We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,232)
Filter reviews
1,232 results
Traveller rating
1,111
88
24
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,111
88
24
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coach house evening appetizers foxglove room hors d'oeuvres rain shower no elevator claw foot tub four poster bed scones main building small hotel other guests charming hotel each morning residential area gourmet breakfast tea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
884 - 889 of 1,232 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Abigail's is everything I'd read about on this website; charming, romantic, excellent service, gourmet breakfasts, cozy rooms. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful, even helping us book a last minute reservation on a seaplane when the ferry was running too late to connect to our cruise ship! The breakfasts were a wonderful start to the day, with a delightful daily menu, complete with weather forcast. Evenings in the library with tea and muffins and scones were a welcome late night snack. We were out during the early evening hors d'oeuvres, but heard they were super.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank internationalmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Stayed here because of the positive feedback from other travellers on this website, and were very pleased we did!
Everything about Abigail's is top notch, from the delicious 'cooked to order' breakfasts to the complimentary drinks and nibbles at 5pm in the library.
It is within walking distance to shops, restaurants, parks, and, of course, the sea.
The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
We will definitely be returning!

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed 2 nights. Our room was as large as you would wish, and impeccably clean. The king size bed was totally comfortable. The rainshower in the bathroom was appreciated. We had no noise problems.
The delicious complimentary breakfast is prepared by a chef, who made canapes and nibbles for our complimentary drinks in the library at 5pm. A great way to meet people.
The attitude of the staff tells it all: these are people who love the hotel and enjoy working there. Say no more.
The location is a little out, but Victoria is so walkable that almost everywhere is a short stroll. The bus system is easy and cheap too. The friendliness at the hotel can be found on the streets; accidental eye contact with passers-by will always result in a smile. It really is the most lovely, friendly city (and that's the judgement of a registered grumpy old man!)

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anglia62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We usually stay at the Empress when visiting Victoria, but were thrilled to discover the Abigail. Better than the gold floor experience at the Empress, which we previously always enjoyed. Wanting to economize this time, we (a couple) stayed in the Sunflower level room for two nights. It was a tremendous value (great room, free parking, free breakfast and free tea and coffee in the common area). Next time we would choose a larger room as it would still be great value and the bathroom of the Sunflower, while fine, was a bit too small all things considered (the sink is outside of the bathroom in the main bedroom, which sounds a bit dodgy in a North American hotel, but it really isn't, everything is fairly luxurious). The hotel is within waking distance to Beacon Hill Park and downtown shopping. You do hear other guests from time to time, but for us, even with the hotel full, it was not any worse than other small hotels and was acceptable. The charm and the security of the hotel was much better than a larger hotel. The friendliness of the staff was almost too much for us, which seems hard to complain about. Our personal preference would be to dial down the charm one notch (my wife's British heritage might be showing through here...).

So, by all means stay in the Empress once for the historical old railway hotel experience, but after that, join us staying in the Abigail every other time. We would choose the Abilgail even if the price was the same as the Gold Floor at the Empress. Of course, it is not, which makes the choice extremely easy. A new favourite Victoria hotel for us.

.

Room tip: Sunflower rooms are an excellent value if you do not mind a small bathroom.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toute_le_Monde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Our "Honeymoon Room" was beyond our expectations! Our breakfasts, evening hors d'oeuvres, and my "Feet Retreat" at the spa were all incomparable!!! The staff goes above and beyond to
accomodate and truly do care about you an how they can be of assistance. If there was ever a phrase to coin their service it would have to be "Our wish is your command".
We can't wait to return!!! You so Victoria proud!!!
BTW...Hope BC Guide Dog puppy-in-training Ferenc, is fitting in to his new role well!!!
So sorry we missed meeting him!!

Room tip: Go for the Honeymoon Room! Such a treat and so worth it!!!
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CruiseWhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews