We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,227)
Filter reviews
1,227 results
Traveller rating
1,107
87
24
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,107
87
24
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coach house evening appetizers foxglove room hors d'oeuvres rain shower no elevator claw foot tub four poster bed scones main building small hotel charming hotel other guests each morning residential area gourmet breakfast baked goods
Filter
Updating list...
840 - 845 of 1,227 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 7th anniversary with a 3-night stay at Abigail's. We couldn't have had a better time - from the Ferry ride from Anacortes, to the beautiful weather, to the city and accomodations. Our trip started on a delicious note with welcome cookies and specialty blend coffee. The staff recommended we grab a late breakfast down the road at The Blue Fox and OMG - amazing! We stayed in a fireplace room and it was spacious, cozy, exceptionally clean and had snuggly towels and sheets. One of the nicest rooms we have stayed in. We pretty much walked the entire city, which is super convenient with the hotel's central location - far enough to be away from the noise, but close enough to walk to everything. We toured Beacon Hill Park, the waterfront, all of downtown, Craigdarroch Castle and then we drove to the Buschart Gardens. I highly recommend all of these activities. We pretty much stuck to the hotel's recommendations for restaurants and we weren't disappointed. Canoe brewpub had really good beer, Red Fish Blue Fish was worth the wait for fish & chips and the Empress Tea Room was a cool experience with a view out to the harbor.
We can't thank everyone at Abigail's enough for their hospitality. It felt like a home away from home. Special thanks go to Kelly for his knowledge of the city and a spare band aid :) as well as Colleen for getting us some leftover brownies to complement our late night scrabble fest. I highly recommend Abigail's to anyone looking for a romantic retreat.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2B and loved it - 3 large windows overlooking the garden and downtown Victoria
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJXFitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Very nice hotel. Well decorated, clean and conveniently located within walking distance to Victoria Harbour and Beacon Hill Park. We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a fireplace room, which had a really nice bathtub. The ductless AC with remote control worked great. Both the breakfasts and the evening appetizers were great. There is a choice for breakfast of a light meal, a sweet meal or a savory meal. We opted for the special which included tickets to Butchart Garden and a picnic lunch. The lunch was packed in a cooler which included real dishes and utensils. A great lunch with ample food. The entire staff was extremely helpful and very nice. Would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jocarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed in Abigails for 5 nights and what a pleasure it was
Very central with easy access to all the delights of Victoria
We stayed in the Sunflower room( bed a bit high as I am only 5 feet !! ) but very nice
There was a nice welcome from all the staff nothing was too much bother
We were given a nice bottle of wine as we were celebrating my birthday and a wedding anniversary
Breakfasts were lovely thanks to Chef Matt and Chef Marc but a special mention to Brenda with her lovely smile and great service
The evening appetisers were delicious too
Allison Fairchild who kept us up to date before our trip and booked a couple of nice restaurants deserves a special mention as does Vicky Jackson new kid on the block from Kilwinning but well done all of you
Thanks
Alice & Dave Lowes

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlicebroughtyFerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

From the minute we arrived we knew we had found a place we would come back to again & recommend to others. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean and bright. It was quieter than most hotels we have stayed in as well. The breakfast was incredible and so was the hors d'oeuvers.

Room Tip: A bit tough to find coming off of the ferry as the streets of Victoria are a bit confusing, so your homework on directions before you start driving.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welovetolaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Abigail's is an excellent hotel with many of the qualities of a B&B. A pretty house, located at the end of a quiet cul-de-sac, it is a little way from the harbour and centre of Victoria, but the walk is no great distance. The public rooms - a library/lounge and a breakfast room - are pleasantly decorated, the bedrooms may have a flounce or furbelow too many for some tastes.
The warm welcome and helpful service from all the staff is really outstanding. Nothing is too much trouble for them, and their recommendations for restaurants and other attractions are reliable and first-rate.
Breakfasts, all home-made, are incomparable - choice of juices, a fruit dish, choice of three cooked dishes, different every day, excellent home-bakes, fine coffee...worth coming here for the breakfasts alone. There are also complimentary "hors d'oeuvres" at 5 pm. The house wines, at $6 a glass, are good. No other meals are served.
The only draw-back - and I think we were unlucky - was the size of our bedroom (2A), very cramped, with too little drawer-space to unpack properly, though there was a good wardrobe, and the queen-size bed was comfortable. Nevertheless the room felt airless (there is a/c if you like it). The tiny shower-room and WC was too small for a basin, which was in the bedroom. Glimpses of other spacious bedrooms suggested that 2A was an exception, more suitable as a single, or perhaps just for one night (we were there for three). The rates are not inexpensive, so one might hope for a room which was not so tiny. But overall, a fine, enjoyable hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid 2A (Sunflower Room)
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 234Edward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsaklas, General Manager at Abigail's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear 234Edward,

Thank you for your very kind review. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and we sincerely appreciate your patronage. We take considerable pride in our product and service delivery and are grateful to receive high marks from you in this regard.

With respect to your comments on room size, indeed the historical and heritage nature of our property probably makes for slightly smaller room sizing than those of larger or modern properties. We actually believe this is a positive characteristic for us as it adds to our charming and romantic atmosphere.

Room 2A which you booked indirectly with us is one of four identical entry level rooms in our Sunflower category and as detailed on our website and booking engine, while beautiful, is 185 square feet in size and as you suggest is best suited for short term or overnight stays.

We have five different room categories in total with room sizes ranging from 185 square feet to 350 square feet, depending on the category; none of our rooms are suites. Our offerings and respective pricing cater to a range of travelers, some of which value larger rooms and some of which place greater emphasis on our breakfasts, amenities and common spaces and opt for smaller rooms at lesser cost.

We are sorry that your experience did not exceed your expectations in the room aspect of your stay. Sadly we do not have absolute control of the descriptions of our product on various external booking sources and the best source of information is always directly at the property level, either through our online booking engine and website or through our 1-800 telephone number.

Safe travels are we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in future travels to Victoria.

Warm regards,

Nick Saklas
General Manager
Abigail’s Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews