We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi”
Review of Tough City Sushi

Tough City Sushi
Ranked #15 of 51 Restaurants in Tofino
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 17 July 2023 via mobile

The food was incredible ! A bit pricey BUT it’s an ocean side experience of fresh sushi ! Their signature roll sounds odd but oh my it was delicious.

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank 334yvonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2023

We arrived before 4:00 and sat at a picnic table waiting for the restaurant to open. We were sampling a few things we bought while we waited. The owner came out and very rudely told us to leave. We said we were waiting for him to open and he still told us to leave. Rudest owner ever!! I won’t ever go back or recommend it.

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Service
2  Thank Shannon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2022 via mobile

Worst service I've ever received. We were treated so disrespectfully before even entering the restaurant that we ended up leaving. The owner got mad that we started leaving, and began yelling at us, flailing his arms and insulting us. All in front of other customers. This was a totally insane experience. Save yourself the stress, and skip this place!

Date of visit: September 2022
4  Thank Dee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2022 via mobile

Tried to get a table here at around 5:30 pm because the restaurant opens at 4 pm. Because we were a group of seven this seemed to cause problems even though there were lots of tables free inside the restaurant and at the back where there are views over the harbour.

So unfortunately we had to sit out the front on a picnic table in the Sun which was not ideal. The sushi is good but the service is slow and it is expensive as well.

Date of visit: August 2022
1  Thank Thomasmoore79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2022 via mobile

Worse service we have ever experienced!! No respect at all in this place. Since we came in the owner had no wish to let us in his restaurant. He screamed and insulted my family with no reason just because we wanted a table outside. He then grabbed the menu from my hand with no respect at all and kicked us out of his property while he continued insulting us until we got in our car.

Date of visit: August 2022
6  Thank yeoshuas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Tough City Sushi also viewed

 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Tough City Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.