We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly Managed Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel
Reviewed 7 September 2017

I booked into a private double room for a little more security as I had a lot of luggage. The first few nights of my stay, there was a loud guy in the room next to me who would wake up in the early hours and yell pretty aggressive stuff (including pretty inflammatory sexist and racists terms) up and down the hallway to nobody in particular. The walls are paper thin so you were guaranteed no sleep. When I raised this issue with the reception and mentioned that I was feeling pretty uncomfortable with it, they said that it sounded pretty bad from my description, but there wasn't anything I could do about it and they advised me that he'd be going the following morning. So then, with no money to book another hotel for a night, I had to go to sleep fully expecting the guy to start yelling down the hallway again all night! And this was in a private room - I dread to think how scary sharing a dorm with him would be. Honestly, I was mentally psyched to phone the police if he kicked off again. To the best of my knowledge, the guy left for that night anyway.

The toilet facilities were pretty clean for a hostel so that was good. The room was kind of gross around the edges (stray hairs! lots of them!). The shared kitchen was post-apocalyptic during my stay (hello mouldy pans everywhere).

Also, the cafe operates separately to the hostel. It has great breakfast and good service. However the receptionist, when asked, could not tell me the opening hours. It's attached to the hostel!!

Another word to the wise - there isn't an elevator so you will need to take heavy luggage upstairs yourself or ask for assistance.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EGal94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017

Stayed in a dorm room with 16 people. Only one light switch and no plugs in the room. Had to stay in a communal area charging phone/camera for the evening rather than exploring the area. Staff were very rude and unhelpful.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amyrZXCVBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Feels like you are actually in jail.
Mad parties to rear of the hostel that looks like is mostly staff on or off duty.
Dorms are noisy with no sockets to charge your phone etc.
Kitchen is filthy as are the toilets.
Staff are not friendly in the slightest & look like they don't want to be there.
Terrible atmosphere with not many people socializing.
Worst hostel I have stayed at ever.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dwayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

The owners of this place are taking advantage of people. The place is in need of major investment. The rooms are very dated and dirty and are a complete lie of the pictures that you see online! The staff are beyond rude, they have no interest in being there! The cleanliness of the hostel is the worst I have seen in 11 months of travelling around the world! The bathrooms and kitchen looks like it's never been cleaned for days! The staff need sacking. Even though the site says free parking, this means parking no were near the hostel in a unsafe area! We meet someone who had there car broken into, on the street the hostel 'claimed' was there free parking. Everything about this place is a joke! You will not sleep at night, it's so noisy! Hi international should be ashamed to claim this as one of the hostel. Take my tip, from someone who has stayed in 100+ hostels. Avoid avoid avoid !!!!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank bruce1111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

The best thing about the place is its location really close to the beach where you can go and enjoy a great view on Vancouver and a stunning sunset. it's a bit far from shops though. Not convenient without a car. If the hostel could offer shuttles it would be perfect.
Reception was friendly and free towels for guests is a must.
The dorm is alright and 4 beds sections are a good idea for more privacy. The main thing that really bothered me was the one single lightening for the whole dorm (18beds) which means that if you're trying to sleep and someone comes in and switch on the light, you'll suddenly have a strong light above you (especially if you have been given a top bed). And of course people don't switch off when leaving the room. I'm used to hostels and noise, so usually it doesn't bother me but I had one of my worst night there. Plugs accessible for top beds would be convenient too.
Bathrooms were alright in general. Showers without any shelves and any privacy but just a curtain aren't the best though.
Didn't use the kitchen but when I passed through is wasn't quite dirty. Maybe bad timing.
The restaurant is way over-priced, especially for a hostel. The burger&fries I had weren't really good (fries not well defrost) so I didn't come back for breakfast.
WiFi in my dorm was working pretty well but I heard it's not the case everywhere.

I really liked the location and the price was pretty cheap but the place itself is a bit disappointing which is sad because with a few renovation work, it could be really great!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#79 of 92 in Vancouver
678 reviews
Granville Street
Samesun Vancouver
Samesun Vancouver
#2 of 57 in Vancouver
1,410 reviews
West End
Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
Shaughnessy
Manor Guest House
Manor Guest House
#34 of 56 in Vancouver
201 reviews
Gastown
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
#22 of 57 in Vancouver
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel

Address: 1515 Discovery St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6R 4K5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West Point Grey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range: AU$33 - AU$75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's hostel by the beach is located just 20 minutes from downtown and 10 minutes from the University of BC. At HI-Vancouver Jericho Beach you'll be surrounded by parkland and sandy beaches, with views of downtown Vancouver, Stanley Park, and the North Shore Mountains at your doorstep.Live like a local and experience all Vancouver has to offer. Cycling, kayaking, beach volleyball, wind-surfing and hiking are within easy reach. Travelling to Vancouver with your bike? HI-Vancouver Jericho Beach provides secure bike storage, and our friendly staff can direct you to the many bike trails, street routes and pathways.HI-Vancouver Jericho Beach is the only Vancouver hostel with a licensed café on site. Jerry's Cafe is open for breakfast, dinner, and drinks seven days a week. Join us for our weekly activities while experiencing the great food and some great Canadian Beer selections.HI-Vancouver Jericho Beach is the ideal West Coast home base for outdoor adventurers, beach-goers and summertime relaxers - we've got it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing