We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,232)
Filter reviews
1,232 results
Traveller rating
1,111
88
24
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,111
88
24
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coach house evening appetizers foxglove room hors d'oeuvres rain shower no elevator claw foot tub four poster bed scones main building small hotel other guests charming hotel each morning residential area gourmet breakfast tea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
888 - 893 of 1,232 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Our "Honeymoon Room" was beyond our expectations! Our breakfasts, evening hors d'oeuvres, and my "Feet Retreat" at the spa were all incomparable!!! The staff goes above and beyond to
accomodate and truly do care about you an how they can be of assistance. If there was ever a phrase to coin their service it would have to be "Our wish is your command".
We can't wait to return!!! You so Victoria proud!!!
BTW...Hope BC Guide Dog puppy-in-training Ferenc, is fitting in to his new role well!!!
So sorry we missed meeting him!!

Room tip: Go for the Honeymoon Room! Such a treat and so worth it!!!
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CruiseWhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel.
I picked it from the reviews and also for the variety of breakfast choice. My husband does not like 'gourmet' or saucy things and the 3 choices from the menu were perfect for us. There is always fresh muffins,biscuits, or scones available also. If there are some extra after for breakfast...you can have them wrapped up and take them with you for your snack later. The chefs will prepare to order if they have the ingredients available. My husband spotted some fresh tomatoes on the window sill and the chef sliced him one for each breakfast.
The afternoon appetizers and cocktails ($5-$6) were a nice treat. We even had soup one afternoon. There is so much to see in Victoria that you hate to be sitting in your hotel, but the appetizers was a nice way to relax and get a bite to eat before enjoying Victoria at night and then having a late dinner out.
Our room was very comfortable and large enough. 2C). It was actually on the 3rd floor and only noise we heard were people in the AM going to breakfast or checking out with their luggage. Lovely room, extremely clean, king bed and DVD in the TV was a nice touch if there is a rainy afternoon! The lounge area has 100s of books and DVDs and it is a place to talk to the guests and get recommendations for dinner or tours.
The hotel is not on the inner harbor but uphill about a 5-10 minute walk. We walked everywhere. You can pick up walking tour maps at the hotel (and at visitor center). Things are closer than they seem. We especially liked the Beacon Hill /cliff walk. Beautiful views of the water and western Victoria. We even sat and watched a dozen kite surfers from the cliff which was great entertainment.
For a late lunch we went to Blue Fox..awesome! But you can split a meal as the breakfast you get at Abigail's will hold you. Red Fish Blue Fish is a hut on the pier and has the best fish n chips we have ever had but be warned to go 'off times' as the wait is long otherwise and it's open seating on the pier. The Irish Pub on government street had good music and was decent, but we really enjoyed Darcy's Pub on the water. It did not have as high of a review, but we had a table overlooking the harbor, the beer specials were good, and the sliders and sandwiches were worth going back for.

Date of stay: June 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KraZe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. Manager, staff, breakfast personnel all wonderful. Fantastic breakfast and afternoon snacks. Very convenient for walking to gardens and downtown Victoria.
HIGHLY recommend it!

Room tip: Honeymoon suite!
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We really enjoyed our stay it was so wonderful! The rooms were spacious the bathroom was wonderful and big with great shower head it was huge! You could hear the other bathrooms but people seemed really quite. The staff were awesome they are so friendly and accommodating. Then they turned us onto eagle wing tours for whale watching it was great best time. The breakfast was amazing so good. Compliments to the chef!

Date of stay: June 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Calysta21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I picked this hotel based on previous reviews. We enjoyed staying at Abigail's. The property is beautiful inside and out. We stayed in the coach house c-4. Carrying heavy luggage up the four flights of steps might seem challenging to some people. The front desk attendents were happy to help if we needed it. The coach house gives you a bit more privacy since it's seperate from the main part. But the drawback is the road noise. At least in c-4. The coach house is built very close to the road. We never heard any other guests but we did wake to road noise each morning. Since this is in a residential area, we were surprised. The room has a fireplace. We used it once. The loveseat is very close to the fireplace. Felt crapped. The other reason I opted for this room was the jetted jacuzzi. This was probably the biggest flaw for us. The jacuzzi was very loud with 4 jets. We only used it once because of this. It just wasn't that peaceful. The timer on/off switch is located about as far away from the tub as possible. Not convenient if you want to turn it off without getting out of the tub. The tub is very deep which is nice for soaking but may be hard for elderly people to get in and out of since it's set into a space. A very nice big rain type shower head. All the soap, shampoo and conditioner is located on the shower wall. Nice. The linens and towels were wonderful. The bed was on the very firm side for my taste. The light switch for the bathroom is outside the bathroom with no way to turn it down once inside the bathroom. With that said, I'd opt to stay in a king room in the main hotel and forgo the fireplace and jacuzzi. We loved the smallness of this hotel. We were greeted each time with a very nice staff. The morning breakfast was truely a treat! A new menu each day with at least 3 options plus fruit, juice, muffin and beverage of choice. Delicious. Promptly waited on with a professional waitstaff. A great start to the day. The afternoon appetizers looked very good, but we only arrived once in time to enjoy them. Walking to the wharf only took about 10 mins. and was a great way to see even more of beautiful Victoria. I would highly recommend this hotel if you want to be away from downtown and want a more unique experience. If you are wondering about tipping at the hotel, they pool the tips and divide them amongst the staff. That was news to me and I thought I'd share this with you. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room tip: Rooms in main hotel may be quieter since they are off the busy road. There is no elevator but willing attendents may take your luggage up flights of stairs.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lksmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews