We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food is Amazing!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oysi Oysi

Oysi Oysi
Ranked #545 of 3,677 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Food is Amazing!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

The food at Oysi Oysi is amazing, I staff are really friendly.
Downfall would be that the food comes out in different stages and not at the same time, but I find that is typical of Japanese restaurants.
The sushi here is to die for.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    43
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monster, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
255 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, interior could use an update”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Great food ! Good nigiri sushi, great rolls, loved the green tea. The service is great and fast. Surely a good place to go to. I had lunch overhere.

The only remark would be the interior which is a little bit outdated and the smell when you come in, it is not stinking but it does not smell really fresh either.

But that didn't bother me terribly as the food is to die for ! Next time i am also going to try all the other items like tempura, terriyaki and the like. The table next to me ordered these things and it looked fabulous as well.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aliceesjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
111 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great food, nice service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

I was visiting Vancouver and I went to Oysi Oysi based on the recommendations of Trip Adivisor. The owner of the restaurant came to our table and helped us making great suggestions. We had a wonderful salmon sashimi with a exotic sauce and avocato. I higly recommend this restaurant.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AbelardoFragaJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

I was a repeated customer of Oysi Oysi during my few business trips to Vancouver, and I was always a satisfied customer. The food was always fresh, the selection wide, and for excellent price/value. Its price is just a little higher than the run-of-the-mill cheap sushi joints, but the food is of high-end restaurant quality. Highly recommended.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank BoywonderTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great sushis!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We visited this restaurant in July 2011. The food and service were great! We had a selection of a la carte sushi and the server recommended the tempura unagi roll which was fantastic! We also really enjoyed the Albacore tuna and salmon sashimis. We highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucianozab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oysi Oysi also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Oysi Oysi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing