We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfortable and good location.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Hawaii
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Comfortable and good location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

I recently stayed here as part of a package and I was really looking forward to it as it had been booked some time in advance.

Upon arrival to the hotel, you feel that you are in a nice boutique environment, with a lovely little foyer and attentive front desk. My room was located in a quiet, scenic part of the hotel for which I was grateful for and it came equipped with some fresh apples, bottled water and chocolates. Spacious too.

But there were some issues, hence not the 4 or 5 stars I would have wanted to give it. The bathroom had some plumbing problems, the vents in the bedroom were loud during the night (I didn't get the restful night we were hoping for) and when making coffee in the morning, I discovered a dirty machine with another guest's leftover coffee in it. Not sure how old that was, but a good rinse in hot water saved the day. These are minor things which I am sure can be addressed, but when you are booking in for that special, relaxing night - they kind of take away the sparkle of it and leave one pretty subdued and deflated when at the check out desk (where I mentioned these problems.)

The Spa's overall appearance is really nice, and the communal area feels very inviting. I booked the Spa Magnolia Signature to get a taste of some of their treatments but I did feel the whole experience was very impersonal and rushed, which was a shame.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictorianPoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for your review and recent stay with us VictorianPoppet,

I appreciate your feedback following your recent night away with us.
I am pleased we were able to correspond following your visit, and sincerely apologize for the shortcomings during this past stay.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back again,

Warm Regards,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,885
    353
    64
    18
    6
See reviews for
387
1,204
107
366
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level Contributor
271 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Nearly $300 a night for the diamond view room (a view of the street!) - we were shocked out how ordinary the room was.

And a breakfast buffet with cold boiled eggs - don't try to order anything hot - all you get is what is laid out on the tables - including the help-yourself thermos coffee.

Shockingly over-priced!!!!

Surely there has to be a better hotel option in victoria?

(note: this is the third time I have tried to submit this review - what is happening???)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Inukshukasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for your review Inukshukasia,

I would like to offer my sincere apology for what was obviously an extremely disappointing stay. We pride ourselves in delivering an exceptional small boutique hotel experience, and any time we fail to meet this goal it is truly disappointing to our entire team.

I forwarded my personal contact information to you immediately after your visit and do continue to hope that we can connect. As with any of our guests I am available at your service to discuss any aspect of your stay, and can be reached by email at gm@magnoliahotel.com or by phone at 250-412-8480.

Thank you again for choosing the hotel and for sharing your feedback.

Sincerely,
Bill Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Front Desk provided free upgrade and box of chocolates for us. Nice gesture.
Incl. free parking/breakfast. Great customer service

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Victoria was our first stop on a 9-day BC trip, and the Magnolia a great place to relax after all the travel to get there. It's a little tricky to find because it's on a small side street, and the hotel sign is very indiscreet. But once we arrived, the valet met us on the curb and whisked our car to their secure parking. We had a large king room, facing the harbor. The free water, apples and chocolates were a great welcome treat, as well. The hotel is one block from the Empress and harbor, and easy walking distance to Chinatown and restaurants. The breakfast is served in their lovely restaurant, and is huge with smoothies, baked goods, oatmeal, fruit, boiled eggs, juices, etc. We were thrilled with the hotel, and the great rate we found on hotels.com.

Room Tip: Nice view of the harbor on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank impackedandready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairhope/Point Clear, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We ended up (fortunately) at Magnolia Hotel after spending 3 weeks touring the Pacific North West, including a 1 week cruise to Alaska thru the Inner Passage. We write 'fortunately' because some months before when checking out the rates at the Empress (directly next door and 'pricey') a previous traveler recommended the Magnolia Hotel. We could not find a thing to complain about (did not use pool or spa) hence all the "5's" ratings (rare for us) considering we were not expecting -- or paying for -- ultra-luxury. While we might have paid a little extra for a good view from our room of the Government House well lighted at night, we still saved at least $100+/nite over next door accomodations. Not only were there a number of good restaurants within walking distance, but the location in harbourside-Victoria is excellent. The included B'fast buffet in am was fine. The Magnolia is particularily convenient IF you plan to take the car ferry back to Port Angeles, Washington State (much more convenient than the ferry to Vancouver), since the Port Angeles ferry boarding dock was less than 5 minutes from hotel parking. But be sure to pay the extra reservation fee (we booked 3 weeks in advance by phone). Reason: In mid-August, when we went to board ferry, not only was the morning trip full, but the afternoon trip was full with a big standby line for those without advance reservations. We would go back. Signed: Well traveled from our Fairhope/Pt. Clear, Alabama home.

Room Tip: Ask for room with windows (opening-type) overlooking Government House and harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick-Pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 53 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 53 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 53 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 53 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,353 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#16 of 53 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Property: Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
Price range (per night): $204 - $355
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and Agoda so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing