We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Iszak
Wollongong, Australia

Only go if you like the colour red.

Review of Moda Hotel
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Feb 2019via mobile
Negative: The walls, the carpet, the furnishing were all red. It was a little bit off putting. You can hear the people in rooms around you even just talking (especially above you). There was damage to our room and the skirtings in the bathroom were off the wall. Don’t stay here if you’re looking for anything lux.

Positive: GREAT LOCATION- minutes walk from Yaletown which has amazing food. Pretty much in the centre of everything.
Great stay if you are looking for something relatively cheap but in a GREAT location.
We complained about the noise of the hotel and the staff tried to do whatever they could for us. Very helpful and gave us a morning call to make sure we were getting ready for our flight.
Date of stay: February 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
E6160RTandreas, Owner at Moda Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 7 Mar 2019
Good afternoon ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are a chic , European style boutique hotel.
Red is definitely one of the Main Moda hotel colours, as per our photo's. We do have some rooms that are painted different colours , but all of the carpet and many of our bathrooms are red.

If you are bothered by the colour red than are standard rooms would not be a great fit. If you were looking for something more luxurious and not Red, i would suggest of one of our suites, the Vita Kings or Our Moda Series suites.

Warmest Regards,

Andrea
Moda Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$534
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from Moda Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$516
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from Moda Hotel
Free Wifi
Exterior
AU$519
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from Moda Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$546
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Moda Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$553
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Moda Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$417
  • Booking.com
0.6 km from Moda Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Fairmont
    AU$597
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Moda Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Westin.com
    AU$580
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from Moda Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$577
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from Moda Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
DSC
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • BestWestern.com
    AU$357
  • Booking.com
8.3 km from Moda Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Vancouver
Reviews (1,169)
Filter reviews
1,170 results
Traveller rating
224
488
299
88
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
224
488
299
88
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location rooms are small an older hotel front desk staff coffee maker heart of downtown granville island concert cruise alaska
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 1,170 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2019

Front Desk people, Aiden in particular, was excellent. He would try to get us a cab and then haul my wheel chair and help load. he was very helpful. Room Stewards were great; did an efficient job in our lovely room. Not high end but certainly comfortable. front area was clean, comfortable.... a nice way to watch the corner happen. Seymore and Smythe... a busy area that was great people watching.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JACQUELINE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
E6160RTandreas, Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2019

Good afternoon Jacqueline,

Thank you for allowing us to be your home away from. Were ecstatic that you enjoy the hotel and all we have to offer in Vancouver. Were looking forward to serving you in the near future!

Regards,

Andrea
Moda Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2019 via mobile

The hotel itself was great, the room was nice and the bed was comfortable. Initially the staff was very helpful and friendly... but then we had our vehicle broken into in their very secure area of a public parkade.... they completely washed their hands of us at that point! Their reaction was so nonchalant that they obviously have vehicles broken into on a regular basis! It's unbelievable that they haven't upgraded their security in any way or at least offer some kind of compensation to their guests. Even when you say 'there's no way in hell I'll come back to your hotel after that' there is no reaction, they don't care period... it's too bad because it started out as a great stay. But left it horrible taste in my mouth. We won't return!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
E6160RTandreas, Owner at Moda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2019

Good afternoon Kerry,

I'm really sorry this happened to you while staying with us. The front desk staff is very helpful in all situations. The front desk staff would have been limited on what they could have done to help.

However if you were looking for compensation, we do not compensate for vehicles that are broken into either parking on the street or in west park.

We would have contacted west park to get them to reverse the charge.

The hotel does not own west park parking lot. We provide west park with a high volume of patrons and in return they give our guests a discounted rate and a designated floor to park.

We are aware that break ins happen every were in downtown Vancouver. We try to do our best by stressing to all of our guests not to leave anything in their vehicles, regardless of where they have parked.

I know personally, how horrible this is to happen. I'm truly sorry that it did. Unfortunately we are trying our best to prevent this from happening buy having nothing left in vehicles to steal or draw the attention of thefts.

If you do choose to come back please ask to speak to a manger and we will give you a great deal on your next stay.

Regards,

Moda Hotel Management



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2019

I really appreciated this hotel. The rooms are renovated and have the rare and amazing architecture that means no sounds heard from hallways or outside, ensuring a peaceful and quiet rest.
The staff here are filled with knowledge and are very friendly. The rooms and common areas were immaculately clean. Highly recommend this location.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leesa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2019 via mobile

Moda isn’t fancy, doesn’t have all the amenities of the large hotels. However, our suite was well appointed with the nicest rain head shower I’ve ever experienced. Rooms are well insulated, which is good since it’s on a busy city street. Best of all were the staff. We encountered a slight snafu with a broken elevator (our room was across the street from the main hotel building). There was a delay in us being able to get up to our room when we returned after a late night out. The manager was so apologetic, worked as quickly as he could to fix the situation, and even provided us with a free breakfast and late check out at 2pm. He couldn’t have done anymore to turn the situation around and we sincerely appreciated it!

We ate breakfast at Cibu, and watched the NFL playoff game and had lunch at the Red Card sports bar. Both had good food and friendly service.

We’ll definitely be back!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kristieshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2019

The historic Moda Hotel was a perfect spot downtown for us when we were visiting Vancouver BC! We stayed two nights there: Dec 17th & 18th. The staff was so nice, friendly, and helpful. The room is old but quaint, but we had really no major complaints. The heater wasn't working correctly (it was 84 degrees F when we got there!) so we had to call the front desk. A maintenance guy came up right away and tried to fix it. They offered to move us to a different room (an upgrade!) - that was very nice to offer! We declined, though, and they brought us a free-standing heater and also a fan. It turned out we never needed the heater at all! The windows opened out to the street which was cool. The interior of the building was definitely "antique" - some unique designs and fixtures can be seen. We definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there again!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank julaPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews