We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2006

We stayed at the Westin Bayshore for 3 nights at the tail end of our BC vacation. We had both fallen ill and were not up to much by the time we arrived in Vancouver. The front desk staff upgraded us to a room on the top floor of the main building with a view to the east of Stanley Park and headlands. The housekeeping staff were very accomodating and sympathetic and really treated us well. I don't know why people complained about the service in some of the older reviews, we found everyone from the front desk staff to the housekeepers and valets to be gracious, friendly hosts.

The room was well outfitted with the Heavenly Bed and Shower and there was a comfy chair and ottoman in addition to the desk and chairs. The decor was tasteful, but the views were spectacular out of the floor to ceiling windows. The bathroom was a bit small, but the hotel's exterior suggests that it is an older property. You wouldn't be able to tell by the interior, however. The room was fabulous!

We did get out for some air once or twice and enjoyed the location on the waterfront. The hotel's is well situated - on the outskirts of the CBD - 15 minutes leisurely walk to the the corner of Robeson and Burrard.

I stay in deluxe properties all the time and found this one to be on par with most in terms of facilties and location, but above average in terms of service and graciousness. The hotel lacked the attitude associated with Fairmont properties.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank wtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,960 - 2,964 of 3,196 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2006

We booked 3 rooms using Hotwire - got a great deal of $104 per night (before HW fees).

We were staying in Vancouver for one night after a cruise, and we did not have a car so we wanted something close to restaurants and the airport. The Westin did not disappoint! It only took 10 minutes by taxi from the Canada Place cruise terminal ($6)

Unfortunately, the rooms were not ready when we arrived around 10 am. It was understandable since it was way before check-in. The only complaint we had is that the clerk didn’t even check for availability. He just said “no, check is at 3. Nothing is available now.” We were skeptical since he didn’t even check the computer.

Anyway, we checked our bags with the Bellman and explored the city. Stanley Park is right there at the Westin, and is a beautiful park. We walked about 1.5 KM, then hopped on the free shuttle through the rest of the park.

We returned to the hotel around 1, and our rooms were still not ready. We left 1 member of our group resting in the lobby (not feeling well), and walked to Robson Street and Gastown. Both were interesting for window shopping and last-minute souvenir shopping.

We returned to the Westin at 3:30. Finally, our rooms were ready. We had 3 rooms next to each other on the 8th floor of the North Tower (801, 802, 803). Not a good view (overlooked the roof of another building), but the rooms were spacious and comfortable. The beds were VERY comfortable, and we were very happy to have nice robes in the room. We looked at the pools (one indoor and one outdoor) and the gym. Both looked very nice, but we were too tired to use them.

We arranged with the bellman to have van taxi’s at 5:15 the next morning (our flight was at 7:30 am). The taxi’s showed up at 5:10, and we were at the airport by 5:40 am ($30). We highly recommend the hotel – it was within walking distance to lots of nice places, and is a beautiful (albeit expensive) hotel.

Note: It was not necessary to exchange US dollars for Canadian dollars. Taxi’s accepted US dollars, as did every shop we visited. Change was not available in US dollars.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank flyerfan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2006

I notice that this hotel is getting some poor reviews, but we enjoyed our post cruise stay here, helped mainly because we really liked Vancouver.
We were given a marina view room, the bedroom sliding glass doors open to reveal a beautiful view right from your bedroom, far better than a balcony ever could. You can even lie on the bed and watch TV while enjoying the view.
Westin's featured beds and linen are a dream.
Location is perfect. We walked around the marina into Stanley Park. English Bay is only a ten minute walk, so too is the city center. Rent bikes two blocks inland. Restaurants around the bay and in the back streets. Travel center in the hotel booked our trip to Capilano Suspension bridge and the Skyride Gondola to the top of Grouse Mountain right from the hotel.
Reception staff were "starchy". Lobby has no atmosphere. Dining/drinking options in the hotel very pricey, breakfast $25. Bathrooms on the small side. Hotel is very expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gabirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2006

We have stayed at the Bayshore in the past, and it has always been great. This year, we checked in during a Vancouver heat-wave in order to give ourselves, and our children, a nice break.
Here are the problems we encountered:

1. Our suite was not ready when we arrived
2. The lady at the front desk informed us that there was no
food served pool-side. None. I asked if I could bring a cold drink and was told "no". We were stunned, as we were starved and had to wait for our suite to be cleaned. Turned out, she was
dead wrong, which was very disturbing and unprofessional
3. Our children's cots were not set up, as was requested
4. Despite being 90-degrees, there were only TWO umbrellas
by the poolside. I was practically in tears and my husband had
to borrow umbrellas from the restaurant which caused quite a
commotion. The restaurant manager agreed that it was absurd
and dangerous to have no umbrellas in such intense heat
5. The poolside tables & chairs are cheap plastic, the service
is very slow, and the poor staff are expected to wear clothing that is ridiculous - long pants, no hats, etc. It was painful to watch
6. Poolside staff was inadequate - tables were piled with dirty
plates and glasses
7. There are no pool toys available - bring your own
8. There was no kettle in the room to make tea and it took
nearly half an hour to have one brought to the room
9. Our bill was wrong and we had to wrangle with the manager
The Bayshore is beautiful but currently, it is badly
managed, which is a real shame.

3  Thank lepage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2006

We were very disappointed with this hotel. We were upgraded to a deluxe tower room with harbor view, but even then the room was very small with a tiny bathroom. The hotel is in serious need of a renovation. They nickel and dime you on everything, despite being quite costly. When we phoned down for a late checkout, we were told that it would be at a rate of $50 an hour, despite the hotel not being full the next night. (We subsequently went to ask at the front desk and were very quickly given one for free). The restaurants are unbelievably overpriced. The inside pool room was quite cold - everyone was getting out shivering. As we keep saying, this experience is enough to make you not want to stay in a Westin again. We won't be.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank VacationingProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
3,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
3,475 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,010 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Address: 1601 Bayshore Dr, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $203 - $678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Coal Harbour, overlooking historic 1,000-acre Stanley Park via its picturesque seawall and the North Shore Mountains, the hotel offers you the best of both worlds: an invigorating urban lifestyle and a relaxing resort-like experience. The hotel's 499 spacious guest rooms and suites feature stunning views over the water and the city. Our location on the water is unparalleled and will provide you with a one-of-a-kind West Coast experience, with downtown's thriving epicenter just blocks away and a variety of nearby shops, restaurants and cafes. The resort-inspired property features Vida Wellness full service spa, indoor and outdoor pools, and a pleasing variety of restaurants and lounges. Signature offerings include the Westin Heavenly Bed and Bath, WestinWORKOUT and RunWESTIN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Bayshore Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing