondolas and the slopes of Whistler and Blackcomb mountains, The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler is an all-suite, full-service conference hotel and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort And Spa, Whistler
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler Hotel Whistler
Westin Resort Whistler
Westin Hotel Whistler
Westin Whistler
Whistler Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing