We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint B&B”
Review of Pendray Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pendray Inn
Ranked #10 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

We spent one night at the Gatsby B&B during our recent trip to Victoria. The location is great, overlooking the harbor. Our 2nd floor room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Our room had a harbor view, which was beautiful at night with all the city lights. The staff was warm, friendly and helpful. The hotel is a beautiful Victorian style building, beautifully landscaped; our room had antique furnishings that fit well with the period, but I feel the bathroom could use a little more attention to detail, as the fixtures (such as the vanity and tub area) could use some improvement - this is really my only criticism of the place.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Guest Relations Manager at Pendray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Sarah,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback and sharing your experience at the Gatsby Mansion. We're delighted you had such an enjoyable time with us and appreciated our Victorian charm atmosphere as well as our friendly staff. We agree with your comments regarding the bathroom and are planning to upgrade them over the next year.
Thank you for choosing us and we hope to welcome you again upon your next visit to Victoria.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

It was a lovely hotel; staff and breakfast were excellent. Classy atmosphere. The bed was comfortable. Our room had a wonderful view of the waterfront/harbour. Our server at breakfast was very helpful and knowledgeable. The room needed some minor repairs. The hotel was conveniently located within walking distance to most attractions, including the Parliament buildings and waterfront. We would highly recommend it for a stay with a touch of class. We celebrated our 30th anniversary in style!

Room Tip: Rooms do not have air conditioning, but fans are provided. The windows can be opened to allow a bree...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shelley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Guest Relations Manager at Pendray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Shelley,

Congratulations and thank you very much for choosing the Gatsby Mansion to celebrate your 30th anniversary! We're delighted you had such an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated the mansion's old-charm atmosphere. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

The service is excellent, the Associates working there are very helpful and knowledgeable of the area
they make you fill at home. The location is very convenience. the room excellent and the flowers in the garden beautiful.

Room Tip: The room # G01 is great with a great view of the bay and very confortable with one bedroom, sitting...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nilda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Guest Relations Manager at Pendray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Nilda,

Thank you for your kind review, we're delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay at the Gatsby Mansion. We like for our guests to feel like royalty when staying with us and our friendly staff strive to go above and beyond to make you feel as part of the family. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Absolutely loved our time here. I wish we could have stayed longer. We had the Pendray Suite and the room and balcony were amazing. Shortly after check in they delivered the most amazing iced tea to our room. Breakfast was so good and MORE amazing teas to select from. The staff were all very attentive, friendly and intuitive of your wants and needs. Loved it! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Pendray Suite was worth the extra money!
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank karla78253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Guest Relations Manager at Pendray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Gatsby Mansion. We're delighted you had such a wonderful stay with us and appreciated our friendly staff and services. The mansion really does bring you back to another era! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Beautiful grounds. Polite and helpful staff. Delicious breakfast. Excellent location.
Make sure you know which building you are staying in. Some rooms at the Gatsby Mansion did not have private shower and showers were very awkward to use. Rooms could also use an update.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank elly570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Guest Relations Manager at Pendray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your sharing your experience at the Gatsby Mansion; we always value guest feedback as it helps us improve our services. We're pleased that you enjoyed our friendly staff and unique complimentary breakfast, but are sorry that we did not quite meet your expectations in terms of our guestrooms. We are in the process of renovating all of our rooms, but due to the building's heritage status it does take time to complete. All guestroom bathrooms will be equipped with a showers in the future. Looking at the Queen Ann Suite, Garden or Belleville rooms will give you an idea of what can be expected for the remaining rooms. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,101 reviews
James Bay
Huntingdon Manor Hotel
Huntingdon Manor Hotel
#19 of 46 in Victoria
725 reviews
Rockland
Abbeymoore Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pendray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendray Inn

Address: 309 Belleville St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: $149 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pendray Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing feels more like Victoria than the Pendray Inn and Tea House (formerly the Gatsby Mansion). A boutique B&B experience in a historic Victorian mansion where each of its 9 rooms has its own distinct characteristics and charm. A heritage building, the mansion does not have an elevator and may not be suitable for guests with mobility issues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TravelClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pendray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatsby Mansion Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing