We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rundown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #45 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Kamloops
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rundown”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

First I'd like to emphasize that every staff member we dealt with was wonderful. But the hotel is really rundown and shabby. The toilet leaked a lot and had to be flushed very carefully or it would not stop flushing and would make a horrendous noise until you removed the lid to the tank and tinkered inside. We were told this was not a new problem. Also, the hot air vent made a really loud sound like a gunshot every so often. During the night, this occurred every 10 minutes until 4:00 a.m. The following day the staff very kindly moved us to a new room where we did not experience these problems. The location is great and so is the staff, but until the facility is upgraded, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BebitaKamloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,186
    1,530
    504
    175
    110
See reviews for
909
1,287
274
505
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We had a great visit. A big room, with 2 double beds and a kitchen - very comfortable for two of us. Good to have a pool. Reception we very friendly and accommodating. We liked the fact that we could opt out of room cleaning and have a voucher for the coffee shop.

And most of all we liked the coffee shop - excellent coffee, porridge in the morning, and gelato.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
british columbia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed two nights recently and were surprised by the extent of the renovations and upgrades that had taken place. This hotel seems to have been around forever, is in a great location (opposite the Wall Centre) and very handy for local buses if you need transit.

Check in was very smooth, staff were polite and helpful. The lobby area is very attractive and stylish. There is a good coffee shop attached to the hotel that has free wifi and is open early. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant.

The rooms have again been tastefully refurbished but are now starting to look a little worn in places, ours came with the kitchenette, small table and couch in a nice open plan space. The bathroom was small though, but in good condition. I really liked the 'spa' toiletries.

My big (no, make that huge) concern though is with noise. We had a really nice room at the front of the hotel overlooking the Wall Centre on the 25th floor which I thought would be perfect. Wrong. In winter with no controllable heating, the rooms were very warm. This necessitated opening the windows the first night and the ambient racket from Burrard Street below was bearable, but the hotel is almost adjacent to St. Paul's Hospital which means (on the friday night) a steady stream of siren blaring ambulances coming and going. It did wake me up constantly, even with ear plugs. One reason for this is due to the structural age of the building - meaning that with or without the windows open, the panes of glass are single glazed and there is very little noise damping. Be warned - an excellent hotel at a great price but if you are sensitive to noise, request a room at the back, or in another town.

Room Tip: Away from the main road and the hospital next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikelmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

OVERALL (awesome) , 89.00/ night with a kitchen, the views are awesome , the whole experince is GREAT- FEB 2012, watch out for the $$$ on hold security dep, it wont get back on the c/card until 3 days later but thats normal :)
the $20/ day food voucher is great,,, nice pool- but no hot tub :(
great location too
we will be back

Room Tip: 20th Floor have awesome views, lots of ROOM :) small bathroom but ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Len B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This hotel is a gem of superb customer service with comfortable clean suites that are centrally located in the core of Vancouver. From a budget traveler that will do their own cooking and laundry to a "pampered' Spa customer this Hotel will impress with personal promt service.

Room Tip: For the budget traveler arriving at the airport the "Skytrain" is $7.50 and the Century Pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clunyjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
2,407 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 89 in Vancouver
1,620 reviews
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#14 of 89 in Vancouver
2,130 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#51 of 89 in Vancouver
784 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#56 of 89 in Vancouver
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: Century Plaza 1015 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#37 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price range (per night): $150 - $976
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Century Plaza Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Century Plaza Hotel & Spa is a landmark destination hot spot right in the centre of downtown Vancouver. From its award winning amenities including a world class spa and comedy club, to the kitchen equipped suites featuring spectacular ocean, mountain and city views, the family owned and operated Century-Plaza Hotel & Spa has implemented sustainable practices such as its 'Green Initiative' Program as well as the 100% Chemical Free Commercial Cleaning System reducing our carbon footprint to provide guests with the wonderful home away from home ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Century Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Plaza Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing