We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Anniversary dinner!”
Review of AnnaLena

AnnaLena
Ranked #7 of 4,146 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 19 - USD 34
Cuisines: Canadian
Neighbourhood: Kitsilano
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Kitsilano
Reviewed 26 August 2017

From cocktails to food to the service, EVERYTHING was on point! Don't be afraid to have the bartender do a "dealer's choice". Just let your server know if you like it "fruity", "citrusy" or just straight up "boozy".

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PurpleTongue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 104 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2017

While i love great food, i also love when restaurant staff love their job and work seamlessly together. Watching staff Renee and Elliott move about this medium sized but well thought out space was like watching two well choreographed dancers move about a dance floor. They instinctively knew what was going on at any one time and all patrons were well served in a casual but elegant style. Everyone working in this place is in synch and enjoying what they do. And no silly fashion clothes for them...most wore sneakers and stylish but comfortable clothes. This tells me that its about the food and not about anything else.

Speaking of food, wow. I had the tasting menu and all of the other reviews are right. This is a special place with some incredible food. I had never been there before so was told the tasting menu was the way to sample everything,. The mussels? YES! the famed torn bread? YES x 2. The beef? melt in your mouth. The halibut? Tasty but a tad dry. Loved the cocktails (both alcoholic and not), and the cool mini sweets with the bill (the root beer and creamsicle ones were my favourite). Do book early and beware of parking...its metered but in a very trendy and busy area so leave time to search for a spot.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brads153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

A very good friend suggested AnnaLena and loved every moment of the time spent. The food was superb and the service from Renee and Elliott was amazing, we received complete attention and I will certainly return. Thank you! Thank you! We will come back for more.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank Serge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Our family of four adults ordered the tasting menu -- best decision ever! Each course was a treat, with some very unexpected delights. Can not say enough about the torn bread. So simple, so divine. Many if the courses are quite petit, but we had plenty to eat and felt it was quite a good value. Am already planning a return visit!

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank mrangel322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Me and my mum went here not knowing what to expect, we were greeted by incredibly welcoming staff. They are both very professional but also warm making you feel at home while getting wonderful service. However the star of the experience was definitely the food, amazing flavors!! It was a mix of fine dining and comfort food which in my opinion is the best. I truly recommend this little restaurant to anyone who appreciates food. Make sure to get a reservation and if you can't choose between the dishes do give the tasting menu a chance.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank Anni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AnnaLena also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to AnnaLena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing