We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible! AVOID!! MADE ME SICK.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel
Reviewed 12 October 2017

I had heard about this hostel from people in my tour group, who were complaining about how terrible it was. I thought, hey it can't be that bad... oh how I was wrong.
It's a real shame, because the hostel looks promising from the outside. We stayed in the large 18 bed dorm, which I can only describe as feeling like a hospital ward. Some peoples beds were not made, didn't have mattresses on the beds yet, and dirty linen. There is only one plug socket (if you're lucky enough to locate it/be tall enough to reach it) in the room. Not ideal. People had to resort to charging their phones in the bathroom, laundry room and the hallway.
The kitchen was gross.
The bathrooms were disgusting. The showers were horrific. I've never been to prison, but this is how I'd imagine their showers to be. No privacy at all. Why have wooden slats in a shower. WHY? That's totally impractical. The bathrooms/showers are also across the lobby, so you have to walk through everyone in your pjs. Not the best.
This place also made me unwell. After staying here, I was covered in ringworm. COVERED.
No joke, someone had pitched a tent outside. Probably took one look at the place and cried.

The only good thing about this place was the fact that it was a bonding experience for my tour group and I. We survived Jericho Beach. We could do anything. Also, watching the sunset on the beach was pretty cute. But that is all.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI-VancouverJericho, General Manager at Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

I'm really sorry to hear about your experience. We take feedback like yours very seriously and thank you for providing it.

As a seasonal property, we're fortunate to be able to begin new each year. We have changes underway to address many of the issues you have outlined here. Renovations are about to begin on the washrooms, which will bring in new shower stalls and increase privacy. We will begin dorm upgrades as well, looking to address beds, floors and exploring ways to bring in more power points. We have also recently hired a new housekeeping supervisor to address the cleanliness concerns and work towards a higher standard when hiring and training for next year.

Again, I'm truly sorry to hear of your experience. Rest assured your feedback has been taken seriously and will help inform the improvements we make going forward.

- Stephen
Manager, HI Vancouver Jericho Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2017

I do not have much experience with hostels so I cannot comment on this one in comparison to others. I do know although that this place could use a good thorough cleaning. Location is nice although, very close to the beach.

Room Tip: Book a private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank juliapoplawski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

This is possibly the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. No plug sockets in the rooms, which are essentially large arm dorm-type rooms, with little privacy between huge rows of bunk-beds. The only place to charge your phone is out near reception, of which there are only a couple, (or for some reason there was one socket in the dorm about 7 foot up on the wall near the ceiling?) not really enough for an entire hostel!! WIFI wasn't really working in the dorms. The kitchen is just disgusting, mouldy pans everywhere and smells like sour milk. The bathrooms for our rooms were across from the reception, meaning you have to walk past a busy reception at any hour you need to shower - little privacy. The staff at the front desk were disinterested and rude - particularly the guy who sat playing his guitar at reception, ignoring people trying to check-in. We arrived late and the cafe was shut, vending machines all broken, and there are no food shops nearby, so we went hungry. The only one tiny redeeming feature is that it's near the beach. Overall, definitely the worst hostel I've ever stayed at - definitely don't stay here!!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anna_Lucy132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

I booked into a private double room for a little more security as I had a lot of luggage. The first few nights of my stay, there was a loud guy in the room next to me who would wake up in the early hours and yell pretty aggressive stuff (including pretty inflammatory sexist and racists terms) up and down the hallway to nobody in particular. The walls are paper thin so you were guaranteed no sleep. When I raised this issue with the reception and mentioned that I was feeling pretty uncomfortable with it, they said that it sounded pretty bad from my description, but there wasn't anything I could do about it and they advised me that he'd be going the following morning. So then, with no money to book another hotel for a night, I had to go to sleep fully expecting the guy to start yelling down the hallway again all night! And this was in a private room - I dread to think how scary sharing a dorm with him would be. Honestly, I was mentally psyched to phone the police if he kicked off again. To the best of my knowledge, the guy left for that night anyway.

The toilet facilities were pretty clean for a hostel so that was good. The room was kind of gross around the edges (stray hairs! lots of them!). The shared kitchen was post-apocalyptic during my stay (hello mouldy pans everywhere).

Also, the cafe operates separately to the hostel. It has great breakfast and good service. However the receptionist, when asked, could not tell me the opening hours. It's attached to the hostel!!

Another word to the wise - there isn't an elevator so you will need to take heavy luggage upstairs yourself or ask for assistance.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EGal94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Stayed in a dorm room with 16 people. Only one light switch and no plugs in the room. Had to stay in a communal area charging phone/camera for the evening rather than exploring the area. Staff were very rude and unhelpful.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amyrZXCVBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#79 of 92 in Vancouver
678 reviews
Granville Street
Samesun Vancouver
Samesun Vancouver
#2 of 57 in Vancouver
1,407 reviews
West End
Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
Gastown
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
#20 of 57 in Vancouver
110 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel

Address: 1515 Discovery St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6R 4K5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West Point Grey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range: $33 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's hostel by the beach is located just 20 minutes from downtown and 10 minutes from the University of BC. At HI-Vancouver Jericho Beach you'll be surrounded by parkland and sandy beaches, with views of downtown Vancouver, Stanley Park, and the North Shore Mountains at your doorstep.Live like a local and experience all Vancouver has to offer. Cycling, kayaking, beach volleyball, wind-surfing and hiking are within easy reach. Travelling to Vancouver with your bike? HI-Vancouver Jericho Beach provides secure bike storage, and our friendly staff can direct you to the many bike trails, street routes and pathways.HI-Vancouver Jericho Beach is the only Vancouver hostel with a licensed café on site. Jerry's Cafe is open for breakfast, dinner, and drinks seven days a week. Join us for our weekly activities while experiencing the great food and some great Canadian Beer selections.HI-Vancouver Jericho Beach is the ideal West Coast home base for outdoor adventurers, beach-goers and summertime relaxers - we've got it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing