We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every 30 years is not enough ”

The Pointe Restaurant At The Wickaninnish Inn
Ranked #6 of 51 Restaurants in Tofino
Price range: AU$0 - AU$115
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Surveying the panoramic vistas from the westernmost point of Tofino’s idyllic Chesterman Beach, The Pointe Restaurant’s Refined West Coast cuisine and attentive service come gift-wrapped with views of the Pacific Ocean, surrounding islands and wildlife. Dinner is offered on a seasonal à la carte menu, but for the best of the best, try Executive Chef Clayton Fontaine's seasonal tasting menu; Daily brunch is a true treat. Out of the ordinary desserts reflect an innovative Pastry program where most everything - from bread to butter to scrumptious chocolate croissants is housemade. An extensive wine list, recognized yearly by Wine Spectator magazine, showcases BC’s finest selections with a broad range of international bottlings. A creative cocktail menu can be savoured in the comfortable On the Rocks Lounge. A true taste of Rustic Elegance On Nature’s Edge - and the West Coast’s best views - are on the menu at The Pointe Restaurant and On the Rocks Bar.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Wickaninnish inn 30 years ago and we had a wonderful experience that we have often recalled as one of our favorite all time places and meals - anywhere. Great food, wonderful service, and truly remarkable setting.
We decided it was time to share the experience with our family so we just brought our adult kids the 6000 km to let them also experience this remarkable place. It absolutely met our high expectations and thrilled our family. A very special place and experience.
Hopefully not another 30 years before we come back.

Date of visit: May 2024
1  Thank Paradoxpointer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2024

You can charge these prices if you have all the pieces in place. Food 3.5, View 5 plus, but the Knowledge of the Staff is lacking. On the day we had my Birthday (Friday night) there was no Sommelier, which is to bad, because quite the extensive wine list. And no Maitre d’. Poor Shelby our Server wanted to do a great Job and was trying so hard, but there were no Grown ups in the room to help her when things started falling short. We were also guests of the Inn and we had Reservations to come back the next Night, which we promptly Cancelled. Only 2 choices on the menu 3 course or 5, really tough when you want to return every night in a 5 night stay. So it was to the Bar/Lounge the next night where Darcy our Waiter saved our Day. He started off quiet, but then made a joke, it was then he realized we needed to laugh. From then on a quick snack turned into eating and Drinking for a few hours, and giggling till we cried. Thank you Sir!!! No driving needed we were staying upstairs.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 2534bayview
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stocker Sandy, Other at The Pointe Restaurant At The Wickaninnish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2024

Dear 2534bayview,

We appreciate you providing us with feedback of your recent stay with us and we thank you for your wonderful Reviews on our Wickaninnish Inn, On the Rocks Bar and Driftwood Café Trip Advisor pages. We are delighted to read Natalie, Shelby, Callum, Devan and Darcy provided you and your wife with exceptional and entertaining service.

We were, however, disappointed to read that your birthday dinner at The Pointe Restaurant fell short of your expectations, particularly in respect of the availability of a Maître d and Sommelier to assist with your selections for the evening. We wish you had raised your concerns at the time with Mac the manager or your server as they are available each evening and it would have been their pleasure to assist in all aspects of your dining experience. We also thank you for your comments in relation to our 3-course table d’hôte menu and our the 5-course tasting menu. For a future stay with us we encourage you to speak with your server regarding additional options that may be available to our resident guests, including a la carte offerings from our Vegan and Vegetarian, On the Rocks Bar and In-Room Dining Menus. We typically also have a chicken selection available should that be of interest to you. In addition, with a little advance notice, our culinary team is always happy to prepare a special meal for any of our guests to ensure their meal meets your individual preferences and/or any dietary requirements. While we have shared your feedback with our Executive Chef, please keep these options in mind as we would be delighted to prepare a personalized dining experience just for you on your next stay with us.

In relation to value for price paid your specific feedback is also noted as we continue to evaluate our pricing structure during these times where our costs for many products and supplies have been increasing. Any further suggestions you have that would enhance your value for price paid would be most welcome.

Again, we thank you for your Reviews and we sincerely hope to welcome you back to the Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant again.

Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2023

We aren’t food critics and don’t normally post but some reviews of the Point are not consistent with our recent experience. For context, we are in our early sixties, have dined a fair amount in the not-quite-Michelin-Star sphere and we were enjoying a beautiful crisp, sunny day.

We made reservations well in advance and, despite not staying at the Wickaninnish, we had a window table. Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable and attentive - definitely on the upper end of our experiences. We had the Ahi Crudo, Venison Ravioli appetizers, Halibut, Sable Fish mains and Cheesecake, Spiced Apple desserts. We appreciate it when a chef incorporates locally sourced ingredients in their dishes though I, and I’m sure most, couldn’t tell you the provenance of a mushroom or slice of venison in a dish. The flavors and presentation did not disappoint - especially the Spiced Apple dessert which was a work of art as well as delicious. It was not an inexpensive meal but we enjoyed our experience and left happy and comfortably satisfied.

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BTownBackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2023

Pretty dining room in a classic west coast setting. Service was just ok. Felt kinda stuffy and pretentious for no good reason. There was really nothing spectacular about the place. We had spent an evening at Pluvio in Ucluelet a few nights prior, where the service was top notch, so perhaps that coloured our experience. The food at The Pointe was not good. From the bread to the dessert there wasn’t a single thing I put in my mouth and thought “oh wow! That was really good!” They are trying really hard to cater to the hipster crowd and I think are focusing more on trying to impress you with tales of how the seaweed in your salad was scavenged on the beach, and the mushrooms on your plate were scraped off a tree outside, rather than focusing on creating dishes that actually taste enjoyable. I actually wouldn’t recommend this place based on our experience. Lots of better places to check out!

Date of visit: September 2023
1  Thank Brittni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stocker Sandy, Other at The Pointe Restaurant At The Wickaninnish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2023

Dear Brittni W,

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent visit at The Pointe Restaurant and we certainly agree that Pluvio Restaurant + Rooms does offer its guests an outstanding dining experience.

Please accept our most sincere apology that The Pointe Restaurant did not meet your expectations with respect to quality of food and you did not feel the “wow” factor you were seeking. While it has been our experience that guests of The Pointe Restaurant are interested in the special ingredients used to create each dish and that the descriptions do enhance their dining experience, they are meant to be brief and non-intrusive. Please also accept our apology if you did not appreciate this aspect of your dining experience.

As we never want a guest to leave the Restaurant disappointed, we would welcome the opportunity to personally discuss your experience with you. Accordingly, should you be willing to speak with a member of our Senior Management Team, please provide your full name, preferred method of contact, as well as the name your reservation was made under and the date and time you dined, directly to us at sandy@wickinn.com.

Again, we are truly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations and we sincerely hope that you will allow us the opportunity fully understand and learn from your experience.

Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2023

The view is amazing for sure - we didnt get a window table as that for guest of resort, however still was great. The staff was good but not great - had to ask for ice, water, etc all the time. The food items are not great for selection - zero salads and limited choice - plus very pricey. We ordered the Halibut- was so so. The side were not good at all and not worth the price. The coffee drink was good after dinner "the nutty tofitian". Not worth the price

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ottawa2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stocker Sandy, Other at The Pointe Restaurant At The Wickaninnish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2023

Dear Ottawa2019,

Many thanks for providing us with feedback on your recent dining experience at The Pointe Restaurant and we are delighted to read you appreciated the view from your table location. While we do hold our window tables for our in-house guests, as The Pointe Restaurant provides a 240° panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and surrounding islands, we do feel that all of our tables offer our guests a spectacular view.

Please accept our most sincere apology that you did not receive the level of care and attention we expect our team members provide to our guests, our menu selections offered were below your expectations, particularly in regard to salad offerings, and your selected halibut dish only just met your expectations. Our culinary team prides itself on providing tempting and flavourful dishes and it is our goal to provide each and every guest with a culinary and service experience that not only meets but hopefully exceeds their expectations and we are truly sorry that we did not fully meet this goal for you.

In relation to value for price paid, while the cost of the food is a function of not only the outstanding food products, but also incorporate the costs of high-end table ware and of course providing a spectacular oceanfront location. We strive to provide comparable pricing with our industry peers, as well as with our Relais & Chateaux compatriots. Your comments are valuable to us as we continue to evaluate our pricing structure during these times where our costs for many products and supplies have been increasing. Any suggestions you have which would enhance your feeling of value for price paid would be most welcome.

We welcome all feedback from our guests, whether positive or constructive, as it provides us with the insight needed to continually improve the dining experiences of our guests. We can assure you that your comments are truly valuable to us and that they have been provided directly to The Pointe Restaurant Manager and to our Executive Chef.

Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pointe Restaurant At The Wickaninnish Inn also viewed

 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to The Pointe Restaurant At The Wickaninnish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.