We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Great Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Laurel Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Laurel Point
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
234 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Always a Great Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I have stayed at this property at least once a year for over fifteen years and it always pleases! The property is off the busy tourist areas but close to everything. They train their staff very well and you can tell they are out to please. They look after any problems right away. During my last stay I wondered why it never seem to age like other properties. I think the answer, outside of management, is that the rooms are of good design and only the best materials are used. The attention to detail shows years later. The only downside is that they do not seem to be able to keep a good restaurant going but to be fair I did not try the new one off the lobby. The Inn at Laurel Point is a great experience if you get to stay in Victoria.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tempoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,103
    513
    165
    46
    29
See reviews for
369
992
53
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munster, Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

The hotel offers a stunning view either on the inner harbor (the rooms are a little more expensive, but the view is great) or on the coast mountains. The hotel has to different wings, the Laurel wing with regular rooms and the newer and more comfortable (and more expensive) Erickson wing. If you have the money, go for the more expensive one. The rooms have all the features you would expect from such a hotel, although the A/C is a little noisy so in the winter that can be a problem. The hotel has a small 24h pool and is located near fisherman's wharf, so it is really good for running. However you have to walk 10-15 minutes when you want to go to downtown Victoria, but it is a nice walk along the harbor waterfront. A must is the Aura restaurant which offers great views as well as great food. I have been to the hotel 4 times now and would definitely recommend it, if you stay for a few days in Victoria. It is also BC first carbon neutral hotel.
However, if you are looking for a hotel really close to downtown you may want to look for another hotel such as the Magnolia, Marriott, Chateau Victoria, or The Empress.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBear08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay at the Inn at Laurel Point. Plus points were location, location and location, which really cannot be beat. It's right on the water, minutes walk to Fisherman's Wharf one way, and the city waterfront the other way. Service was also very good and friendly, and parking at $15 a night was a lot cheaper than some other city centre hotels. Breakfast was also very good (albeit not included in the room rate).

The main downside is that the hotel is now showing its age, and needs some money spending on it. The rooms were clean enough though, and the hotel's plus points more than made up for this one drawback. We would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Laurel wing, which has wonderful views over the inner harbour. Corner room is large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The location of this hotel is ideal and the views are amazing however my advice is don't stay here unless you can afford the rooms in the Erikson wing. We had a look at both wings and there is a world of difference between both.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ghisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Fantastic location and friendly reception make this an attractive place to stay. We got a free room upgrade for our family and all the rooms were clean, fresh and well appointed. One niggle us that the kettle and coffee maker were located in an unlit and cramped cupboard which made their use rather tricky.


The breakfast service was poor. As there was no buffet one had to order from a set menu and despite there being no crowd and plenty of staff our food took 30 minutes to arrive. Then the staff took forever to enter our bills into the system delaying checkout. To cap it all the restaurant staff added a $15 tip to the bill which has not been authorised. Reception refunded this immediately but it left a nasty taste. We would have tipped if service has been better.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trom100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#16 of 53 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 53 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 53 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,332 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 53 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Laurel Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Laurel Point

Property: Inn at Laurel Point
Address: 680 Montreal Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1Z8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Victoria
#4 Business Hotel in Victoria
#6 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#9 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price range (per night): $157 - $278
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at Laurel Point 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at the edge of Victoria's Inner harbour is a property of unparalleled distinction. With 200 guest rooms, spectacular waterviews, private balconies and 10,000 sq. ft of meeting space, Inn at Laurel Point is your downtown Victoria hotel. Shopping, entertainment venues, and tourist attractions are all a short stroll from our welcome mat. Take a break from the ordinary, soak up the water views and come stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Inn at Laurel Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Laurel Point Hotel Victoria
Hotel At Laurel Point
At Laurel Point Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing