We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, very comfortable, ideal for families”
Review of Rosedale on Robson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rosedale on Robson
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Our family of 2 adults, 1 teen & 1 child stayed 5 nights at Rosedale's, located at the Sth-Eastern end of the city. Robson St is a main street that runs the length of the city SE to NW. Rosedale's is located at the quieter end of Robson St (unless the Canucks are playing ice hockey at the nearby stadium!), but there are plenty of small convenience stores, Asian restaurants and cafes located nearby. Noticed a few homeless people on the streets at this end of town but they don't hassle you. Retail shopping is better at the other end of Robson St, which is also near Stanley Park (a 20 min walk from Rosedale's).
We were very happy with the hotel - good location, very comfortable and helpful service - ideal for families and anyone who doesn't want to pay top dollar. There are 21 floors and we requested a Family Suite with a view and were given a suite on the 14th Flr, which we were very happy with. The 2 bedrooms had floor-to-ceiling windows with great views of the city. The rooms are very comfortably furnished (not overly new or modern, but well maintained), though after 3 nights, I did start to find the bed a little uncomfortable, it is quite firm. Bedroom drapes provide good block-out, something I am particular about. Bedrooms are quiet except for occasional emergency vehicle sirens during the night.
Main bedroom is a good size and with a Queen bed, however 2nd bedroom is a little cramped with 2 Single beds. Both rooms have large built-in robes, chest of drawers, small desk with chair, small flatscreen TV, bedside tables with lamps.
The lounge/kitchenette area is triangular-shaped, containing a couch & lounge chair, small desk & chair, coffee table, small flatscreen TV on a chest of drawers. Lots of lamps for ambient lighting. Kitchenette is basic - a benchtop with sink, small oven, small fridge, microwave, basic crockery, glassware & cutlery (OK for breakfast, not much else). Have to pay for WiFi, $5 for 24hrs (many cafes & restaurants have free WiFi).
Bathroom is fine, a little small: bath (shower in bath), toilet, wide benchtop with basin (no drawers). Hotel toiletries: Shampoo, Conditioner, Soap, Body Lotion - good quality - we were given ample of each item. My only criticism is that the hairdryer urgently need updating, its airflow was weak & barely warm - hopeless! Rooms cleaned daily & towels replaced.
Lobby: 3 spacious elevators. Lobby staff all very friendly & helpful, particularly Andrew at Tourist Info desk. Restrooms in Lobby near Rosie's Restaurant are very clean.
The hotel has a very nice British-style restaurant (Rosie's Restaurant & Bar) located at Ground Level, it has a pleasant ambience, great food, excellent value and free Wi-Fi. However, it is very popular with ice hockey fans before the game starts and can get quite busy & noisy. However, service was great and the ice hockey fans quickly clear out early evening.
Our family thoroughly enjoyed staying at Rosedale's and dining at Rosie's, we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The hotel has 21 floors - ask for a room/suite on a higher floor (we got a Family Suite on the 14th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,262 - 1,266 of 1,658 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed at the Rosedale for a week before flying on to Hawaii. Everything about our stay was superb. The location is perfect for exploring the fantastic city of Vancouver. The suites were spacious and clean, tea and coffee was provided free of charge, the beds comfortable and the staff polite, friendly and helpful. We ate in Rosie's restaurant on a few occasions and found the food and service to be very good and prices reasonable (breakfasts were huge!). I would definitely recommend the Rosedale and will stay there again next time I'm in Vancouver. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: The views from suites on the higher floors are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosedaleGM, General Manager at Rosedale on Robson, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thank you for your kind comments.

Jim Miller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Me and my son stayed here and loved it. Cant talk about food , but the bar is nice, the veiw is amazing. Lover the atmosphere , check in and check out was fast . love it

Room Tip: Make sure you are looking down on robson , just a great veiw , pretty quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davelori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosedaleGM, General Manager at Rosedale on Robson, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thank you for your kind comments.

Jim Miller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Location of this property is fantastic if you are looking to explore downtown Vancouver. The only problem was the staff were not very helpful with directions. My partner and I asked for recommendations for lunch and they didn’t mention any place specifically or even recommend the restaurant attached to the hotel. Why send people away from the hotel restaurant? Later we asked concierge how to access the mall, which is not to far from the hotel, he gave us the wrong directions and we ended up going to another nearby hotel and asked directions and the front desk were more than obliged to direct us in the proper manner.

When they mention free breakfast, do not get your hopes up. There was no place to sit two mornings in a row, which is understandable considering there were maybe 20 seats in the “breakfast room”. Pastries and cereal was all that was offered. We went for the coffee, and two days in a row the same french fries had been in the same spot no one had addressed the mess on the floor.

Housekeeping was fantastic, and the lady who serviced our room was more than pleasant and offered great service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosedaleGM, General Manager at Rosedale on Robson, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thank you for your comments. We know we get busy from time to time in the breakfast room but your comments about only pastries and cereal being available surprises us. Our continental buffet consists of cereal, fresh baked goods, yogurt, fruit cocktail, toast, apple juice and orange juice. Assorted teas and coffees are availble as well.
With regard to the french fry comment, we've looked at the floor checker inspections and we must have missed something.

Yours truly:
Jim Miller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I stayed at the Rosedale several times about a decade ago when it first opened, and back then it was a very pleasant experience. For this recent visit I didn't have a lot of time to research BC hotels so I booked it in reliance on past experience. The Rosedale today is not like what I remembered. On the plus side, the staff was helpful and nice. Hotel is at a good location within walking distance to shops and Robson St. There's a 7-11 across the street so it was easy to run and get things. However, the hotel looks worn and dated. The entire interior can use a facelift. They still use coverlets, which is becoming a thing of the past in many hotels now. Coverlets are just unhygenic. The hair dryer was old. My room had a kitchenette. They provide a gourmet coffee maker with a selection of flavored coffee. However, I noticed that the teapot looked very dirty, and was not sure how well they clean out the coffee maker either, so I did not use either.

It was not a bad stay. But there are so many hotels in BC. It's just that for the same price, there are much better options out there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank probativev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosedaleGM, General Manager at Rosedale on Robson, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are in the process of sprucing up our public areas even though they we just done prior to the Olympics. It is a never ending process. As for the coffee and tea utensils, they are to be cleaned every day so it would appear that we missed something. If you get a chance, would you please email me so that we can review the suite you were in with our Housekeeping Department. Email:jamesm@rosedaleonrobson.com.

Thank you
Jim Miller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedale on Robson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedale on Robson

Address: 838 Hamilton Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6A2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Yaletown & False Creek North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#38 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#45 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $160 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosedale on Robson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the entertainment and sports district, the Rosedale on Robson Suite Hotel offers you comfort and relaxation, with water and mountain views, in a perfect central location. We are a very short walking distance to Rogers Arena, BC Place, the Queen Elizabeth Theatre, the Westside Church, and historic Yaletown, Gastown, Chinatown.Discover fabulous shops and cafes along the way. Choose from our array of one and two bedroom suites with 2 doubles, queen-size and/or king-size beds. Every suite offers the comforts of home with fully equipped galley kitchens for people who love to have that convenience. Need to stay connected? You can access WiFi throughout the hotel. Need to relax? Enjoy our indoor lap pool and whirlpool or find a touch of nature in our second floor garden terrace. Fitness on your mind? The poolside lobby fitness area has treadmills and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Rosedale on Robson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedale Robson
Rosedale On Robson Hotel Vancouver
Rosedale On Robson Vancouver
Rosedale Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing