We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food!! Best Indian food for many years outside India!!”
Review of Davie Dosa Company

Davie Dosa Company
Ranked #368 of 4,138 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: USD 4 - USD 15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Davie Village
Description: The first restaurant showcasing Dosas, a unique South Indian specialty , in the heart of downtown Vancouver Davie Village. Davie Dosa Company offers an exotic culinary experience of traditional Southern Indian cuisine and delicious cocktails to a vibrant neighbourhood. We invite you to join us and experience our company in this journey where the past and present come together and transport you to a world where colours, flavours and aromas come alive.
Reviewed 10 December 2017

Excellent food, delicious, with great combinations of spices accompanied by homemade sāmbhar. coconut and tomato chutneys. The tiffin's were great (especially the chicken samosa) and then the house special spiced masala dosa outstanding.
Service was faultless and the owner very personable, knowledgeable and helpful with recommendations.
An outstanding experience - totally recommend this place! We will certainly visit again and take friends along. Thank you!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gail25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharv R, Owner at Davie Dosa Company, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thanks Gail for your review, looking forward to see you again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2017

We had an amazing lunch. The food quality is exceptional, very fresh and genuine and the service is great. Dosas taste just same as in India. We will definitely come back !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clembal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharv R, Owner at Davie Dosa Company, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Thanks Clembal, we appreciate your review. Looking forward to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

The staff and owner were friendly from the time we walked in. The chef explained the menu to us. The service was excellent, choice of a variety of beers and drinks plus vegetarian or other menu selections. Some of my friends are vegetarian and some are not so it worked out perfectly. All our preferneces were considered and we were introduced to many new dishes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AidaD72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharv R, Owner at Davie Dosa Company, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Wow, Thanks Aida for your review. We appreciate your compliments, hope to see soon sometimes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Ons of my besr friends from Singapore is excited this place opened since the Indian populatiion is mistly from the Tamil-speakung south. This pkace specializes in the cuisine around Chennai/Madras whereas the bulk of the Vancouver Indian population is from the Punjab/Kashmir notth. Dosaa are a rice crêpe with a filling . They are incredibke tasty although you should specify if you want it autrntically spicy. Owner Sharv is incredibly friendly and adds to this reataurant ftom cuisibe from the south of India

Thank Clifford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharv R, Owner at Davie Dosa Company, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thanks Clifford for your review, much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

We live in the area and noticed a change in restaurants so we decided to give it a try. I did not know what a dosa was but wow were we ever impressed! We love Indian food but this southern style is different than the typical flavours. We had a curried cauliflower dosa, chicken vindaloo dosa, and a prawn southern curry and we finished every last bite. We are definitely going to go back. Also the server was very lovely.

Thank Lily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharv R, Owner at Davie Dosa Company, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Thanks Lily,

Looking forward to see you again, we appreciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Davie Dosa Company also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Davie Dosa Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing