We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and view.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Ranked #23 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 3 August 2006

I notice that this hotel is getting some poor reviews, but we enjoyed our post cruise stay here, helped mainly because we really liked Vancouver.
We were given a marina view room, the bedroom sliding glass doors open to reveal a beautiful view right from your bedroom, far better than a balcony ever could. You can even lie on the bed and watch TV while enjoying the view.
Westin's featured beds and linen are a dream.
Location is perfect. We walked around the marina into Stanley Park. English Bay is only a ten minute walk, so too is the city center. Rent bikes two blocks inland. Restaurants around the bay and in the back streets. Travel center in the hotel booked our trip to Capilano Suspension bridge and the Skyride Gondola to the top of Grouse Mountain right from the hotel.
Reception staff were "starchy". Lobby has no atmosphere. Dining/drinking options in the hotel very pricey, breakfast $25. Bathrooms on the small side. Hotel is very expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gabirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,061 - 3,065 of 3,298 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2006

We have stayed at the Bayshore in the past, and it has always been great. This year, we checked in during a Vancouver heat-wave in order to give ourselves, and our children, a nice break.
Here are the problems we encountered:

1. Our suite was not ready when we arrived
2. The lady at the front desk informed us that there was no
food served pool-side. None. I asked if I could bring a cold drink and was told "no". We were stunned, as we were starved and had to wait for our suite to be cleaned. Turned out, she was
dead wrong, which was very disturbing and unprofessional
3. Our children's cots were not set up, as was requested
4. Despite being 90-degrees, there were only TWO umbrellas
by the poolside. I was practically in tears and my husband had
to borrow umbrellas from the restaurant which caused quite a
commotion. The restaurant manager agreed that it was absurd
and dangerous to have no umbrellas in such intense heat
5. The poolside tables & chairs are cheap plastic, the service
is very slow, and the poor staff are expected to wear clothing that is ridiculous - long pants, no hats, etc. It was painful to watch
6. Poolside staff was inadequate - tables were piled with dirty
plates and glasses
7. There are no pool toys available - bring your own
8. There was no kettle in the room to make tea and it took
nearly half an hour to have one brought to the room
9. Our bill was wrong and we had to wrangle with the manager
The Bayshore is beautiful but currently, it is badly
managed, which is a real shame.

3  Thank lepage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2006

We were very disappointed with this hotel. We were upgraded to a deluxe tower room with harbor view, but even then the room was very small with a tiny bathroom. The hotel is in serious need of a renovation. They nickel and dime you on everything, despite being quite costly. When we phoned down for a late checkout, we were told that it would be at a rate of $50 an hour, despite the hotel not being full the next night. (We subsequently went to ask at the front desk and were very quickly given one for free). The restaurants are unbelievably overpriced. The inside pool room was quite cold - everyone was getting out shivering. As we keep saying, this experience is enough to make you not want to stay in a Westin again. We won't be.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank VacationingProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2006

Used priceline. paid too much but it is not a cheap city. good location. Vancouver is a wonderful walking town. We walked to Yaletown and English Bay. Nothing it too far away. Nice quieet location also. Clean rooms. Decent outdoor pool. A good choice. Staff was very helpful with restaurant reservations and ideas!!!!! Thanks Norton! You are the Man!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlcarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2006

Hotel has impressive views if you get the right room, try and get either the tower or the east face of the main building. We stayed on the third floor where the view was O.K but not the best.

Walls are thin so had a couple of noisy nights from other guests (kids screaming etc.) Small bathroom but functional. Didn't seem to bother the hotel that they wanted to do repairs / refurbishment of the room above starting at 9am!!! Wasn't impressed.

Would recomend if the price is right! Would have been disappointed if I had paid full price!

Stayed: June 2006
Thank JohnDaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
3,528 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Address: 1601 Bayshore Dr, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $218 - $686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Coal Harbour, overlooking historic 1,000-acre Stanley Park via its picturesque seawall and the North Shore Mountains, the hotel offers you the best of both worlds: an invigorating urban lifestyle and a relaxing resort-like experience. The hotel's 499 spacious guest rooms and suites feature stunning views over the water and the city. Our location on the water is unparalleled and will provide you with a one-of-a-kind West Coast experience, with downtown's thriving epicenter just blocks away and a variety of nearby shops, restaurants and cafes. The resort-inspired property features Vida Wellness full service spa, indoor and outdoor pools, and a pleasing variety of restaurants and lounges. Signature offerings include the Westin Heavenly Bed and Bath, WestinWORKOUT and RunWESTIN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Bayshore Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing