We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and service”

The Schooner Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 51 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$11 - AU$54
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Legendary Casual Fine Dining Seafood & Steakhouse. Celebrating our 70th anniversary. Proudly locally owned by the Bruce family. Oyster bar, Epic Cocktails. Unrivalled ocean and mountain views. Great patio, centrally located.
Reviewed 3 June 2024

Excellent food with a wide choice on the menu. Staff were very friendly and welcoming and the service was excellent. As a special high for our anniversary they were happy for us to take time over dinner and the overall experience was outstanding. We has a 3 course dinner with wine and the value was very good

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank davidpH5548VI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 1,851 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2024

This restaurant gets dinged in these pages because of poor service, lousy ambience and high prices. I don’t agree with the first two criticisms at all, the service was great and the space was nice. The prices were high, but you know that going in, right?

We had the Admiral’s Plate, the flagship (geddit?) dish of the restaurant. This was described as fresh seafood cooked in traditional French style, and it was, and you should expect to pay for that level of culinary skill.

The problem for me is that the French have never been able to cook seafood worth a damn. The Plate consisted of raw oysters (superb!!), a mix of prawns, clams, mussels and shrimp in a rich buttery garlic/cream sauce, and three types of fish. The salmon was so fresh it was still wriggling, but ruined by a tooth-achingly sweet glaze. The cod was even fresher but you couldn't enjoy it, its flavour overwhelmed by cajun spices and a mango salso. The best of the trio was the halibut, where the brie and apple stuffing worked pretty well. The entire plate must have contained about a kilo of butter and a litre or two of cream and at $275 incl tax and tip, it was not a cheap option.

If you like rich French cuisine and have deep pockets, this is absolutely the place for you. If you like simple seafood, save yourself $300 and try the chippy down the road.

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank R9450XSmartinf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2024

Paid reservation deposit and still seated in bar next to the bathrooms. Seafood for being next to the ocean was mediocre at best and service was poor.

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2024

Mediocre food, worse service. Try a food truck. Also note that local salmon is all farm raised and not good for environment.

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2024 via mobile

We called to enquire about their closing time at 8:30pm and realized the restaurant was closing soon -at 9 pm! Usually the kitchen is closed 30 minutes before closing time but the person on the phone was very nice and welcoming and asked us to join in for dinner. We were there at 8:40 pm , and politely greeted by Whealen ( I hope I’m spelling it correctly!) - He took good care of us and provided excellent , genuine service. Food was delicious and service fast and top- notch! Blackened ling cod was cooked to perfection, mushroom ravioli was tasty and creme brûlée was the perfect ending to our meal. Would definitely come back next time we are in Tofino!

Date of visit: April 2024
2  Thank ArsaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Schooner Restaurant also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to The Schooner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.