We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nelso House - A great stay in a superb B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nelson House B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nelson House B & B
Ranked #8 of 52 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nelso House - A great stay in a superb B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We would wholeheartedly recommend Nelson House B&B. Friendly, welcoming and helpful staff, Kait and Ingrid, helped us get our bearings for a very enjoyable visit to Vancouver. Owner David is a most gracious host and, again, very welcoming and helpful to the itinerant guest.
Other reviews say it all – a memorable place to stay. We were in the Shangri-La suite and enjoyed the comfort, space, everything about the place really.
The varied breakfasts, both in menus and guests, were eclectic and always an inspiring start to the day. We would love to come back to Nelson House if chance allows. Barnaby and Karen.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aotearoa155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    28
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
87
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Just spent a week in Vancouver staying at Nelson House B & B and honestly cannot fault this place. I stayed in the Sailors Room which was super comfortable. Ingrid, Kait and David went out of their way to make me feel welcomed and their knowledge of Vancouver helped me plan out my days. Each morning you are served an amazing breakfast with the menu changing each day. The B & B itself sits in a beautiful, quiet, tree lined street with the shops of Robson Street a 5min walk one way and the restaurants, bars and nightlife of Davie street a 5min walk in the other direction....you could not get a better location!! I HIGHLY recomend Nelson House B & B to any travellers.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

The location is perfect: a safe, quiet, residential street, a couple of blocks from all the West End restaurants and activity and sunsets at English Bay. Public transportation is close by and taxi service, when needed, was less than 5 minutes away. Breakfast with guests from all over the world were yummy and great fun.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maria f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

My husband, teenage son, and I spent Easter weekend this year at the Nelson House B&B and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Shangri-La Suite suited us perfectly, and I was completely delighted with the decor, particularly the light-up palm trees in the mirror in the beautiful bathroom!

One of the most memorable aspects of our stay were the delicious breakfasts that were provided every morning, made to everyone's specifications. Even the celiac in our party was happy with the gluten-free offerings the hosts were happy to provide. Also of note was the willingness of the staff to accommodate people who suffer from chemical sensitivities (MCS) by reducing or eliminating cleaning products which might be problematic, as well as providing an excellent air purifier. The opening windows overlook beautiful gardens and let in the fresh sea breezes. You'd never know that you were in the middle of the heart of Vancouver, yet there you are, just a few blocks from everything.

We're looking forward to finding a reason to visit Vancouver again, now that we know that our health and dietary needs can be accommodated in such a beautiful, relaxing location. The Nelson House was, for us, truly a home away from home! Next time we need a place to stay in Vancouver, we will look no farther than the Nelson House Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tunetigress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
185 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed at the Nelson House for eight nights again this year for our annual summer vacation to Vancouver. We come back over and over for this reason -- it is a very well run guesthouse with comfortable room, terrific, hot-cooked breakfasts, and a PERFECT location in the heart of the West End, definitely the best part of Vancouver to stay in. David, Ingrid, and Kate run the place impeccably. It is comfortable and very home-like. It is convenient to both Robson and Davie Streets, the main streets of the West End, and an easy walk to major locations and mass transit options.

There are fancier (and more expensive) places to be sure, but this is a very reliable, affordable choice. David has kept his rates even for years, which is remarkable. Go -- you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,595 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#14 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
#47 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelson House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelson House B & B

Property: Nelson House B & B
Address: 977 Broughton St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2A4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price range (per night): $77 - $204
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character, comfort and convenience in Vancouver's downtown, West End. A three-story, century old home operating as a bed and breakfast since 1990. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nelson House Bed And Breakfast
Nelson House Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing