We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“best winter deal...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Inn & Suites Victoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Victoria
Ranked #34 of 53 Hotels in Victoria
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best winter deal...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

long term winter stay in Victoria? this is the best deal around! would be 5 stars if the pool was open in the winter :-(

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tenspro2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    106
    55
    21
    17
See reviews for
64
79
19
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

The staff were friendly-although seemed overworked. The room was really nice and we were able to cook our own meals. The staff cleaned it really well also. It was affordable, I recommend it!! Also, there is no breakfast included, although in this survey it asks for a rating on breakfast to be complete so I just made it up a rating

Room Tip: get the room on the main floor with a kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Afrinina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

The perfect hotel for all your needs. Very friendly staff and a nicely appointed room. Granite in the bathroom is beautifull and non existent in most hotel rooms. Approx 5-8 min drive to the downtown harboufront.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baron55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Stayed at this hotel overnight for business recently. Had a standard room on the third floor facing the bike trails (luckily not facing the strip club, although the bike trails are where people from the clubs seem to smoke late at night). The room was spacious enough for 1-2 people, comfortable mattresses and an efficient (if a bit noisy) A/C unit that cooled the room down quickly.

Pros:
- value (we paid $55/night)
- clean room
- microwave and a decent sized mini-fridge with coffee maker
- noise wasn't too bad at night
- close to Uptown and Mayfair shopping malls
- friendly and helpful service -- even allowed me a 1pm check-out without making it seem like it would be a big hassle (unheard of!)

Cons:
- not within walking distance to downtown or the harbour (but a quick 10 minute drive)
- food options at the hotel and in the area are sparse unless you want fast food
- bad internet connection -- even though my laptop showed I was online, the pages loaded so slowly and I couldn't even send an email, the signal was so weak
- old decor in the rooms (carpet could use a clean, but again, the bathroom and bed were spotless)
- the front and back parking lots often seem full unless you arrive in the late AM (but the overflow lot past the bike lanes always had spots available)
- adjacent to the strip club and the liquor store (maybe to some, this is a plus?)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Type_A_Tiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloydminster
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed at the Red Lion Inn while we visited Victoria. For the price we paid for the room it was ok. the room was a little small But the tv worked and the internet connecton was good. service was excellent. needs a bit of rug cleaning ( in the room we had) kinda threw me off, but the rest of the room was very clean. thefront dest staff was very friendly and accomidation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#28 of 53 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#46 of 53 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#37 of 53 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Capital City Center Hotel
#29 of 53 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
The Strathcona Hotel
#36 of 53 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Victoria

Property: Red Lion Inn & Suites Victoria
Address: 3366 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8Z 3L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Victoria
Price range (per night): $77 - $129
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Inn & Suites Victoria combines friendly service, convenient location and the best prices in Victoria into an ideal package for travelers visiting this beautiful city on business or pleasure. We are located on Douglas Street, Victoria's main street, nearby the island's largest shopping mall and two other shopping plazas. Our guests have easy access to all downtown attractions, theaters, shopping districts and the conference center. We are also situated on the famous Galloping Goose Trail, which provides a unique way to discover Victoria by walking or biking.Red Lion Inn & Suites Victoria offers standard rooms, studios and one-bedroom suites, all located in the quietest part of our hotel complex, away from the main street. Guest rooms feature many amenities including Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), free wi-fi, a microwave and refrigerator and cable TV. Kitchenettes are provided in suites and studios. Laundry and valet service is available, and there is a 24-hour guest laundry on-site.For our guests who like to stay fit while traveling, we offer complimentary passes to Fitness World, a 15,000 square foot facility located across the street from the hotel. Or, relax and enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool. For your dining pleasure, our award-winning Jade Fountain Restaurant serves generous portions of Chinese specialties and Diego's Bar and Grill offers casual meals and cocktails. There are many other fine restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Victoria
Red Lion Victoria
Victoria Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing