We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for family.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #29 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Hawaii
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good for family.”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed in their two bedroom suite in the Residences recently and overall, the stay impressed me. Service is good, the staff attentive and the location ideal.

The room itself was large, very spacious with a good sized kitchen and so much storage space (they could probably add another room). It was clean but a bit outdated (although I understand they are upgrading some areas of the hotel. We ordered room service twice and it was great both times. Our evening meal was better than some of the restaurants close by which surprised me and the breakfast was big, tasty and filling.

An area that needs attention is the amount of time guests have to wait to check-in or out. On both occasions there was only one person at the front desk and on check-out there was a queue snaking around the foyer (on a Sunday).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictorianPoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,534
    910
    299
    100
    49
See reviews for
522
1,243
175
571
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I have stayed in this hotel for both business and pleasure for 25+ years. It is the only hotel I use in Vancouver. This past visit the hotel had many Canuck hockey fans and the place was pretty lively. Having said that the room was quiet; no sleep or noise issues.

One aspect of this hotel I really appreciate is the rooms are constantly being refreshed with new linens, carpets, paint and electronics. There is one little annoyance though. For some reason the bathroom scale indicates I weigh more than I did 25 years ago. It must be defective.

I am a breakfast junkie. This place has the best breakfast in downtown Vancouver.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerryBradshaw20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed on Saturday night with my wife celebrating our anniversary. Enjoyed the property. They gave us free upgrade and surprised us with chocolate covered strawberries. Room was clean and nice. Great location. Had average breakfast in restaurant. Starting to see some wear and tear. With all of the new luxury competition, the hotel will definitely need an update soon to compete. Service was good. Wifi is not free, but many hotels are still charging for it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauitennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This place got a "moon" in Lonely Planet and other rave reviews. The review must've been old or the reviewer lucky. Nothing special here: small room, high price. Charged for internet. No view (even on top floor).

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mmladventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Overall great experience. Friendly staff, decent rooms. There is little reason to complain. The hotel lacks a number of amenities to truly compete with luxury hotels such as the Four Seasons - I guess it especially lacks in original style. It all seems quite 'put together'.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malte83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
#32 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,926 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,353 reviews
West End
La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Property: Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Address: 845 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price range (per night): $249 - $544
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can rival the elegance, European charm and hospitality of The Sutton Place Hotel. One of Vancouver's most beautiful boutique hotels, situated in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The spectacular setting allows guests to experience exceptional service and all the needed amenities within the cosmopolitan ambiance of the city set against a majestic backdrop of mountains and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au and getaroom.com so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Vancouver
Vancouver Sutton Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing