We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True, true, all true.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abigail's Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abigail's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
paxnrth
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“True, true, all true.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Its all true, this is a gem of service, tucked on a quiet residential street at the edge of Downtown Victoria. The buildings are nice, but the service is exceptional. Everything nice you have heard about Canadians is exemplified in the friendly open service you are given. They tell you the truth about the best restaurants, they explain their ownership and history so frankly and open it is charming. Breakfast by a chef in a sunny green and glass breakfast room. The rooms are all different so I can't describe yours, but the internet has good descriptions and pictures. If you want uniformity join the navy, if you want a wonderful personalized vacation in Victoria, stay at Abigail's. It is a 5 block walk from the inner harbor, so you can come on the Victoria Clipper and walk most everywhere like we did. Like most of older Canada it is not that wheel chair friendly, but if you are OK with some steps you will enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: The Garden Room is on the ground floor and will save you steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paxnrth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    72
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
75
694
17
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We just returned from a delightful weekend at Abigail's. This was our first trip to Victoria and I can't imagine a nicer place to call home base. We stayed in the Coach House which was quiet and felt very private. We enjoyed the fireplace and sitting area, the jacuzzi tub and huge rain shower head, and one of the more comfortable beds I've ever experienced. Beyond that, the incredibly friendly and thoughtful staff, the warm but not intrusive opportunities to chat wit other guests, and the unbelievably good breakfasts made for a great stay. Seriously, we've stayed in a lot of bed and breakfasts and a lot of inns. The breakfasts at Abigail's were beyond any of them. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wisco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

My boyfriend and I went to Victoria for a weekend as our Christmas present to each other and booked 2 nights at Abagail's hotel. Normally we wouldn't have chosen the quaint-type hotel but deciding to treat ourselves, we went for it.

When we got there at check in time our room wasn't ready so we had to wait about half and hour to forty-five minutes before we could get in. After a long trip to get there we just wanted to get into our room so this was a little annoying.

For a young couple, the rates are pretty high so this was definitely a 'special occasion' trip. We booked the Country Room as it looked very nice and bright on the website and was in mid-range of rooms. When we arrived we were told we had been upgraded to a Fireplace Room (which is supposedly a step higher than the Country Rooms.) It was in the Coach House, so very nice and private, but we were disappointed with the room itself. Very small and dark - even with all the lights on. It didn't have the look and feel that the Country Room seemed to have. The only time I wish we hadn't gotten an upgrade!

Nevertheless the bed was good and the large jacuzzi tub was nice, (although we partly had booked the other room due to it's claw-foot tub.) The room had standard amenities, nothing too spectacular, the cookies were a nice touch.

Over the two days we found the staff were very nice and helpful and were knowledgeable about whatever we asked them. We didn't partake in the evening wine and snacks as we were out and about doing other things.

The breakfast's were said to be the best part of staying here so we were very excited. They were delicious. The second morning we had to leave before breakfast was served so the staff very nicely packed one up for us.

One thing to be aware of is that from photos the hotel looks like it's relatively secluded and away from everything else. In reality it's in the middle of a residential area. Still it's a short walk to downtown Victoria so handy in that respect.

We realized (to no fault of the hotel) that this place is geared towards people 30-35 and up. Reading the guest-book in our room we saw that all the guests that had stayed in our room previously were older. The style of the hotel also reflects this - a quiet B&B with quaint decor. This is not a bad thing at all, but if you are younger as we are (early - mid twenties) this hotel probably isn't your best choice. We felt slightly awkward when in the lobby/lounge/breakfast room as no one else was near our age.

Overall, this is definitely a great hotel - but we were disappointed, probably due to the fact we were the wrong demographic for it.

Room Tip: Upgrades aren't necessarily a good thing - you might not get what you wanted in the first place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank PDove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsaklas, General Manager at Abigail's Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear PDove,

Thank you for taking the time to give us this review. The more people that contribute to this site the more information gets relayed to potential guests and the better aligned expectations become.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room upgrade but are thankful for your patronage as well as the balance of your review which gives us favourable marks for our cleanliness, delicious breakfast, sleep comfort and service.

As you stated, we’re a heritage, Tudor Revival style, accommodation that may not be suited for young travelers wishing to stay in a more traditional style hotel. We do our best to describe our hotel on our website and the various external websites that we work with. If you find anything to be misleading or contrary to our experience, please let me know and I will do my best to rectify or clarify it as soon as possible.

If a guest is displeased with a room upgrade we will happily try to revert back to the originally booked room. With regards to your wait for check-in, please note that our check-in time is 3pm. We have not missed our check-in cut-off deadline in the memory of any of our current management, which extends to the last eight years. Perhaps there was a misunderstanding or miscommunication upon an earlier arrival? Please let me know if this is not the case and I will investigate further internally. I can be messaged directly through the TripAdvisor messaging system.

Best regards and safe travels,
Nick Saklas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Lovely boutique bed and breakfast hotel tucked away right on the outskirts of downtown, so you're in close proximity to all Victoria's central attractions, theatres, and restaurants. We stayed in one of the fireplace rooms with a claw foot tub which had a rain can shower head. The shower was divine, and the tub big enough for two to soak in. The fireplace was double-sided, so could be seen from the bedroom and bathroom. There was no limit on the number of fire logs provided. The bed and linens were sooo comfortable. Good selection of DVDs, games and books if you're looking for ways to pass the time. The staff were courteous and couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was comfortable. The evening appies were like a small meal, and the breakfasts were generous and tasty. They will serve breakfast in bed for a small additional fee, which they actually waived when they learned it was my husband's birthday. An ideal location for a special occasion or romantic retreat.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDH154945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We love going to Abigails, Each and everyone of the staff are outstanding, the rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast is always delicious! We can't say enough about Abigails and we'll be going again soon!

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem ask for the main floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane154945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 km away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 53 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,317 reviews
4.5 km away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 53 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.6 km away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 53 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Victoria Regent Hotel
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 53 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.9 km away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 53 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigail's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Hotel

Property: Abigail's Hotel
Address: 906 McClure St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#15 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price range (per night): $166 - $322
Hotel Class:4 star — Abigail's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Hotel is a unique accommodation experience that blurs the lines between a small luxury hotel and a heritage bed-and-breakfast Inn. Abigail's is an adult-only, intimate 23-room property that is housed in a 1930's Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. Located in romantic Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's is quietly situated on the edge of the bustling downtown core and is three short blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions and restaurants. Life is too short to be conventional, discover a splendour and charm that has been lost to the ages and uniquely exists at Abigail's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Abigail's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing