We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding! ”

Market by Jean-Georges
Reserve with OpenTable
Market by Jean-Georges is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 4,146 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 20 - USD 81
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Thurlow Street
Description: The Vancouver location, of the Paris original, is an unparalleled dining experience in Vancouver. Designed for understated elegant, yet relaxed contemporary dining that supports Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s renowned Modern Pacific style of cooking. The Restaurant: Refined Dining: OPEN 7 days a week Reservations recommended – Level 3
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We can’t rate our experience at this restaurant high enough ! We had a Fantastic Dinner at this place , the food was just amazing! Also awesome service, so thank you Nathan for looking after us so well.
Since we were staying in the Shangri-La we had breakfast too for 4 mornings ... the breakfast was also the best of the best ! The girl who showed us a table remembered our names from the very first day and would always welcome us. Everyone would always greet you with a smile and hello and to top off the amazing service was Tom ( the Irish boy ) who was always so helpful and happy !
We stay in many 5 star Hotels throughout the world as we are avid travelers and would have to rate the breakfast here as one of the best ever ! Thank you guys.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank RugbyMadKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell K, Manager at Market by Jean-Georges, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear RugbyMadKiwi,

Thank you very much for the time and effort you took to share this kind feedback. Personalized hospitality is our number one priority, and I am glad to hear that you experienced the best our team has to offer. Be assured that I will share your very kind review with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards,

Mitchell Kerr
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2018

For their price, I expected better. Nothing to complain about but nothing wowed me. There is also nothing to complain about on the service either. They tried hard to be friendly and they were but not as professional as you expected from a high end restaurant--not necessarily a bad thing. It was a nice surprise for them to offer a kids menu and have coloring for kids. One thing I thought that was good value was the $16 steak offer on the kids menu. It was a decent size mail for that price. The location and ambiance and the city lights that you can see from the dining area was nice. I will go back but maybe not for dinner but to lounge area for drinks. Very nice place for a date:)

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell K, Manager at Market by Jean-Georges, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kai H,
We greatly appreciate the time and effort taken to share this kind feedback. It is our goal to provide personalized hospitality from the moment you step into our restaurant. We hope we have an opportunity to welcoming you back to MARKET by Jean-Georges Restaurant again soon.
Kind regards,
Mitchell Kerr
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

We were at Market yesterday night to celebrate my wife's birthday and we had an amazing experience. As a Vancouverite, we had not heard much hype around this restaurant from friends but we were in for a serious treat. We ordered the tasting menu along with wine pairings and were blown out of the water - everything was absolutely delicious. Ambiance and service were amazing. We were spoiled by Dil and his team! Would undoubtedly come back again and come back again soon!!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank bjwwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell K, Manager at Market by Jean-Georges, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Dear bjwwong,
Thank you for rating us 5. We are glad to know that you and your wife had an amazing experience with us. We hope to welcome you back to MARKET by Jean-Georges again soon!
Kind regards,
Mitchell Kerr, Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

We were friendly greeted upon entering the restaurant, all staff are friendly by natural, not something made up, making us feeling so great dining there. Food are super duper nice, we had Haida Gwaii crispy Halibut, Tortellini with mixed seafood plus Seared Alaskan Scallop. Our server Thomas really made our day, he and all the staff have walked many extra miles to make our lunch so memorable. It was not my first time and definitely won't be my last, as I will definitely come back to the restaurant, and recommend to my friends, too. It is a highly recommended restaurant, indeed.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Road61657291476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell K, Manager at Market by Jean-Georges, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Dear Road61657291476,

I would like to thank you for the time and effort taken to share this kind feedback. I'm pleased you enjoyed our restaurant offerings and service by Thomas. It will be an honor to welcome you to MARKET by Jean-Georges restaurant back soon.
Kind regards,
Mitchell Kerr, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

We were invited to dine in the library for a private function catered by the restaurant downstairs. We enjoyed a multicourse tasting menu. The food was very good. Excellent service.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Where_to_travel_next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell K, Restaurant Manager at Market by Jean-Georges, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear Where_to_travel_next,

Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience with us.

I am pleased to read that you were delighted by the various dishes offered by our restaurant. Thank you very much for your compliments which I will definitely share with the team as such words feel like the best reward we can get.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at Market by Jean-Georges, Vancouver.
Mitchell Kerr, Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Market by Jean-Georges also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Market by Jean-Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing