We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Ranked #26 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Got this via a Priceline deal and it seemed pretty quiet over the weekend. It's close to the centre of town and Stanley Park, which makes it an ideal base for a tourist. The views are fantastic too. I got checked in with the minimum of fuss and got to a good sized room with new facilities in the new tower.

The rooms were clean and well serviced. The hotel is more of a resort, so you will find most of the facilities in house. However the common areas like the lobby don't have much going on.

In terms of sightseeing, downtown is a short taxi ride away and they are usually quite cheap. It's a fairly safe area as well. Once downtown you can do most things on foot.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the New Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spindoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,213
    896
    199
    79
    46
See reviews for
498
729
110
779
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Overall, our stay was very nice. The staff was pleasant and the views were great. It's a stone's throw from Stanley Park.

Now, some things that I wish could have been different ... I wasn't a big fan of the closet being in the bathroom. While I can see that might be necessary considering the lack of real estate in the room, it was a little inconvenient to have to wait to go into the closet because someone was using the facilities. Water closet and clothes closet shouldn't mix. Rooms were a tad small. Not a deal breaker but it should be noted.

Something else I wasn't keen on - the internet charges. While I was prepared to pay the $14.99/day charge, it was a bummer that I had to pay that for each computer or internet device I had. It was mostly a pleasure trip but there was some business thrown in. Because of this, I had a couple internet devices. Because I thought $30/day for internet was a tad much, I got around it by going down to the lobby or lounge area for free wi-fi. Cheaper yes but not convenient.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeAsIz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I wish they were selling appartments!! I am in love with the Bayshore!
The view, the location, the nice staff!
I always stayed here on business and after a long stressful day, to be able to slide open the wall to sit and enjoy the sunshine was fabulous!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat-from-Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
139 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed at the Westin Bayshore for about the 40th time over the last few years. Every time we pull up to this oldie but goodie I relax. Its in such an amazing little corner of our country. The views are simply fantastic. Service is good ,rooms are a 7/10 as they are small and a little dull but the views make up for it. Good pool ,good gym. They keep upgrading everything. The walk around Stanley park is divine. 10k of Beauty. Go check out this corner of Canada.

Room Tip: Not too many room choices just view choices. Go for the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I travel extensively on business and between the Westin Ottawa and the Westin Bayshore - the two are my favorite.

Upsides:
- ambience, decor, modern, subtle, very pleasant from the moment you walk in
-location right on the harbour, with a view to Stanley Park - very restful
- food is excellent at the breakfast area and also the bar restaurant
-Starbucks right on site
-staffing very pleasant and helpful
-stayed with the family in the summertime - pool was terrific
-fitness center very well equipped
-many conventions here and yet it is quiet - they don't appear to let alot of partying going on
-walk up the street and lots of places to eat - either on Denman - (Ukrainian Village, Mexican Restaurant - and many other low key neighbourhood hangouts) or head up to Robson - and there will be many more restaurants and bards

Downsides:
- if you need to be very central, this is about 5 min from downtown - walking
- have had a few IT issues here - and although they have been helpful - there have been difficulties in resolving

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roxygirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Westin Grand Vancouver
Westin Grand Vancouver
#30 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,074 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Downtown
Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Property: The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Address: 1601 Bayshore Drive, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price range (per night): $221 - $743
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Coal Harbour, overlooking historic 1,000-acre Stanley Park via its picturesque seawall and the North Shore Mountains, the hotel offers you the best of both worlds: an invigorating urban lifestyle and a relaxing resort-like experience. The hotel's 499 spacious guest rooms and suites feature stunning views over the water and the city. Our location on the water is unparalleled and will provide you with a one-of-a-kind West Coast experience, with downtown's thriving epicenter just blocks away and a variety of nearby shops, restaurants and cafes. The resort-inspired property features Vida Wellness full service spa, indoor and outdoor pools, and a pleasing variety of restaurants and lounges. Signature offerings include the Westin Heavenly Bed and Bath, WestinWORKOUT and RunWESTIN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Starwood and Booking.com so you can book your The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Bayshore Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing