We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,328)
Filter reviews
4,328 results
Traveller rating
2,705
1,188
297
86
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,705
1,188
297
86
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cruise ship five sails stanley park canada place your luggage convention center harbour view club floor pre cruise beautiful hotel grouse mountain waterfront station gas town luxury hotel corner room pool and hot tub coal harbour
Filter
Updating list...
3,298 - 3,303 of 4,328 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This hotel is downtown and right on the waterfront. The staff are very friendly and will answer all questions and are willing to give directions. The restaurants in the hotel are too expensive. There are several great Japanese restaurants closely, such as Miko, Miku, Gyoza, Kingyo and Guu. The biggest problem was that our room was not cleaned very well by the maid. My nasal passages were stuffed up and I could not not sleep very well.

Room Tip: Tell the maid to leave the vacuum cleaner in your room so that you can do a thorough cleaning of your room. Ask for the highest room that faces the waterfront.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nihonjin777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanPacificVancouver, Director of Quality Assurance at Pan Pacific Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our location and found our associates to be very helpful and friendly.

We were disappointed that you felt your accommodation was not up to our usual standards and extend our sincere apologies. Your comments have been forwarded to our Management Team for their review. We always appreciate feedback from our guests, as this allows us to review procedures and makes changes if warranted.

Should your travels bring you back to Vancouver, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Pan Pacific Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Pan Pacific for the first two nights of our honeymoon in Canada and one night after our return from Vancouver Island. We were upgraded thanks to being newlyweds, but this seemed to consist of getting a room with two beds in it, rather than a room that was actually any better. Anyway, this gave us somewhere to put our luggage and a slightly larger room, so I shouldn't grumble.

The room was adequate and spotlessly clean, but I wasn't entirely sure what we were getting for our money that couldn't be gotten from a four or three star hotel. Saying that, the view over the harbour was nice and the comings and goings of cruise ships and seaplanes was a novelty.

Our first stay at the hotel went without incident and we left for Vancouver Island content, if a little poorer from the experience. On our return from Vancouver Island we were due to stay at the Pan Pacific for another night before leaving for the Rockies. We reached our room to find a strong smell of cigarette smoke. With it being a non smoking hotel, we immediately called reception and asked if we could be moved rooms. We were told that there were no other rooms at our 'standard' available unless we wanted to move down twelve floors to a room which didn't have a good harbour view. Being as this view seemed to be the justification for the hotels prices we declined this offer and were told that the only option was to have our room 'freshened up'. I couldn't tell you whether this freshen up happened or not, but we were left a little disappointed that the hotel were less than accommodating.

My final gripe about the hotel is the ridiculous charges they make for internet and parking. $5 a day for internet and $35 a day for parking. We stayed in four other hotels during our stay that were less than half the price per night and provided wireless internet for free and ample free parking.

Overall it wasn't a bad stay and we enjoyed our time at the Pan Pacific, I just think that for the amount of money that you have to spend to stay there there would be more included and a better attitude to customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greggwoodier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanPacificVancouver, Director of Quality Assurance at Pan Pacific Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor regarding you recent stays at the Pan Pacific Vancouver.

While it is always a pleasure to read positive comments, we appreciate hearing from our guests when we do not measure up to expectations so that we can investigate and make changes when necessary.

While we are a non-smoking hotel and do have written information reiterating this in all our guestrooms, unfortunately, some guests choose to ignore this. Our Housekeeping attendants are able to effectively remove the lingering odour, but evidently on this occasion, we were not successful and, for this, we apologize.

Your comments regarding your room allocation and additional charges for internet and parking have been forwarded to our Management Team for their review.

We thank you for selecting the Pan Pacific Vancouver and for your feedback. We do hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back should your travels bring you back to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Found a deal for 2 nights in Vancouver while planning our Alaska Vacation. Came with upgraded room with lounge privileges. Lounge had an awesome breakfast selection and hearty evening apps with phenomenal views. Our 2 year old kept asking if we could go upstairs for "snacks". I think she loved the lounge more than we did. Concierge desk was helpful each day and went out of their way. Our car rental service was actually in the same parking lot so we just returned the car 2 spots next to where we had been parked the night before. Bellman took our bags to the cruise ship, so we just enjoyed the city during the day before we boarded our cruise. Smooth sailings for us. But it is a very large hotel and I could see how it could be impersonal. It took probably 30 minutes to get checked in just running around from the front desk to the car to the concierge level check-in. Room wasn't ready and baby napping but it was just a minor glitch.
Overall, Best Groupon ever!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanPacificVancouver, Director of Quality Assurance at Pan Pacific Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your pre-cruise stay on Tripadvisor.

We were pleased that you and your family enjoyed the views and your accommodation on our Pacific Club Floor and found the complimentary breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres to your liking.

It was also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our location at Canada Place to explore Vancouver with your family. Sharing our Canada Place location with the Cruise Ship Terminal also allows us to provide our guests with direct guest room to cruise ship luggage transfer, which is always appreciated by our guests.

We hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you and your family back to the Pan Pacific Vancouver should your travels bring you back to British Columbia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our recent holiday touring western Canada. Make no mistake, this is one impressive hotel. The public rooms are capacious and well appointed, with an impressive balcony off the bar and a small selection of (mainly jewellery) shops in a mini-mall. The outdoor swimming pool is next to a large patio/sunbed area, which was never annexed by sunbed-hoggers. Situated on Canada Place on the harbourside (next to the cruise ship berth), the hotel boasts fantastic views across to leafy Stanley Park and the mountains beyond. Our harbour view rooms were spacious, well equipped and immaculately maintained. Customer service was of a high quality, with no shortage of attentive and helpful staff. In addition to the fantastic viewpoints, the hotel is superbly situated. The tourist information centre (where you can discounted tickets for local attractions) is across the street, the tour buses and Capilano shuttle stop right outside, and there is a food court next door. The bustling Gastown is an easy ten minute walk, and Robson Street (the shopping mecca) only about 15. There are numerous decent restaurants and pubs on the harbourside opposite the hotel. The Skytrain link to the airport is just around the corner - and that's much the cheapest way of getting to and from the airport at less than four dollars for the 25 minute journey. We ate in the classy Five Sails restaurant in the Pan Pacific on our last night to celebrate a birthday, and it was certainly a memorable meal - whilst it was comparatively expensive, the quality of the food and wine, the service and the views made it well worthwhile. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor (20 or above) with harbour views. The deluxe rooms have floor to ceiling windows, and you overlook Stanley Park, North Vancouver and the sea planes coming and going. Not a view you'll ever tire of!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dash1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanPacificVancouver, Director of Quality Assurance at Pan Pacific Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Thank you for posting such a detailed and complimentary review on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure that you were able to take advantage of our service and facilities, in particular, our convenient proximity to local attraction, services, shopping and transportation options.

We have conveyed your kind comments to our associates who are pleased to know their efforts have not gone unnoticed.

Should your travels bring you back to British Columbia, we hope to have the privilege to welcome you back to the Pan Pacific Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We enjoyed our before and after cruise stays at this hotel. My favorite feature was the bathrooms, felt like I was in a spa, and especially liked the "Spa Utopia" complimentary products. Our rooms had beautiful views and were immaculately clean and "fresh". We have stayed at hotels booked through our cruise line many times before, but this has to be the top of the line thus far. Staff and valet was so attentive and very professional. From this location we easily found tours to many city attractions, and we leisurely strolled the beautifully landscaped docks. Unfortunately, our schedule didn't permit sampling of the available dining, but maybe next time.

Room Tip: Ask for view of docks/harbor.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaryleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanPacificVancouver, Director of Quality Assurance at Pan Pacific Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Thank you for taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your pre and post cruise stays and were able to take advantage of our convenient location and explore the city and local attractions.

Your comments have been conveyed to our associates who will be pleased to know their efforts have not gone unnoticed. It was also a pleasure to know that you found our Spa Utopia amenities to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pan Pacific Vancouver should your travels bring you back to British Columbia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews