We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouth-watering dessert selection ”

Thierry Chocolaterie Patisserie Cafe
Ranked #5 of 240 Coffee & Tea in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: Voted "Best Desserts" and "Best Pastries" in Vancouver, Thierry offers a contemporary approach to the finest handcrafted chocolates, macarons, pastries, and desserts. We invite you to join us in our comfortable café, where renowned Pastry Chef Thierry Busset's can often be seen working in his open atelier. Whether you drop by for your morning coffee, a leisurely escape from the nearby shops, or a late night dessert and drink on our licensed patio, Thierry is designed to uplift the spirits.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We went here one evening for dessert on the advice of our concierge. The most difficult task was narrowing down our choices from the display of chocolates, cookies, slices of lemon pie, etc. The desserts were all excellent. The place is small, but has a great city atmosphere.

Wish we had something similar where we live.

Thank Changeforapenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Don't get me wrong: the coffee is fantastic and any of the eatables delicious! But the prices for most of the even smaller pastries are extremely expensive. I can understand the overheads at their location; but I am just stating a fact. Staff are pleasant and helpful.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BanToli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToptableGroupTeam, Manager at Thierry Chocolaterie Patisserie Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi BanToli,

Many thanks for your valued feedback. We, at Thierry, use the best of quality ingredients, both locally and abroad, including the aromatic Tahitian vanilla bean that enhances and elevates flavour notes compared to the more commonly used Madagascar vanilla. We will do our very best to balance these premium products with our pricing while striving to produce the highest quality of offerings. We will be sure to share your comments with our team and hope that we can welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Kathryn Millar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Their coffee is great. Their chocolates are amazing. Their croissants are delicious... what else could one need?!
There have some seating inside, and some additional seats outside. Eat in, or take out...I highly recommend it.

Thank Jennyfare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

First time visiting :)
The workers were very nice in helping me identify the type of dessert that fits my need as well as being descriptive about the individual characteristics of each desserts. The coffee was decent and service was fast. The atmosphere was nice and welcoming. The cake, however, was a bit one dimensional in its taste. The sweetness and the creaminess was a bit overpowering... the ingredients in the base layer (I think it was almond with caramel or nougat, with a hint of orange?) was hard to detect because of the sweetness... you can't really taste the different flavours. The mouthfeel of the cake was otherwise amazing. (The mousse melts in your mouth perfectly, it's dense and almost truffle-like and full of flavors. The dark chocolate shell was also very creamy and combines well with the mousse.) it's just the base that was way too sweet and creamy. Something sour in its place would work divinely, though, the flavour would jump out and enchant the chocolate...
Otherwise, it was a beautiful experience on my part!

Thank Chun Yi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToptableGroupTeam, Manager at Thierry Chocolaterie Patisserie Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi Chun Yi,

Thank you for taking a moment to reach out to us. It’s regrettable to hear that the sweetness and creaminess of the cake was not to your preference during your recent visit. We will be sure to share your comments with our team to correct any inconsistencies in our kitchen preparations.

Kind regards,

Kathryn Millar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

This is the first time I returned a cappuccino and asked for my money. I got a headache as soon as I had the first sip. The espresso shot was tremendously over-extracted therefore was very bitter. There was no silky foam on the top and it was rather puffy. The ambience is not good either. The acoustics of the room are not right so you can hear everybody talking. Patrons have no idea about coffee culture and they are rather mostly pretentious crowd who live in expensive high rises in that area.

On the top of all that, it's super expensive. 1/2 sandwich for $7.75 !!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Graphic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToptableGroupTeam, Manager at Thierry Chocolaterie Patisserie Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hi Graphic S,

Thank you for reaching out to us on TripAdvisor, Google, and Yelp as we can confirm that we are aware of your concerns.

Our sandwiches are prepared using the freshest bread baked in-house daily and is topped with the finest of artisanal ingredients sourced from our local suppliers. We understand that the noise levels can be higher than expected, especially during peak cafe hours, and am sorry to hear that the espresso you tasted during your recent visit was not to your liking. We embrace the opportunity to speak with you further and hope to invite you back into our cafe for a chance to personally address any concerns and to better explore your suggestions. In the meantime, we’ll be sure to share your candid comments with our team to correct any inconsistencies in our coffee preparations.

Kind regards,

Kathryn Millar
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thierry Chocolaterie Patisserie Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Thierry Chocolaterie Patisserie Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing