We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK stay, but expensive for summer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Inn Vancouver Metro
Ranked #73 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Spent 5 nights in July over a weekend. Reception desk manager was friendly, we arrived early afternoon, with little wait on a Thursday.

We received a room on the 2nd floor. No elevator, so if you have a lot of luggage, stay on the 1st floor. Our room faced the drive-thru of McDonalds. If muffled noise from car engines and the drive thru speaker bothers you, ask for a room on the other side of the motel. At night, the curtain facing McDonalds should be longer, since outdoor lighting crept in under the curtains.

Room had two double beds with adequate space. Room features look updated, like the beds, wall decorations, flat screen TV, small desk, and drawers. However, they should have finished upgrading. Closet had an old ironing board and could tell the closet had been painted over. Refrigerator could barely chill anything. Bathroom tiles look old, and can see old radiator pipes hidden in the walls. No screen on window, so flies can get in. Room has a wooden floor that looked old. Free Wifi worked in room. Regarding soundproofing, I heard loud noises in the inner courtyard. Overall, though, motel is quiet.

Housekeeping had pluses and minuses. When we left clothes or my son's stuffed toys in the bed, the housekeeper neatly placed it on top of the bed. However, 3 out of 5 nights, we were short on face towels and one floor towel. Management was efficient and gave us towels upon request.

Breakfast in the basement was simple. Toast, bagels, cereals, packaged oatmeal, yogurt, boiled eggs already shelled, fruit, milk, OJ, apple juice, and coffee. Busy on the weekend, but we always managed to get a seat.

Motel is within 30-40 minutes to major tourist sites. Less than 15 minutes to downtown without traffic. Barely used a half-tank of gas for 6 days. While parking is free, signs on the outside of the motel warn about protecting your car from theft. Narrow entrance to parking lot from Kingsway, better to enter the back of lot from the side street.

Overall, a decent stay. However, I felt the room rates in summer are too high for this quality of motel. Perhaps in the off-season we would stay here again, but for peak season, I might want to spend more money for a higher quality hotel.

Room Tip: Room not on the side facing McDonalds may be quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiantsFanLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnMetro, Operations Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Metro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write your review, Sean Barrington, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Vancouver Metro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

Had to book this place due to sudden plan to Vancouver and I'll say that wasn't a good decision, but lack of choice. Front desk lady was very friendly and got my room ready pretty quickly. The room wasn't very clean and the odor wasn't pleasant. The floor was kinda sticky. Morning breakfast was just for namesake. Wifi sucks. Fortunately, the room had good sound insulation and I had good sleep. Next time, Personally I'd look for some other place.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ManishKumar2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

shower and tv didn't work - was told on phone 'how to fix' the tv. Front desk person was very friendly and was a do it all type of gent. TV and shower did get fixed, but why should one have to ask. Person checking in beside me paid $30 less than I did.. has to do with their booking policy..?? Felt sticky, dirty, and not safe.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lovetheloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnMetro, Operations Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Metro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

We offer various different discounts. The two most popular are, "Stay 3 nights save 20% and, "Book 14 Days in advance save 20%." Generally for hotels in a big city, the earlier you make your reservation the lower the rate is going to be. I am sorry that your stay was not more enjoyable, Sean Barrington, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

I asked myself whether I would stay there again. The answer was 'no'. So obviously it was not too great. It had all the basics you would expect of a motel in an average part of a big city, but it just wasn't very appealing. Our room was facing directly on to busy Kingsway so there was traffic all night. The sound insulation was reasonably effective but I cannot say it was a peaceful night.

Overall, if you need somewhere to stay for a night that is not outrageously expensive and relatively near to the airport, the Days Inn is a possibility. Personally I would look for some place else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the main road
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnMetro, Operations Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Metro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Seven out of our sixty-six rooms do face Kingsway so for guests that are sensitive sleepers please call the hotel and request a room away from Kingsway. We are not located in downtown Vancouver, we are almost exactly in between the airport and downtown. All of our guests receive free parking. Our location offers our guests great access to the public transportation, both the bus and the Skytrain. Thanks for giving us a try, Sean Barrington, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

Unless you are into traps, or crack shacks, this place is NOT for you.
If the outside of the building isn't enough to scare you away, the staff certainly will.
The general odor of the building is nauseating, but just wait until you get into your very own broom closet they call a room!
I'd be actually scared to stay a night in this place, for fear of getting shot or maybe carried away by a family of overgrown cockroaches.
We were in this hotel for 20 minutes and got into two separate fights about getting our deposit back while trying to get a refund on this hell hole.
Do not, I repeat do not waste your time booking this hotel, or you will spend the next hour rebooking a new hotel and fighting with hotel staff.

We are happy to pay an extra 50 dollars and stay right downtown at the Empire Landmark.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sascha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnMetro, Operations Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Metro, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

There was no fighting from my staff or myself. When you said you were unhappy about your room we told you to call Expedia, you could check out and you would not be charged, no problem. We are a very busy hotel and we do not force guests to stay with us. I hope you enjoyed the City of Vancouver, Sean Barrington, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#60 of 92 in Vancouver
912 reviews
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#81 of 92 in Vancouver
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
#80 of 92 in Vancouver
1,750 reviews
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#35 of 92 in Vancouver
709 reviews
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#55 of 92 in Vancouver
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Vancouver Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Vancouver Metro

Address: 2075 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5N 2T2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $79 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Vancouver Metro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Vancouver Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Vancouver Metro Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing