We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Butter chicken”
Review of Raga Restaurant

Raga Restaurant
Ranked #589 of 4,151 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Shaughnessy
Description: Since 1981, Raga Restaurant has served Vancouver classic East Indian restaurant cuisine. The menu, of more than 100 items, features northern Indian cooking but also includes some Kashmiri and south Indian dishes. The Raga's recipes were designed by Chef Kapotra, who cooked for the Nehru-Gandhi family, and are adhered to by our current chefs.An authentic Tandoor (clay oven) heated by charcoal produces succulent Kebabs and wonderful breads. At Raga Restaurant, you?ll enjoy more than just excellent food. You?ll also appreciate our welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. Located in the heart of Vancouver, Raga Restaurant has been serving mouth-watering tandoori, curry and masala dishes to Indian food lovers for over 30 years! We offer all your traditional Indian food favourites: Appetizers such as pakoras, onion bhajis and samosas, Butter chicken, stuffed naan, lamb vindaloo, veggie biryani, mango chutney, yogurt sauce and much much more!
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

A friend recommended Raga Indian restaurant so decided to try it out during lunch. We both chose the butter chicken lunch special that included naan and rice. The naan was warm but more on the chewy than crispy side. Rice was ok, a bit hard. The butter chicken was very creamy and tasty. The restaurant decor and atmosphere was nice.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank D4wong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2018

We had a large birthday group and the staff were so very accommodating. We had a very large table and multiple servers were dispatched to meet our every need. The food here is amazing; all the dishes were delicious and freshly prepared. We had all manner of dishes from vegan to meat dishes, lamb, curries, biriyanis and each and every one was perfect. We had a memorable evening and I'm so glad I got to try this great spot!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Every trip to Vancouver includes a meal at Raga. For years this restaurant has been serving outstanding Indian cuisine. Great menu selections and never a bad meal. The owners are very friendly and are always warm and welcoming when we visit. The decor is nice and the interior is large. I look forward to my next visit.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank geoboy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

My wife and I decided to stop by at Raga's for dinner, after having read very appealing reviews about this place. We both like spicy food, but those veggie samosas were very spicy. We also had the mango chicken dish and the Jalfrezi, which were both quite tasty but not outstanding. The overall experience was good but in my humble opinion, the price didn't match the flavor.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jackscoletti75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

Been coming here for over 20 years. Best Indian food in Vancouver ( and I have tried them ALL) and always consistent. Service is excellent.
We have ordered almost everything
on the menu over the years and NOTHING is ever disappointing.
Special mentions are the gobhi pakoras, cacumber salad,prawn masala, methi prawns, coconut chicken, malai chicken and don’t forget the naan bread smothered with ghee. Yum yum!!!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank imv1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raga Restaurant also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Raga Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing