We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters
from USD 88.93
More Info
from USD 88.93
More Info
from USD 85.67
More Info
Reviews (969)
Filter reviews
884 results
Traveller rating
771
75
18
7
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
771
75
18
7
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spring tide captain ian humpback whales whale watching zodiac boat killer whales amazing experience larger boat covered boat highly recommend this company transient orcas amazing afternoon race rocks an adventure j pod these guys bucket list
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 884 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

I took the boat trip last Thursday.
I was told the normal whale watching season ended in October,but I just wanted to try my luck. Booked my trip from the visitor center.
The Springtide staff were friendly and funny. I was wrapped up in layers of warm clothes, dry suits and floating suits. A girl in the group said we were like a Michelin man and I then rolled into the boat:-).
The captain(sorry I forgot his name) was nice and attentive. He located the first humpback not long after we drove into the bay. Then, two more that were playful and even came to check our boat out. Felt really lucky and thrilled to see the large and beautiful creatures swimming closeby. We also went to see the seals and sealions on rocks basking in the rare winter sun.
Coming from a warm place, I am not used to cold weather. My face was a bit numb when the boat went full speed in the water, and the reflection of the afternoon sun with cold wind made my eyes teared up. BUT it was totally worthwhile! And, there was warm chocolate at the office when we came back. Highly recommend this whale watching. I will come back in summer.

Thank lbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

A great boat, a great tour, but very few whales to see. We saw some fins at a great distance. There were also more whale watching boats around than there were actual whales! But the tour itself was very good, and the guides were very informative. The boat was very comfortable, with plenty of deck space for whale watching (if you could find them). Coffee was served, there was a place where you could be inside and still see the whales. They had nice bathrooms and coffee was served.

Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringTideWhaleTours, Manager at SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Paul U,

Thank you for sharing your experience online. We are delighted to hear that you really enjoyed our tour, our boat and our crew. Our crew work very hard to supply our guests with an outstanding trip every time. Everything in our control that makes our tours excellent are because of the awesome crew members we have and we pride ourselves on that.

Whales on the other hand cannot be controlled - and that's the way we like it. But wild animals are just that, wild. We understand your expectations of whales on the day of your tour were not met and we understand your frustration. Maybe the next time you are in town you would join us for a second time and hopefully then all your expectations will be met.

Thank you so much for joining us.

Sincerely,
Fiona Fogarty
Sales & Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Springtide whale watching provides such an amazing experience for their customers. Their staff and volunteers are all amazing, especially the volunteer Alyssa. She was extremely kind and helpful. I had such a fun time on the boat learning about the wildlife surrounding Victoria. Definitely would recommend them!

Thank georgiabullbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringTideWhaleTours, Manager at SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear georgiabullbrook,

Thank you for reviewing SpringTide on Trip Advisor. I am glad you feel that way about our crew and have to agree with you - we have a great team. Alyssa has been amazing this year. She volunteered with us all season and was always so helpful and fun to be around. We were lucky to have her join us.

Thanks so much for recommending us and we hope you will join us again someday.

Sincerely,
Fiona Fogarty
Sales & Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve been out with Springtide in both August and October and both times where amazing - I have seen to many orcas to even count them and experienced a total of 5-7 humpbacks spread across my two visits, where one of them decided to put on a show and jump out of the water. Both times with the zodiac.
The guys running the zodiacs are so much fun and give a lot of fun facts and useful information. Ian was especially great! Sweet and fun people all around!
Can only recommend!

Thank MayaO100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringTideWhaleTours, Manager at SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi MayaO100,

Wow... sounds like you were super lucky on both of your tours with us. Our Whale Watching season runs from May to October and as you have experienced for yourself the Fall time in just as good as the summer time for seeing Whales off the coast of Vancouver Island!

October has been particularly excellent. Today, for instance, our boats are sitting with at least 4 Humpback Whales just south of Victoria. The waters have been mostly calm and the sun has been shining for most of the month. While the rest of Canada is sitting in snow we are sitting out on restaurant decks and Whale Watching boats enjoying the west coast weather and wildlife!

Here's hoping you will join us for a third time. Maybe this time you can try our 61ft covered vessel, the Marauder IV - Captain Ian drives that one too ya know ;)

Thanks again for joining us and for recommending SpringTide Whale Watching.

Sincerely,
Fiona Fogarty
Sales & Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic, Marcus and Heather with their wealth of experience and passion for these magnificent animals, made our trip .
We had the most perfect day very calm and overcast the orcas came that close it was everything we could have wished for .
Thank-you Chris and Noela Australia

Thank noelarose13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringTideWhaleTours, Manager at SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the awesome review noelarose13,

Marcus and Heather really appreciate the kind comments. They are both very passionate and knowledgeable crew members and we are lucky to have them as part of our crew.

We are so glad your "Whale Wish" came true.

Thanks for joining us and have a safe trip back to Australia.

Sincerely,
Fiona Fogarty
Sales & Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was such a wonderful experience! Ian was an amazing tour guide, and very knowledgabale! We felt like whale chasers! We got to see so much wildlife! highly recommend this tour if you are visiting the area!

Thank dscorey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringTideWhaleTours, Manager at SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello dscorey1,

Thank you for sharing your exciting adventure with us here at SpringTide. Ian sure is one of the best. Not only does he run Zodiac tours but he is also the main Captain of Marauder IV, our Covered Vessel. He knows these waters and the whales better then anyone!

Victoria is a small city but it sure does have a lot to offer. If you are still in town you should consider visiting the Maritime Museum on Humboldt Street or taking a sightseeing tour in a float plane with Harbour Air. To be able to recommend such unique attractions and to have such awesome wildlife on our doorstep is the reason Victoria is such a top destination. We hope you will join us again someday.

Thank you for recommending us!

Sincerely,
Fiona Fogarty
Sales & Operations Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was amazing!! Worth every penny. They had suits for us to wear, a survival flotation type. I was worried about being cold, but with the suit and a lightweight jacket, it was fine on a sunny fall day. Our guide took us out near San Juan Island and we watched J pod for about an hour. Our guide was informative and his love of the whales was evident. A good trip for both locals familiar with our orca pods and for the out of town folks. The zodiac was fun and felt safe, not at all scary.

Thank LV-and-BF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringTideWhaleTours, Manager at SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear LV-and-BF,

Thank you for reviewing SpringTide on Trip Advisor. Helpful and informative reviews like yours really help future travelers to decide on what activities to do once they are in town. So thank you for sharing.

Zodiacs are truly a great time. They are fast, fun and bumpy - the perfect way to experience this wild west coast! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed seeing J Pod with us. There really is nothing better than seeing Killer Whales in the wild where they belong.

Thank you so much for joining us.

Sincerely,
Fiona Fogarty
Sales & Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were lucky enough to go out on a bright sunny day with very calm waters. The good luck continued when the crew found a couple of humpback whales that were lunge feeding out by the lighthouse. We took lots of great photos, learned a lot from the crew on board, and had a great afternoon. We would do this tour again in a heartbeat.

Thank Calgarypro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringTideWhaleTours, Manager at SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Calgarypro,

Thank you for joining us and for sharing your Humpback Whale Watching experience on Trip Advisor. There is nothing better then seeing these gentle giants lunge feeding. The power and sheer size of these creatures is fascinating and something that you must experience seeing at least once in your life. It makes all of the crew so happy when we can share experiences like this with our guests.

October is one of the best months to see Humpbacks. The waters surrounding Victoria are teeming with fish making this location a major feeding ground for these Pacific Ocean Humpback Whales. It is a rare day at this time of year not to see them feeding south of Victoria. We are so very lucky to have such cool wildlife right on our doorstep.

Thank you for your review and we hope you can join us again someday to experience more of this wild west coast!

Sincerely,
Fiona Fogarty
Sales & Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We set off with high hopes knowing there are resident pods of Orcas close by and we were not disappointed. We were out in the boat for a long time (few hours but just lost track of time) - saw Orcas - one breached - and two humpback whales passing through to Hawaii !!!
On board experts there contantly with you answering all questions and telling you how to spot the difference in the surface of the sea when a whale is close by.
On the journey back to base we sat and listened to the two wonderful experts give amazing talks on the whales we had seen - all by name and explanation of their history. Their passion is illuminating and I was transfixed by their knowledge.
Just an awesome afternoon and well worth the price.

Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringTideWhaleTours, Manager at SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Eileen W,

Thank you for your informative review. Whale Watching in Victoria, BC is definitely a "must-do" activity as you found out! We regularly see Killer Whales and Humpback Whales not to mention Minke Whales and the odd Gray Whale too. Seals and Sea Lions are an added bonus to our trips as are Bald Eagles and Sea Otters. There is such a wonderful array of animals and birds on this coast and I feel so lucky to call it home!

Our expert crew are very passionate and truly love what they do. I know they are very appreciative of your kind comments and they love to hear that their guests had such a blast on their tours.

Thank you for joining us and for sharing your experience with us :)

Sincerely,
Fiona Fogarty
Sales & Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our party of 6 had a fantastic trip whale watching on the zodiac. I think we were lucky with the conditions, the weather was dull but the sea extremely calm. We got to see killer whales and seals and lots of sea birds. Our captain was friendly and knowledgeable telling us all we needed to know. The office were extremely helpful. Our cruise ship arrival time altered but they changed our trip time, with no fuss at all, and even got in touch beforehand as they had heard about the late docking. Friendly, professional people giving a great service - nothing to complain about here!

Thank Derek7852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringTideWhaleTours, Manager at SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Derek7852,

Thank you for sharing your experience of SpringTide here on Trip Advisor. I am so glad your trip worked out so well. It is our pleasure to have moved around your tour time to accommodate the cruise ship timing. It was obviously meant to be as you saw such an array of wildlife on your tour. Customer Service is very important to us and no one does it as good as we do - if I do say so myself ;)

Thanks again for joining us.

Sincerely,
Fiona Fogarty
Sales & Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews