We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victoria disappointing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2017

the room was too small and cramped for two queen beds. The bathroom was, again, too small for two people.
They don't have a "real" restaurant where you could get a late meal and/or breakfast. The BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT is that their bar is not very good. We wanted to get a glass of wine at 9PM ON A FRIDAY and they were closed!!! They close their bar at 9PM!!! unheard of! Staff told us to go down to the Pub. Well the pub is NOT associated with the hotel so they won't allow you to take a glass of wine out of the restaurant and go to your room.
Then, I asked for a receipt when we checked out. They said that because I booked thru expedia, they could NOT give me a receipt!!! AND you don't get your Hilton points/honors points if you book thru expedia, either.

Room Tip: DON'T STAY HERE. it may be located close to downtown but THEY DON'T HAVE ANY AMENITIES- cof...
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Toni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberStewartDblTree, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. It is unfortunate that you feel that you encountered shortcomings on your stay. I want to assure you that your concerns have been shared with our management team who all care deeply about your comfort and experience.
While our restaurant Table 21 does close nightly at 10pm our on site pub is open till 1am. Due to liquor laws and regulations unfortunately they cannot let guests leave with open alcohol. We do offer In Room Dinning service to all our guests and the Pub would have been very glad to bring you a glass of wine to your room.
I understand your frustration upon checkout with your invoice, when you chose to book through a 3rd party you negotiate a rate that is not sent to the hotel and remains private. This is the reason why we could not provide you any sort of a receipt of stay. At your time of booking Expedia should have sent you a confirmation email with the details you were requesting.
If your travels should bring you back to Victoria I hope dearly that you give us another opportunity to impress you, please reach out to me personally and I will see to it you get a room type that will cater to all your needs, and also by booking directly with our hotel we will be able to get you the points and benefits of your Hilton Honors membership.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (876)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 93 of 876 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017

I have never been so impressed by a hotel staff. They were just great. Connie and David, two of the managers I met, are just super. The location is wonderful and the rooms are very nice. I really like the small suite option for traveling with family.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank elif129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberStewartDblTree, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review!! I wanted to reach out to you and thank you for your kind words about our team members, our team is comprised of very dedicated people. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, and hope that we can welcome you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights and I have not one complaint. Everyone was super friendly and pleasant from the front desk staff on arrival to the housekeeping staff you would pass in the hallway. Our room was always cleaned in a timely fashion and coffee and toiletries restocked daily, room was quiet. Ate breakfast in the hotel on 2 occasions, once had the buffet which is very good--have choice of hot buffet for one price or the cold buffet for another price. The next time, ate off the menu, the egg white omelette was delicious!!!!! When you first arrive they offer you a chocolate chip and oatmeal cookie, but you can ask for one whenever you want, and they are warm and delicious!!!!! Will definitely stay here next time we are in Victoria.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kristen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberStewartDblTree, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you for your kind review. The warm Doubletree chocolate chip cookies are definitely a nice welcome upon arrival; we strive to create a warm friendly atmosphere for all of our guests and want all our guests to feel at home while staying with us. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed all facilities and services for our hotel. Please come see us again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

We had a one bedroom suite that was quite large and comfortable. The bathroom was accessed off of the hall instead of the bedroom, which made it convenient from all locations. Room includes free WiFi, microwave, coffee maker, mini fridge and bar sink. Very nice full service restaurant with outdoor seating and bar/ lounge that offered small dishes. Conveniently located near inner harbor. Valet parking is available. Very prompt valet service.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Roy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberStewartDblTree, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. The entire team and I are truly delighted for your excellent feedback. Your kind words give us great inspiration and drives us to continue to enhance our high standards of service and hospitality. Please come back and see again soon, we will have our warm chocolate chip and walnut cookies waiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

The staff were very friendly and accommodating as we staged for our wedding off site. They did an excellent job making our stay pleasant and easy during a stressful time and were awesome about figuring small things out for us last minute. I would recommend staying here to my friends and family and will likely stay here again myself.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank scottcJ6424MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberStewartDblTree, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

We are all very flattered and humbled to read such a wonderful review of our hotel. 5 stars is an amazing achievement for us. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during your special occasion, it was our pleasure to host you and your friends and family. Please reach out to us directly when booking your next trip to Victoria, we would be happy to assist in making sure all your needs are met.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,101 reviews
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,797 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Victoria

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria

Address: 777 Douglas St | at Burdett Ave., Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2B5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $183 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria boasts an ideal downtown location steps away from the Inner Harbour, Victoria Conference Centre, boutique shops, whale watching, museums and many arts and cultural activities. Enjoy a warm DoubleTree Chocolate Chip Cookie welcome when you stay at our contemporary Victoria, BC, hotel. Feel at home in an inviting guest room at this hotel in Victoria, BC, equipped with a Sweet Dreams® by DoubleTree bed, a refrigerator, microwave, ergonomic workspace and complimentary WiFi. Our guest rooms offer spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean, Olympic Mountain Range, downtown Victoria and the Legislative Building. Start your day off right in our breakfast lounge, which offers the Wake up DoubleTree Breakfast™ buffet. Share in the joy of dining at Table 21 where sharing plates showcase local, sustainable ingredients to fulfill your cravings. Unwind with a beer on the heated patio of Bartholomew’s English-Style Pub, featuring evening entertainment and live music Friday through Sunday. Energize in the contemporary fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing