We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveller rating
306
9
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
9
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews commercial drive wonderful hosts fresh cookies lovely home stocked fridge complimentary snacks each afternoon comfortable bed breakfast is served fluffy towels yogurt hire car wonderful stay felt like home public transportation vancouver island stayed for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 319 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2017

While visiting nearby family, we stayed in Joey's Retreat - perfect! Coded entry allowed for fluid in and out. King bed was most comfortable. A beautifully kept home. We definitely plan to visit again, even if just for the daily sweet treats!

Room Tip: Joey's Retreat suited our purposes perfectly - we could do self catered breakfast, return in evening to relax with a cup of tea.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Bee & Thistle and had a wonderful time. I came for both work and reunion with a friend. The Bee and Thistle was the perfect location. I loved being on The Drive, close to wonderful shopping, great restaurants and easy transit options. Lynn and Michael were gracious hosts, eager to help but also understanding of privacy. The home is beautiful and well maintained. I highly recommend staying here, a nice change from a hotel.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

The Bee & Thistle aims for perfection—and hosts Lynn and Michael’s aim is very good. From our immaculate and beautifully decorated room (Ivy’s Room)—airy, spacious, comfortably contemporary in a home more than 100 years old—to the delicious freshly baked cookies that arrived in our room each afternoon and the genuine hospitality Lynn and Michael extended, it exceeded our notoriously high expectations. There was also the bonus of nearby Commercial Drive, convenient for strolling, shopping, cafes, and restaurants. We hope there’s a chance to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Moe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We stayed in Ivy's room which has a King sized bed. Nice touches were the in room computer; complimentary snacks in the fridge; etc. Unfortunately, my husband found a grey sock under the bed skirt. We don't wear grey socks. Other than that, everything was very good.

Room Tip: I have stayed in Molly's room and now Ivy's room. I would say that Molly's room is small for 2 people and Ivy's is a good size.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Joey's Retreat in the Bee and Thistle was a lovely modern lower level suite, complete with kitchen, laundry and bath. The owners were extremely helpful, even to the point of loaning us a GPS when ours failed. The binder of information was detailed and coordinated well with nearby Commercial Street with its stores, buses and restaurants. The homemade cookies were delicious and the snacks substantial and generous. We enjoyed the the ambience of the beautiful residential neighbourhood from the second story deck. A bonus was, that it was close to our son's place.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank dnnmathies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews