We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carmana Plaza”
Review of Carmana Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carmana Plaza
Ranked #42 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
St. Lawrence. Newfoundland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Carmana Plaza”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed here for three weeks. Staff very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping service top notch. Had the opportunity of sampling two types of accommodation. Standard with King bed excellent - comfortable furniture and great amenities. Executive with Queen bed - great room with extra space but prefer non leather furniture and carpet in the Standard. Views from both rooms brilliant. Main shopping street from one room and harbour and mountains from the other. Close to all restaurants, shops and attractions.

Room Tip: North facing rooms offer nicer views of the mountains and harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    180
    21
    4
    12
See reviews for
155
159
28
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Great location of the hotel. stunning views outside, overlooking to the city. Great accommodation and amenities. Friendly staffs and very helpful. Everything you need is always assist by their staff. Feel like home. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alfredcunha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We recently stayed at the Carmana Plaza in Vancouver. There were 5 of us and the two bedroom apartments were plenty big enough. The apartments are well located close to Robson Street and are within walking distance to Gastown etc. They are very clean and tidy and having a fully equipped kitchen is great for breakfasts and even dinner if you don't want to eat out all the time. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again when we next visit Vancouver.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 57Babs57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, MB
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Stayed at the Carmana Plaza in the CARMANA SUITE •One bedroom Suite with 1 queen bed in master bedroom. Excellent suite with a great view from the balcony.
Very clean and quiet. The grocery store(Urban Fare)- is excellent-more than a grocery store- also has meals available. Had breakfast each morning.
Highly recommend staying.....

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Walkingthebeach66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This was our first accommodation on a tour of Western Canada and, after a long flight and an even longer queue at passport control at Vancouver airport, was a very welcome sight. We travelled in an extended family group and my husband, 11 year old daughter and I shared a one bedroom suite. Spotlessly clean, very comfortable beds (my daughter's was a sofabed in the living room area and she got into it at 5pm the day we arrived and slept soundly til 7am the next day - even while we cooked and ate around her!) Bathroom does not have a window but that's not unsusual. Floor to ceiling windows everywhere else making it bright and airy and some lovely views through the tall buildings to Grouse Mountain. Some traffic noise at night from the street below but nothing to bother you (I am a light sleeper and noise bothers me greatly!)

A huge deli across the road provided us with most of our food for eating in (quite expensive though!). Kitchen fine for cooking most things. Great restaurants right on your doorstep and an off-license just 2 minutes away selling a huge variety of wines (For UK travellers who might not know, alcohol is not sold in supermarkets so don't be put off having to go to an 'offy' - it really is not at all sleazy) Dining room in our suite was a bit of a 'goldfish bowl' - right up against the window and surrounded by glass. However, our other party were in a 2 bed suite with a much larger living area and dining at night with them was easy - we were able to squeeze 7 around their table.

Perfect position to meet the shuttle buses a few minutes away to take you up Capilano and Grouse and easy walking distance to the harbour for floatplanes etc. About a 20 minute walk to Stanley Park - which if you do visit, hire some bikes and go around their cycle route - it's great fun and really safe. Plus the aquarium is defintely worth a visit. Beluga whales up so close you could reach out and touch them!

Although this suite hotel does not have any restaurant/bar facilities this is not in the least bit problematic. We found we saved vast amounts of time (and money) having breakfast in our suites, and restaurants are moments away for other meals. There are also lots of takeway facilities nearby that will deliver directly to your door. Really friendly staff on the front desk and the bellboy(?) made helpful suggestions about where to eat and get takeaways from.

A great base - not too expensive, comparitively, and just what you need - clean, comfortable and modern with excellent wifi to boot. Not luxurious but not 3 star either!

No parking which made it a little difficult when we collected our hire cars for onward journey to Jasper, but with military precision we managed to ensure bags and all members of our little group were ready by the kerb and the lovely bell boy helped us again.

Would definitely stay there if visiting Vancouver again and definitely recommend for anyone who's visting Vancouver as a holiday maker. There is so much to do in Vancouver, you won't want to spend much time at your hotel.

Room Tip: One bed suites are fine if you are travelling with 1-2 children as they go on a large sofa bed and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wishing3467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,568 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,557 reviews
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmana Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmana Plaza

Property: Carmana Plaza
Address: 1128 Alberni St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#25 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price range (per night): $160 - $374
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmana Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carmana Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmana Plaza Vancouver
Carmana Plaza Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing