We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
19
27
26
20
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
27
26
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bunk beds folk music festival booked a private room common areas free breakfast ubc
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Stayed in a dorm room with 16 people. Only one light switch and no plugs in the room. Had to stay in a communal area charging phone/camera for the evening rather than exploring the area. Staff were very rude and unhelpful.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amyrZXCVBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Feels like you are actually in jail.
Mad parties to rear of the hostel that looks like is mostly staff on or off duty.
Dorms are noisy with no sockets to charge your phone etc.
Kitchen is filthy as are the toilets.
Staff are not friendly in the slightest & look like they don't want to be there.
Terrible atmosphere with not many people socializing.
Worst hostel I have stayed at ever.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dwayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

The owners of this place are taking advantage of people. The place is in need of major investment. The rooms are very dated and dirty and are a complete lie of the pictures that you see online! The staff are beyond rude, they have no interest in being there! The cleanliness of the hostel is the worst I have seen in 11 months of travelling around the world! The bathrooms and kitchen looks like it's never been cleaned for days! The staff need sacking. Even though the site says free parking, this means parking no were near the hostel in a unsafe area! We meet someone who had there car broken into, on the street the hostel 'claimed' was there free parking. Everything about this place is a joke! You will not sleep at night, it's so noisy! Hi international should be ashamed to claim this as one of the hostel. Take my tip, from someone who has stayed in 100+ hostels. Avoid avoid avoid !!!!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank bruce1111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

The best thing about the place is its location really close to the beach where you can go and enjoy a great view on Vancouver and a stunning sunset. it's a bit far from shops though. Not convenient without a car. If the hostel could offer shuttles it would be perfect.
Reception was friendly and free towels for guests is a must.
The dorm is alright and 4 beds sections are a good idea for more privacy. The main thing that really bothered me was the one single lightening for the whole dorm (18beds) which means that if you're trying to sleep and someone comes in and switch on the light, you'll suddenly have a strong light above you (especially if you have been given a top bed). And of course people don't switch off when leaving the room. I'm used to hostels and noise, so usually it doesn't bother me but I had one of my worst night there. Plugs accessible for top beds would be convenient too.
Bathrooms were alright in general. Showers without any shelves and any privacy but just a curtain aren't the best though.
Didn't use the kitchen but when I passed through is wasn't quite dirty. Maybe bad timing.
The restaurant is way over-priced, especially for a hostel. The burger&fries I had weren't really good (fries not well defrost) so I didn't come back for breakfast.
WiFi in my dorm was working pretty well but I heard it's not the case everywhere.

I really liked the location and the price was pretty cheap but the place itself is a bit disappointing which is sad because with a few renovation work, it could be really great!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

Big old building with no elevator and lots of brick stairs, bit annoying with luggage. Dorms are huge around 18 beds is each separated by half walls between each 4 bunk beds, very loud and hard to sleep and it's such an old building sound echoes. No free breakfast which I find annoying when most other HI's offer it. And only 2 plug points per 4 beds however there is some outside in common areas. Gas leak at 4am caused everyone to be evacuated for an hour. Not ideal or fun. Wouldn't stay again

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Ambi1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews