We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extreamly well run... so much fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites
Kamsack, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extreamly well run... so much fun”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I am a newly retired male age 60. I was visiting my children in Victoria and wanted to stay somewhere economical and interesting. I have always wanted to stay at the inn, but never had the chance. Frankly, I was a little worried about staying in a hostel type of accommodation being older. Well what a great stay (10 nights) I had lots of fun. The hotel staff were magnificant, in all ways. Someone was up at 3:00 am to serve me coffee, I cooked most of my own meals but also ate in the bistro, listening to live music on several occasions.

Very well done. I would recommend it to any one.

Rodger Moore

Room Tip: I stayed in both dorm rooms and single. All had fridges for your food. Probably a window room is b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodgermoore007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    196
    99
    41
    19
See reviews for
22
123
231
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I stayed for 2 weeks in a private double room. I will stay here again next time I come to Victoria too. It was in a great location, everything is within walking distance. The rooms are nice and small and the restaurant serves amazingly good for for it's size. Great prices too! I would have preferred to not have a window and the outside street noice but it was fine for 2 weeks. The staff are amazing and so friendly and helpful. Was able to get and do everything I needed too. Thanks!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet sleep, don't get a room with a window. It would be cheaper and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashtangaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I stayed with a friend for one night and we were very content! Our room was tiny, yes, but due to really nice interior and a comfortable bed this was no problem.
The offered food tastes good and is not expensive at all.
Another positive aspect is the shared kitchen and bathrooms: Both are really clean and well equipped.
All in all it's a really nice place to stay if you're looking for a not too expensive but still comfortable and friendly hostel. :)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElenaLupfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I stayed in a private room/shared bath with my sweetie at this hostel. It was very clean and in a great location. It was really quiet. There's a pub downstairs, which is great, as businesses tend to close early in Victoria. The staff was really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Van
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This hostel was quite a lot of fun on my short trip with my friend last December. We stayed in a dorm-style room, which was facing the main street and the window was stuck open, so it was a bit noisy, but they sold $1 earplugs, and many rooms were better located. I didn't have the best sleep, but since there are way better rooms available, I rated the sleep quality as "average". I recommend going for a private room, they describe the rooms ok online, and there are brouchurs available there with more detail. I would probably get a private room next time, as they are barely more than the dorm style! I would go for one with a private bathroom and a window personally, maybe not facing the main street, or at least make sure the window closes (as far as i know they are all fine except the room we were in, and they intended to fix ours). The rooms all seem to have a sink, and most seem to have a fridge, with stickers available to label food. people tend to lock the dorm room when they leave, but it does not lock automatically, and the keys are not electronic. Bathrooms were admittedly not amazing, but they did the job for a short stay, and in a private suite it would be great!

The staff were friendly and helpful, and there was storage available in the basement for bikes, backpacks, etc, as well as small-ish lockers in the rooms, and larger ones in the hallways. The building was access-controlled after a certain time (maybe 11 pm or midnight), but if you were staying there it was super easy and quick to get in, and there is a locked gate on the second floor separating the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th floors from the public-access areas. you can exit without your key, but you always need it to get back upstairs, or into the 1st floor bedroom hallway, which is keyed the same as upstairs. fire safety isn't too bad, it is fully-sprinklered, with smoke detection and self-closing fire doors in the hallways, although my friend found an empty fire-hose cabinet, and thought the battery-powered smoke alarm in our room looked like the battery might be removed.

There is a little bar/coffee shop downstairs, which serves food, and is open to the public but mostly full of those staying in the hostel. There were a fair number of hippie-types staying there, but they were pretty cool. There was a large kitchen with lots of stoves just off of the dining room, which was just off of the bar/coffee shop, which was available for those staying in the hostel and their guests. We cooked a fair bit, and had lots of fun meeting other young people in the dining area and bar area, as well as in the lobby where you could drink coffee and tea too. There is lots of tourist information available there.

Room Tip: Choose a private room (or suite with bathroom), or a dorm room on the quieter side of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truckson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Hotel Rialto
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites

Property: Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites
Address: 791 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Victoria
Price range (per night): $37 - $112
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Victoria, Ocean Island Inn is minutes away from Chinatown, the Inner Harbour, the Empress Hotel and the Royal BC Museum. With easy access to public transit, ferries, and the airport, we're a great home base for exploring the city of Victoria and the rest of Vancouver Island. We have a wide array of rooms to suit your budget and lifestyle, from comfortable 4 or 6 bed dorms to private rooms in all shapes and sizes. Add to that our excellent customer service, clean and secure facilities, and a variety of guest discounts, and you'll see that Ocean Island can't be beat! Ocean Island Amenities: * Free Wi-Fi* 24 hour internet access* 23 shared bathrooms* Rooms with ensuite bathrooms* Fridge in every room* 24 hour Front Desk * Fully equipped shared kitchen* Laundry facilities* Discounts at local businesses including museums, whale watching tours, kayak rentals and more! * Free secure bike and bag storage* Discounted parking* And our very own guide to Victoria so you can enjoy the city like a local.Check us out and you'll see why Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites is considered one of Victoria's best-kept secrets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing