We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot for lunch and great service”

Banana Leaf Malaysian Cuisine
Ranked #147 of 4,145 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Shaughnessy
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch with the wife. Ordered two appetisers and two mains. Not too much to say about this visit. All the staff were very polite and provided a great service. Little things such as constantly topping up our glasses with tap water go a long way. Keep that up!

Food was really nice, only thing that stopped this being a 5 is that my wife's chicken Satay was a little undercooked.

Overall though really pleased with our stop here.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

four of us were treated to an excellent meal of 6 dishes which we shared between us and had service with a smile and timely as we had to go to the theatre. We have been here before and have always enjoyed the food. We got there just before the crowd as it can get quit busy.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Outstanding, friendly service. A must for our family whenever we are in Vancouver. Our favorite restaurant (5 locations) in the city. Never disappoints!

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

I had Nasi Goreng Campur, which looked super good in the photo, however on arrival it was swimming in grease, the fish curry was way undercooked and most of the plate was pretty inedible. My companions noodle dish was also too greasy.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank moragm558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

We came as a family of 3 adults during Dine Out. However, we opted to order off the regular menu as we were afraid the portions would be a bit small for Dine Out. In general, all of the dishes were tasty; however, we found that the portion sizes overall are small especially for an Asian style restaurant. We ordered 1 appetizer and 5 entrees - between my wife and my dad, we finished everything. The bill averaged about $35 a person which we felt was a bit steep.

The Satay Skewers were very tasty. They're essentially $2 a piece with a minimum of 4 pieces.

The Grilled Wild Sockeye in Banana Leaf was also very tasty; however, you get a single small square piece of sockeye.

The Sambal Okra, Eggplant, and Green Beans dish was tiny. We thought they may have mixed up our order with the Dine Out version as ours came with a few shrimp in it.

The Sambal Tiger Prawns were also very small for what you get - 7 prawns in total for $19.

The 1/2 order of Boneless Hainanese Chicken was pretty decent. There's good flavour in the chicken.

The Pineapple Seafood Fried Rice was ok. It's drenched with butter which is what Spoon Kitchen on 4th used to do as well. Typical Pineapple Fried Rice does not have butter.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banana Leaf Malaysian Cuisine also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Banana Leaf Malaysian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing