We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (801)
Filter reviews
801 results
Traveller rating
672
87
28
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
672
87
28
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeak roombeach roommountain roomgarden suitewest endrobson streetstanley parkday bedhighly recommend this b bfresh baked cookiestree lined streetbreakfast was deliciouswithin walking distancequiet neighborhoodeach morningdowntown vancouverthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
438 - 443 of 801 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We recently stayed at Barclay House on two occasions for a total of 4 nights. Our first two nights were in the Garden Suite which was very comfortable, and on our return from two days in Victoria Dennis had upgraded us to the Beach Room (upstairs and at the front). What a treat this was, a really luxurious feel to it and we were very grateful. Thank you to Dennis and his staff who were all very courteous and always obliging. We know Vancouver very well as we used to live there 43 years ago (down the West End). The location of Barclay House couldn't be better for tourists to this wonderful city, because of it's convenience to many and varied tourist attractions and restaurants in the city and West End. It's location also eliminates the need to catch public transport, thus saving time and money.
The availability of wifi was much appreciated and we have found this trip that it is often not available in lots of B&B's. The breakfasts each morning were delicious and always something
different.
We have no doubt that when we next return to Vancouver we will definitely stay at Barclay House.

Room Tip: Sorry no swimming pool or fitness centre but I couldn't change this entry
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OzGreyNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I really enjoyed staying at Barclay House. I was in the Forest Room. Everything was spotless. The breakfasts were tasty as were the cookies. The location is perfect for walking to many sites. Dennis is a wonderful host.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jeanneg307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We loved Barclay House in Barclay Street, Vancouver. Dennis and staff gave us excellent service- the breakfast was always prepared freshly for us and we enjoyed something different each day. They were always cheerful and friendly and made us feel very much at home in their beautifully appointed house. We stayed 3 nights in The Haidaway. It was obviously professionally design/decorated with a raised bed, a whirlpool bath, shower room and a sitting area with comfortable settee and armchair...all this as well as a writing desk and chair and porch area..the whole room being beautifully appointed. We stayed 3 nights in the Forest Room- first floor - again another beautifully appointed bedroom with sitting area. Both rooms had a large TV, safe and fridge, and also tea/coffee making facilities.
The location was nothing less than SUPERB! A very short walk (2mins) to the main street Robson Street (London's equivalent to Oxford Street) and from a quiet backwater of a leafy tree-lined street.
The Barclay B&B helped to give us wonderful memories of Vancouver and we would like to thank Dennis for making this possible for us...thank you Dennis!
Best wishes
Nansi and Geoff

Room Tip: All rooms we saw looked equally good!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NansiNtowcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Great location on a quiet tree lined street just 2 blocks from a ton of restaurants and shops
in Vancouver. The accommodations were spacious and clean, the breakfasts delicious and the staff warm and friendly. We would recommend it to others!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Our first time in Vancouver was made an even more memorable experience thanks much to the Barclay House Bed and Breakfast and their friendly, helpful staff.

Although located right in the heart of downtown Vancouver, it's situated in a quiet, tree-lined residential neighborhood providing a great, quiet escape after a full day of touring the nearby -- and walkable -- sites such as Stanley Park, the Vancouver Aquarium, Vancouver Art Gallery, Gastown and Chinatown. For those longer jaunts such as UBC and Grandville Island, we hopped on the bus (44 to UBC) on nearby Robson Street or took a cab which cost about $18 (to Grandville Island).

We've stayed at many B&Bs and can say the Barclay House is well-appointed with the luxurious amenities you expect from a 5-star B&B and steps it up for techies with all the modern conveniences such as flat screen HDTVs and fast WiFi. Request for the Peak room which is the attic loft and largest room at the house.

Morning breakfasts were scrumptious with a good, healthy and tasty variety of fruit, breads, muffins which preceded extraordinary main courses -- we had breakfast quesadillas and veggie omelets during our stay.

In addition to the many B&Bs, we've been spoiled having stayed at plenty of Ritz and Fairmont properties. No doubt, the service provided by Barclay House staff exceeded our expectations. General Manager Dennis Kusin and his wonderful staff ensure you feel comfortable and at home during your stay. He's a wonderful personality and a great resource on how to plan your trip providing local, insider tips to make the most of your visit.

Highly recommended! Warm regards, Renato

Room Tip: Go with "Peak," the attic loft and largest room at the house.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank renatosogueco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews