We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,681)
Filter reviews
1,681 results
Traveller rating
523
748
275
96
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
523
748
275
96
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stanley park davie street bayside lounge great location english bay beach west end street noise sea wall an older hotel would stay here again top floor bus stop front desk staff tim hortons granville island hotel restaurant lots of restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 1,681 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018

You can't go wrong here. The staff is professional, quick and pleasant ... and you're right across the road from the sand on English Bay. There are so many restaurants in the area, you'll not want to leave. And you most certainly don't need a car here!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank janehurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello

Thank You for the review of The Best Western Plus Sands. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel's location to be excellent right across from English Bay. It sounds that you did some exploring of Denman street and Robson street as well and found all the unique restaurants in the area. I will pass along your compliments to the staff. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Clean and comfortable rooms, friendly staff, great location. The bar was lively with pretty good food. The room I was in was mostly newly renovated, except it desperately needed a new bathtub. Thankfully the shower head was good!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Hello

Thank You for the review of The Best Western Plus Sands. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the bar and hotel. I am glad you liked the newly renovated rooms. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

The hotel is clean and well presented. It looks a little vintage in places, but is a lovely hotel.

We arrived on Saturday night and it was a little rowdy on our floor in the early hours of the morning with people who had clearly been out drinking. This gave us a terrible first impression - but then the rest of the week, it was perfect. So we forgave the Saturday night indiscretion.

We had a room on the fourth floor and could see the English Bay clearly from our room, it was a beautiful view - one of my favourite things about the hotel. There was also a Tim Horton's right across the street, which is always a bonus :)

Stanley Park is a short walk away - we rented bikes from the shop across the road - really friendly staff and we would recommend using them for your bike rentals.

The hotel is conveniently located for buses - you have the no 5 that takes you downtown and the no 6 that takes you down Davie street. If you cross the road and walk up Davie street for around 5 minutes, you can get your tickets from a London Drug Store - its easy enough to get a day pass and then you can ride around all zones all day.

The hotel staff were really friendly, could not fault them at all. A lovely bunch of people. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room tip: The higher the better. Davie street is not a quiet street.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mtvesuvio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello

Thank You for the review of the Best western Plus Sands hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel minus the noise from Saturday. We do have hotel security on till 4 AM to help alleviate this issue. I am glad you found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The tips you provided were great. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

The hotel is older, but is quite nice. We had a couple of minor issues with the room we were first assigned, and the staff immediately moved us to another room, even helping me re- pack and move. Thank you for that.

Speaking of the staff, I can’t think of a more helpful, friendly group.

Noise from Davie street can be an issue at night. Get a high room if you are on that side.

The wi-fi was very good, but this is low season and the hotel was not very full. The usual security precautions that go with public wi-fi apply especially here, since the network is not secured at all.

It was brutally cold by Vancouver standards during our visit and modulating the heat was something of a challenge, but we figured it out. The small space heater in the room helped a lot.

We chose the bed and breakfast option and consider it worth the extra cost. The breakfast menu is short, but the four options were good and coffee/tea is included.

The location is near the corner of Davie and Denman, and a bus stop is right across the street, as is a Tim Horton’s. You can use public transport to get to/from the airport - one bus ride and transfer to the skytrain. Very easy and way cheaper than the taxi. I would only take a taxi if I had tons of luggage to carry. As it is, a carry-on and my computer bag were easy to manage.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank davidinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello

Thank You for the review of the Sands. It is great to hear you found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. I am glad you took advantage of the bed and breakfast, It is a good deal and our breakfast is continually evolving. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

Though far from nearest train station, it is very close to Stanley park and English bay. Hotel is dated but relatively well maintained. Located in west end Vancouver, it is close to restaurants and fast food places. There’s a bus which takes you to downtown Vancouver and take about 10 minutes.

If arriving from the airport, take the Canada Line to Yaletown roundhouse station($4.10 one way)and then take a taxi to the hotel ($10)

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 36joycet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello

Thank You for The review of The Best Western Plus Sands. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel well maintained. We have recently renovated the living part of our rooms and are looking to continue with the renovations next fall. we look forward to seeing you on the next trip to Vancouver and having you see what we do next.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews