We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,009)
Filter reviews
4,009 results
Traveller rating
2,713
838
288
105
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,713
838
288
105
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mallard lounge gold floor wildflower restaurant health club blackcomb mountain upper village beautiful hotel ski valet slope side hot chocolate self parking valet service steam room end of the day apres ski outdoor pool four seasons
Filter
Updating list...
1,548 - 1,553 of 4,009 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed for six nights - lovely, friendly service, everything you could ask for. The bar can get a little busy at the weekends so the staff work extra hard (we were there on a long weekend). Very family friendly but they do a terrific job of separating the rooms for couples so you can sleep without screaming kids in the corridor. Loved the skiing, valet service was great. A charming ten or so minute stroll into the village that was easy if ever we wanted it.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank merlinbrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Dear merlinbrodie,
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us here on Trip Advisor, we value your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Christopher Vick
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

The Chateau Whistler is so grand, a castle in the mountains. But yet you get a nice warm feeling when you enter. The valet and bell staff greet you with a smile, as do the front desk agents. The rooms are clean spacious and the view is absolutely amazing no matter which room you have. We love this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank BeesyMaMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Dear BeesyMaMa,
Wow - Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us here on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed the service during your stay. We pride ourselves in providing warm, professional and engaging service to all our guests!
We truly value your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Christopher Vick
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

Besides being an absolute picturesque place, with views of the mountains from the windows and the breath taking views when you're in the hot tub and pool area, what impressed me was the service. Firstly I have to thank Bea in the onsite reservations who corrected a huge mistake I made. We arrived to the hotel around 11:30 and out room wasn't ready so they gave us passes to the spa change room to freshen up and get dressed to hit the slopes.
I must say the service in the rentals area and the ski valet area was fantastic. Nothing but smiles. Poolside service was great too. We ordered room service for the kids and they were very quick with that.
Overall, just an absolutely Fairmont experience.
It'll be hard for us to stay anywhere else when we come back.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank world_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Dear world_MD,
Thank you for choosing Fairmont Chateau Whistler, we appreciate your feedback. Our entire Fairmont staff strives to turn moments into memories for our guests and hearing you have fond memories of our resort is rewarding and appreciated, we will be sure to pass along your comments to Bea in Reservations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Christopher Vick
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016

This is the 2nd year in a row me and my family have stayed here, we love it, the best alternative and convenience. Planning already next year vacation here. My kids 11, 10 and 7 don't want to go anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank I3881SNfernandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Dear I3881SNfernandom,
Wow - Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us here on Trip Advisor, we are so happy that you and your family are such loyal guests! We truly value your feedback and look forward to having you back to the hotel very soon!
Christopher Vick
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016

We stayed for 5 nights in February in a Gold room.

Our Gold room was very comfortable. The bed was soft, much like other Fairmont properties. The gas fireplace gave a nice cosy feel. The bathroom was large, with double sinks and seperate shower and whirlpool tub. The brass fixtures were a bit dated, but were otherwise just fine. Storage was plentiful.

The guest laundry room down the hall is very convenient when on a ski trip. We tend to go through a lot of clothes, and being able to conveniently wash on the go means we can travel a bit lighter. Machines are coin operated and cost $2/wash and $1.50 for a dry.

I like the location of the hotel. It's in the Upper Village at the base of Blackcomb mountain. If you're looking for a party atmosphere, it's a bit out of the way (which is just fine for us), but it's easy to get to the main village for shopping or dining. It's a short walk (less than 10 minutes) along a nice trail, or you can take the hotel shuttle which operates on a 15 minute schedule.

Ski in/out access is great. You pick up your equipment and walk out the back door to the Wizard Express chair lift.

My main complaint is on the layout of the hotel itself. Nobody likes to walk in ski boots any longer than necessary, so it's great to have the hotel right by the hill. However, the hotel layout does mean you have a fair walk from your room to the ski access. You take the guest room elevators down only as far as the main lobby. Then you have to walk clear across the lobby and down another hall, followed by a set of stairs down to the Lower Level, and into the ski rental and valet. That could have been better thought out. For example, in the Fairmont Tremblant, you take the elevator down from your guest room, direct to the bottom level, and the door opens right at the ski valet and the access to the hills. I guess I've been spoiled with my stays at Mont-Tremblant and was expecting the same here.

The gold lounge was very welcoming and comfortable, and food offerings were excellent. Staff were very professional and helpful.

Housekeeping was a little slow at times. It was disappointing to leave the room before 8AM for a day of skiing, return around 4PM, and find the room still not cleaned. Then housekeeping comes by at a time when you're getting cleaned up from a day on the slopes. First world problems for sure, but I expect better than that at a Fairmont property.

Room Tip: Closer to the elevator will minimize walking time in ski boots!
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCH_in_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Dear DCH_in_Canada,
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us here on Trip Advisor.
I truly appreciate your valuable feedback and can assure you that your comments have been taken very seriously and will be beneficial in assisting us in the future.
Christopher Vick
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews