We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coal Harbour and Stanley Park at your doorstep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Ranked #23 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The Westin Bayshore was our favorite hotel in the world in the late 70's, when we and it were youthful. We revisited it this weekend for our 35th anniversary, and had a fine stay...lovely harbour view room with great bed, warm and caring staff, and a short walk to the beauties of Stanley Park (including the enticing Teahouse restaurants). As other have noted, the hotel facilities are showing their age...not old enough to be venerable but no longer chic. Westin needs to either refurbish/modernize, which will be an expensive proposition, or recognize the limitation in their pricing. We enjoyed wi-fi access in our room for $10/day, which is reasonable, but not reasonable was the fact that it applies to individual computers--so you pay for your laptop, iPad, and iPhone separately...beware. Enjoyed afternoon tea and a lunch at the Seawall Bar & Grill, and thought the service and food quality to be excellent...also liked watching the seaplanes flying in over the marina to land nearby. If you arrive into Vancouver via plane or train, and take the Skytrain system into town, the hotel is an easy walk from the Burrard Station, a bit longer from the Waterfront Station, but the pedestrian route adjoins the harbour. Very handy Starbucks in the lobby...better choice for breakfast than the expensive buffet, which is served in served in an unattractive, out-dated area along the hallway to the tower addition.

Room Tip: Tower marina-facing rooms have the best unobstructed views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orcas_Island_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management R, Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Orcas Island Steve,

Thank you for sharing your review, and Happy Anniversary! We appreciate you returning to us, and please accept our apologies for the condition that you found our hotel to be in. We have within the last three years renovated all of our guest rooms, and painted the entire exterior of both buildings. We appreciate your comments as well regarding our pricing. We take care to ensure we are priced competitively among Vancouver hotels, but your feedback is important to ensure we are keeping our guests satisfied. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again, and if there is anything I can personally assist with to ensure your stay is memorable, please feel free to contact me at michael.farquharson@westin.com.

Best Regards,
Michael Farquharson
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,622 - 2,626 of 3,302 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

We spent three nights at Westin Bayshore. We are often in Vancouver, and this time we decided to try the Westin, even though it's not in our preferred part of town. It is pretty close to Stanley Park, which helped. Things got off to a rocky start, since the hotel advertised that their rooms had combination bath + shower, but it turned out that was not the case. We later complained about this once we'd returned home, and after a followup call, they took care of the issue for us.

While the rooms were comfortable and clean, we really felt that a lot of aspects of the room were both overpriced: parking was $36/day, local calls were $1.50, and wi-fi cost a whopping $15 per day. If you're on business and you don't care about these things (and your company doesn't either), that's one thing, but otherwise it's tough to swallow.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear JimCF,

Thank you for sharing your review! We appreciate you staying with us for the first time, and please accept our apologies once more for the miscommunication about your bathroom configuration. We appreciate your comments as well regarding our pricing. We take care to ensure we are priced competitively among Vancouver hotels, but your feedback is important to ensure we are keeping our guests satisfied. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again, and if there is anything I can personally assist with to ensure your stay is memorable, please feel free to contact me at michael.farquharson@westin.com.

Best Regards,
Michael Farquharson
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We have been to the Bayshore about ten times over the last few years as we visit Vancouver regularly and use Priceline four star hotels. We have stayed there over christmas and again in February. It is close to downtown and really is the only hotel to have really fantastic views of the harbour, Stanley Park and the mountains. The hotel boasts Westin "heavenly beds and the service is absolutely four star every time we stay there.


On our previous stays we were always frustrated that the internet was extremely expensive whilst several other priceline or travelocity secret four star hotels in downtown Vancouver offered free internet to their guests. This has now been resolved and the hotel now issues free one hour coupons to their guests to use in the lobby. Well done Westin for listening to feedback from their guests!

The hotel has a nice bar, restaurant and two swimming pools. It really is a delight to stay there but it is not yet our favourite hotel downtown. When you first enter the hotel there is a huge mostly empty lobby that has very little ambiance. We really think that the hotel is missing a trick by not using this space to create a more welcoming public area. We regularly use the Seattle Westin that has a similar public area but has much better seating and ambiance. It is a shame that guests to Vancouver don't benefit from a similar design and I am sure that the Bayshore miss out on revenue by creating a better space where their guests can relax.

We never stay and eat breakfast at this hotel because it is ludicrously expensive compared with most other four star hotels. The problem is that the pricing structure reflects expense account guests and not the average leisure traveller.

Our only other criticism of the hotel is that the televisions in the room all have had very poor signals unless you are watching a paid for HD movie. When we have raised this with the hotel they will generally send an engineer to the room to fiddle with the wires behind the tv but it is about time they got it right. When we stayed at Christmas we were offered a free HD movie by the front desk because their engineer could do anything about it.

All in all this is a great choice for a trip to Vancouver, providing you don't plan on feeding your family in their restaurant or sitting in your hotel room watching the television. We were very pleased to see that our next trip to Vancouver in April will also include a Priceline trip to the Bayshore.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxsSunshineTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Me and my friend decided to go to Vancouver for the weekend of feb 4, As we only decided that evening we stayed up and waited for our flight at 7am. And before boarding I booked through Expedia and got a price of 125/night and so booked here. Arrived at the hotel around 8 and was in need of some sleep, asked if we could do an early check in and they very kindly said they could accommodate us. Stayed in a traditional deluxe room 507 and was not disappointed although not the view of the whole harbour but still had a great view of the water and mountains still worth the price Beds were great. Shower was well needed.

Sadly had to leave 7pm as I was needed back home in calgary. So this weekend I have decided to return at this hotel as I was so impressed. This time im staying for the whole weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank welshdragonCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Dear welshdragonCalgary,

Thank you for sharing your review! We’re delighted to have welcomed you for your inaugural visit to The Westin Bayshore and are so glad you enjoyed such a restful and memorable stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for many more stays to come!

Stay well,
Michael Farquharson
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Our stay was originally planned for 2 nights as part of my birthday celebration. I ended up coming 2 days earlier and staying two nights more as my husband broke his leg skiing and was in the hospital.

The hotel and service was amazing. Michael F., one of the managers, went out of his way to accomodate us and make the hotel our home away from home. I have never experienced such amazing service in my life - and I travel a lot (SPG Plat). The things the hotel did for us:
*sent me a beautiful cupcake/cake in celebration of my b- day. I also got a hand drawn card with my name and signed by the staff of the hotel.

*the manager, Michael F., met us personally at the hotel when my husband was released from the airport and wheeled him up to the room. They also had gotten flowers for the room for when he arrived.

*offered to send lunch for my husband and i while he was in the hospital.

*sent us boxed breakfasts for our trip to the airport when we were leaving.

Overall, the hotel went above and beyond and treated us like VIPs. Al the staff was very kind and helpful. It was very unexpected, generous and genuine. We will definetly be back to the hotel on a future visit.

Thank you Westin Bayshore!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MillerCorona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
3,528 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Address: 1601 Bayshore Dr, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $218 - $691 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Coal Harbour, overlooking historic 1,000-acre Stanley Park via its picturesque seawall and the North Shore Mountains, the hotel offers you the best of both worlds: an invigorating urban lifestyle and a relaxing resort-like experience. The hotel's 499 spacious guest rooms and suites feature stunning views over the water and the city. Our location on the water is unparalleled and will provide you with a one-of-a-kind West Coast experience, with downtown's thriving epicenter just blocks away and a variety of nearby shops, restaurants and cafes. The resort-inspired property features Vida Wellness full service spa, indoor and outdoor pools, and a pleasing variety of restaurants and lounges. Signature offerings include the Westin Heavenly Bed and Bath, WestinWORKOUT and RunWESTIN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Bayshore Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing