We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Ranked #50 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome stay!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Was checked in by the General Manger, Rick, who was hard at work on a sunny Sunday afternoon. What an awesome person! He gave us a fantastic rate and the room was superb with all amenties we needed along with a king size bed. The hotel is a botique style property that meets the PLUS standards. Highly recommend this property to all travellers be it business or pleasure. Your stay will be a memorable one with the fantastic staff and level of service we experienced also. This property is very close to all transit services and a within walking distance to Rogers Arena or BC Place. When you visit Vancouver make sure you check out the Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and all you have to do is make a request and the staff will do their utmost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    383
    145
    21
    19
See reviews for
222
319
74
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Armstrong, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

the people at the desk were very friendly and helpfull especially at giving directions for places in Vancouver. price of the room was very good considering being in Vancouver. rooms are odd shapes because of hotel design. really like the tall ceilings. found parking stalls limited and quite small

Room Tip: try to get one facing the north to see the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bullpasture5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
270 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Absolutely recommend this hotel if you’re looking for somewhere in the vicinity of Vancouver General Hospital. Our room was smaller than at some other Best Westerns we’ve stayed at but didn’t feel in any way cramped, and we had everything we needed – very comfortable bed and pillows, good wifi signal, microwave and fridge (both available on request) and free underground parking (for Vancouver, that’s a bit of a find). The rates are very reasonable, especially for somewhere so close to downtown.

I was a little worried that being on the ground floor, our room might be noisy, but we heard no sounds from inside or outside the hotel. The room had a double door off the corridor; the space between the outer and inner doors probably absorbed any sounds from guests using the corridor. And our window was actually well above street level, providing privacy and quiet. The ground-floor rooms overlook a back street that has virtually no traffic.

A continental breakfast is included. We try to eat gluten free, sometimes a challenge with hotel breakfasts, so we were pleased to find the selection included oatmeal, yogurt, egg patties/omelets, bananas and apples. Also discovered a gluten-free bakery called Mygoodness just a two-minute walk away at 235 East Broadway, and around the corner from it, the Wallflower Modern Diner at 2420 Main Street, which has gluten-free options. The Salt and Pepper Grill and Bar next door to the hotel serves tasty food and gives a 10% discount on presentation of your room key. And there are countless restaurants and coffee shops within easy walking distance.

The Kingsgate Mall is just across the street from the hotel. It has a supermarket, pharmacy and numerous other stores.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripsterchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Close enough to Vancouver General hopsital that we could walk there. Also right across from a little mall with a grocery store so location was great. Man at check in totally hates his job. We requested a fourth floor room, he wanted to put us on third floor. My husband said as long as it's quiet. He didn't respond, we found out after we got the key that he did put us on the fourth floor so I don't know what the problem was. We did have the smallest room on that floor because of the design of the hotel. We had to rearrange the furniture just to get by the bed. Parking is tight but secure. Breakfast room was also tight. If they took out a table, it would be better.

Room Tip: Stay away from the ice machine, there are no doors on the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenArmstrong_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I usually use Priceline to score 4 star hotels in Vancouver; and, during this time of the year, you can usually get a great deal.

I tried a couple times to score a room for the 70-80 dollar range with Priceline. Then I thought about it: Yes, the 4 star hotels generally have beautiful rooms. But they are downtown and I would have to pay for parking and internet. That would bump up my daily room price to 120 dollars a night (including the taxes and fees of PL). That's 30 dollars toward a good meal in Vancouver!

So, I decided to look elsewhere. This Best Western is in the Mount Pleasant neighborhood - filled with great restaurants and shops on Main, Broadway, and Kingsway. I am kind at the phase of my Vancouver traveling, that I'm not too interested in going downtown. From this hotel, you can walk Broadway and catch the 99 bus to Kits, or Granville or you can walk to the waterfront.

The best perk is that it comes with free parking. The first morning, I woke up, looked out my window, and saw a classic Vancouver smash and grab-broken car window. Their parking is very secure but small.

Free internet!

They also have a nice free continental breakfast - my only complaint is that the coffee in the room tasted better than the coffee they served. Luckily, there is a good coffee shop on Main street just one block away.

I would also suggest getting a room not on the first floor. We paid their rockbottom internet prices, so I wasn't surprised that we were on the first floor. It wasn't too bad until the Saturday night-hustle woke me up a couple of times. But, our room was clean, and that is the most important to me!

Room Tip: Try to get a room NOT on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KimbertEyestain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#57 of 90 in Vancouver
840 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson on Broadway
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#36 of 90 in Vancouver
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#48 of 90 in Vancouver
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Address: 205 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 3J5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > South Main , Mt. Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#42 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price range (per night): $146 - $420
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***PLEASE BE ADVISED THE LOT TO THE IMMEDIATE SOUTH OF THE HOTEL IS CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION*** We expect disruptions during the day time through out the excavation period. Thank you, Dave Stevens Assistant General Manager Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotelopia and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing