We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Quirky Place!”
Review of Granville Island

Granville Island
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 12.24*
and up
Vancouver AquaBus Ferry Ticket
Ranked #2 of 311 things to do in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Former industrial site has been transformed into an artsy, posh neighborhood with quaint shops, cafes and bookstores.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Went over on the little False Creeek Ferry, lots of lovely little shops. The market is superb, the stalls are so beautifully set out and the food market is ‘mouth watering’. You have so many different types of food to choose from and at a reasonable price. There are tables to sit and eat your purchases although it was difficult to get a seat as it was so busy but people were finding all sorts of places to sit and eat! If you visit Vancouver, Granville is a must!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Nannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17,420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"public market"
in 1,535 reviews
"food market"
in 571 reviews
"farmers market"
in 435 reviews
"great market"
in 417 reviews
"kids market"
in 311 reviews
"craft shops"
in 225 reviews
"fresh produce"
in 519 reviews
"indoor market"
in 221 reviews
"water taxi"
in 626 reviews
"street performers"
in 241 reviews
"baked goods"
in 207 reviews
"art galleries"
in 271 reviews
"fun place to visit"
in 154 reviews
"few hours"
in 541 reviews
"false creek"
in 525 reviews
"a great place to spend"
in 152 reviews
"walk around"
in 207 reviews
Filter

1,713 - 1,717 of 17,420 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

Go! Granville Island has a little bit of everything: incredible market, excellent food vendors, gorgeous shops, fun street talent and incredible views. Be sure to take a water bus!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank mpowell0727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed in downtown Vancouver (Four Seasons) for a week over Spring break. We heard about this place a decided to spend a few hours there. It’s about a $10 or $12 taxi ride from hotel and only takes about 10 minutes to get there.

There’s a Public Market there and all sorts of shops - some that are kitschy and some that are very cool with crafts from local artisans. There’s lots of places to grab quick food in the Public Market (fruits, vegetables, homemade doughnuts, desserts, cheese, etc.). If you want a good sit down meal, we were told by a few locals to go to either the Sandbar or the Dockside Restaurant in the Granville Island Hotel. We tried the latter and I would give 4 stars - great service and view of False Creek (really a small inlet bay with boat docks and kayaking).

Overall, definitely worth the trip (check weather and bring umbrella, as needed). I’ve included a map of the island pic provided by our concierge. Enjoy!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Changeforapenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

There are many shops, restaurants, and galleries you can enjoy for a whole day :D
I sometimes go to Granville Island to see the port and enjoy some foods.
I definitely recommend you guys!!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Sunny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

I love going to the market. The food is amazing - both to eat and to buy to take home. There are all kinds of wonderful art galleries. I especially love Circle Craft. And there is nothing better than buying a tea and a pastry from Terra Breads and sitting outside watching the boats go by.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Janemccall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Granville Island also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Granville Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing