We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but bad service and not great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location but bad service and not great value for money”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

On arrival we were not given the option to have a room with two beds, none of the amenities were explained to us, we were only asked if we needed help with our luggage after we got it ourselves though we pulled up in plain view of staff and not even where the elevators were was explained to us. The bed was fine but not as soft as Westin Heavenly Beds. The rooms are quiet and it truly is ski in and out. The service was great in the bar but the check-in experience was so bad that I will not go back. The room is quite old fashioned and TV, though large enough, was poor quality and room service is ridiculously priced. I also think paying extra for internet access is cheap.

Recommendation: find another hotel as close to the slopes for cheaper

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
Thank Sarahj1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We were very disappointed to read about your less than satisfactory experience at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler. Please contact our Front Office Management team at cwrfoleaders@fairmont.com should you wish to discuss your recent stay in greater detail. We hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,265
    719
    255
    90
    52
See reviews for
1,033
1,179
82
486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We had a great stay and would definitely consider staying again. The location is ideal and it is nice to be able to literally ski right down to the resort and have a drink at the hotel or adjacent Milestones patios. We ate at Wildflower and had a great experience. The Mallard Lounge is a pleasant place to have an evening drink and they frequently have live entertainment. As stated in the title, the pool area is fantastic, with multiple hot tubs, a couple of pools (including a lap pool) and a serviced bar, all with views of the Blackcomb slopes directly above. The fitness center is also good, although some of the equipment is aging.

Our room was larger than expected and comfortable. There was a modern and large tv, comfortable bed, and fridge. Our view was decent, but on the fifth floor non-slope side we looked down on the roof as well. The bathroom was sizable and had a separate shower and bathtub. As stated in other reviews, the property is starting to show its age with somewhat dated furniture and decor.

Service was exceptional and the bellhops were very speedy and efficient. There are limited amenities in the Upper Village, but the main village is only a 5-10 minute pleasant walk. We definitely look forward to returning to the Chateau Whistler.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjc260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I went up to Whistler for a weekend last month. I booked through Enjoy Whistler and was so pleased with their recommendation! The hotel was so alive and vibrant. The Mallard Lounge was buzzing with the most amazing Piano Man getting the crowd going (in ski boots at 430 in the afternoon!). The food options were perfect, and the outdoor pool even had pool service. Wildflower does amazing Sunday brunches, be sure to check that out. The staff are so friendly, and you can just tell that the hotel was having a great season. Everyone was so happy and the positive energy was contagious. Skiing was right outside the door, and the ski valet made it very easy. Can't wait to go up again.

Room Tip: The basic rooms are good, but if you can swing it, go for the deluxe view rooms or gold floor. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CG235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I have been skiing for 30 years and have always wanted to try a new place each year. After the 10 days in the Fairmont and the Resort in general I want to go back. The hotel staff were courteous and professional. The food was outstanding, especially the Sea Food Chowder which was amazing. The rooms large and very clean. The only complaint I have was that the holiday was not long enough at this hotel. Exceptional value for money given the quality.

Room Tip: Had room on fourth floor facing away from the slopes. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amg-merc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read about how much you enjoyed our hotel. We look forward to you returning for a longer vacation next time!

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My wife,daughter and myself stayed at Chateau Whistler for a 1 week ski break from 10th March. This was our 2nd stay-it was so good 1st time we had to come back!
The staff were extremely courteous and helpful at all times and as we were celebrating our daughters birthday during our stay we received a lovely room upgrade to a slope side view. As my wife does not ski this was a definite bonus as it was fascinating to watch the activity outside.
The room was kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was slightly darker than we like and could be better lit.
The spa and outdoor Jacuzzi's were lovely and very quiet during the day although there were large numbers of children in the early evening as it was Canada's 2 week spring break-so if you don't want children around don't choose these weeks.
The staff in the ski room and the valet ski service was excellent-much better than anything in europe. Picking up our skis was stress free and as it is truly ski-in ski-out it was very easy access to the slopes. You do however need skis suitable for powder to really enjoy this area and the standard of the rental equipment was excellent so it is better to hire than take your own unless they are for powder. It is less sunny than in the Alps in March but the superb skiing more than makes up for it.
As we booked our stay in advance we had spending credit at the food areas and had lovely breakfasts in Portobello Deli for free. They also do very good sandwiches at lunchtime but its a shame it closes at 5.00pm.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone and the skiing was magnificent-epic powder

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
4.2 km away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,893 reviews
0.7 km away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,654 reviews
0.8 km away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.9 km away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,732 reviews
0.3 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Whistler

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Property: Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price range (per night): $274 - $1,061
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JackRabbit Systems, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing