We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location + wonderful staff = an amazing trip”
Review of The Burrard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Burrard
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    690
    171
    56
    34
See reviews for
245
705
252
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night on our way through Vancouver. We chose this hotel as it was the best hotel we could find that wouldn't cost us $200 and up for a night. We were pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The hotel was clean, well kept and our room was newly renovated and came with an espresso machine and free bottled water. The down side to being in downtown Vancouver is that it's noisy at night but that's to be expected. The hotel has a retro vibe that my husband and I loved and everything was done very tastefully. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for families with children or seniors, it's definitely for the younger crowd. The hotel also has some great perks such as cruiser bikes that you can sign out free of charge. Parking is $20 dollars a night and you have to park across the street at a secure parkade if they run out of space. We would stay here again if we were passing through Vancouver.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room that was not right on one of the main roads if you are worried about city noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeautyForAshes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We had a very disappointing stay at this hotel. There was a stag going on a few doors down and everyone was yelling until all hours. We called the front desk 3 times to control the situation. The last time we told them to either do something or move us to another hotel. Finally they did something. Otherwise it is a convenient location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDiva62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dani P, Manager at The Burrard, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Our apologies for the inconvenience. Noise complaints are among the most difficult to manage at hotels, particularly when alcohol and celebrations are mixed in. It often takes more than one discussion with noisy groups to get them down to an acceptable volume. It’s our goal to ensure a restful comfortable stay for all our guests and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us.
--Dani Pretto
General Manager. The Burrard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

Spent 5 nights here and had a great time. One of the more reasonably priced hotels in the area, a really easy booking process. Check in was a breeze,staff were very friendly and helpfull throughout. The lift was being repaired during my stay but didn't matter because the porter carried my bags for me and my own legs can climb stairs! The retro decor was cool,made me happy to be in a funky environment. The location of the hotel is great,only moments away from all the downtown fun! I took advantage of the free cycles,even they were super cool! A great way to experience the sea wall and beautiful parks! A great breakfast can be found just round the corner on Davie street at Joes.A funky bar/restaurant would be a winner here!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DJL73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed at this place for 5 evenings, there are good and bads, and I will try to summarize them here for your reference.

I visited Vancouver in March time, which is great, managed to catch some sunny days during this trip, which is a great experience by itself. When I arrived the hotel, the check-in process was ok, nothing particular. However, I later found out the elevator is not working (some building concent issues I later found out) so that you have to climb the stairs everyday. The room is great, stylish with nice capsule coffee supplied. Good size LCD TV, clean, nice bathroom, a bit small, but not uncomfortable at all. So this makes up for the bad experience I had from the elevator incident.

However, the housekeeping is really terrible, which is what made my rating for this hotel is so low. During the entire duration of my stay, they did not replace my sheets nor re-supply my shower ammendies etc. It said they will change sheets every 2nd day, but for the whole time I stayed, they did not change it for me. As for ammendies, they did not replace them at all. So it's like no shampoo, no soap, not even tissue. I had to call everytime to get them, and it is always when you need it and you realized that they are not there, which made the experience really inconvenient.

If not the poor housekeeping experience, I would give a 4 or 5 star rating.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtai010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dani P, General Manager at The Burrard, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
We’re very disappointed to hear of your unsatisfactory stay at the Burrard. We have used your review as an opportunity to refresh expectations and policies with our housecleaning staff to ensure that your experience will not be repeated—amenities are to be replenished daily, sheets and towels changed a minimum of every 2nd day, depending on guest instructions. Please accept our apologies.

We’re very pleased to announce that our new elevator is now installed and running. We apologize for the inconvenience caused but are very excited that guests will be able to experience years of trouble-free service from this newly-installed equipment.

Dani Pretto, General Manager, The Burrard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,128 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
684 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burrard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burrard

Property: The Burrard
Address: 1100 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y7, Canada (Formerly Burrard Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#43 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price range (per night): $124 - $1,619
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burrard 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its signature garden courtyard and retro West Coast style, the Burrard is situated in one of downtown Vancouver’s best locations – just minutes from Granville Street, Davie Street, Robson Street, Yaletown, Granville Island and the city’s breathtaking 22-kilometre seawall. Having recently undergone a multi-million dollar renovation, the Burrard’s rooms have been completely redesigned with premium furnishings, sparkling new bathrooms and an impressive list of in-room amenities including 42” HD flatscreens, free wireless, free North American calling, in-suite espresso machines, bar fridges and more. Guests of the hotel are also welcome to complimentary hotel amenities including free bike rentals, a fully equipped business station and passes to Steve Nash Fitness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Burrard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Motor Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing