We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast with ocean view”

Driftwood Cafe at the Wickaninnish Inn
Ranked #21 of 51 Restaurants in Tofino
Description: Nestled on the Beach level of Wickaninnish Inn's Beach Building, the Driftwood Café offers a range of specialty espresso drinks, fruit smoothies, and a wine and beer selection. What better way to start your day than with a light breakfast, including fresh, daily house-made pastries, muffins and granola bars, from the Driftwood Café. For lunch, readymade sandwiches and a daily made soup are on the menu to be enjoyed with a view of Chesterman Beach, cozied up inside or al fresco on the outdoor patio (weather permitting). All breakfast and lunch Café items are available to take with you on your morning beach walk or packaged to go for your daily activities. The occasional live music night*, accompanied by your preferred evening beverage is a perfect way to end your day in Tofino! *Check the Wickaninnish Inn's events page for more information on Driftwood Café Live Music Nights.
Restaurant details
Description: Nestled on the Beach level of Wickaninnish Inn's Beach Building, the Driftwood Café offers a range of specialty espresso drinks, fruit smoothies, and a wine and beer selection. What better way to start your day than with a light breakfast, including fresh, daily house-made pastries, muffins and granola bars, from the Driftwood Café. For lunch, readymade sandwiches and a daily made soup are on the menu to be enjoyed with a view of Chesterman Beach, cozied up inside or al fresco on the outdoor patio (weather permitting). All breakfast and lunch Café items are available to take with you on your morning beach walk or packaged to go for your daily activities. The occasional live music night*, accompanied by your preferred evening beverage is a perfect way to end your day in Tofino! *Check the Wickaninnish Inn's events page for more information on Driftwood Café Live Music Nights.
Reviewed 1 October 2019

We had breakfast at the cafe whilst we stayed at the Inn. Good choice, well cooked, arrived quickly, friendly staff, excellent.

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank janineb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2019

Superb coffees and nibbles in a very tranquil setting in the lower level of the Wick Inn. And you don't have to line up behind yammering hipsters to be served by the very professional staff that actually don't live in a van in the parking lot. Enjoy

Date of visit: July 2019
2  Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2019

This is a bit of a waste of a restaurant. You must order and pay at the counter, and there are absolutely no substitutions. They don't have access to a kitchen, so everything is premade. You can add salmon to your salad for example, but you will be told it will be an extra 15 minutes so they can get it from the real kitchen. Super busy with long waits in the morning for coffee-understaffed!

Date of visit: July 2019
4  Thank melissamce
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Manager at Driftwood Cafe at the Wickaninnish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2019

Dear melissamce,

Thank you for providing us with a detailed review of your experience at The Driftwood Café.

We were most disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations with respect to service. The Driftwood Café offers a range of specialty espresso drinks, fruit smoothies, fresh, daily house-made pastries, muffins and granola bars in addition to ready made sandwiches and a daily made soup.

We apologize that your meals were not as you were expecting and certainly not to the quality you have expected from a Relais et Chateaux Property. The Driftwood Café offers more leisurely options, however, slow service is absolutely unacceptable and definitely not the standard at the Wickaninnish Inn, please accept our most sincere apology.

We appreciate your feedback in regards to ordering and paying for items in the Driftwood. Please be assured that we have passed them along to our Management team.

We most certainly do not want any of our guests to leave The Driftwood Cafe unhappy or unsatisfied and truly wish we could have addressed your concerns you had at the time. We would appreciate the opportunity to understand and learn from your experience. Accordingly, should you have additional details you would care to share with us, we would appreciate you providing us with your name and your preferred method of contact directly to us at mei@wickinn.com so that we can arrange for a member of Senior Management Team to contact you.

Again, we are truly sorry we did not meet your expectations and we sincere hope to discuss your experience personally with you.

Sincerely,
Mei Shapiro
Guest Relations Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2019

We enjoyed a great, tasty lunch.
The staff was very attentive and efficient.
The atmosphere was wonderful, wood burning fire place, and a great view.

Date of visit: July 2019
2  Thank msvemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2019 via mobile

This is a lovely place, tucked away in the corner of chesterman beach. We popped in for a drink and enjoyed fresh and healthy smoothies in a comfortable and relaxed setting, with friendly staff and great sea views.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank 686job
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Driftwood Cafe at the Wickaninnish Inn also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Driftwood Cafe at the Wickaninnish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.