We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kristy A
Edmonton, Canada

Lovely Stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 July 2018
We spent 3 nights at Meares Retreat based on previous Tripadvisor reviews. We had a wonderful stay. Charlie was a pleasure to deal with and we were happy to share a meal with him. We could go on and on about our gracious host. The room was immaculate, bed was comfy and the hot tub was divine! Location is perfect, a short walk to town or the beautiful Tonquin Beach. We can't wait to go back!
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.7 km from Meares Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$386
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    AU$386
  • Booking.com
3.5 km from Meares Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$606
  • Booking.com
2.2 km from Meares Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$427
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Meares Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$403
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Meares Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
    3.9 km from Meares Retreat Bed & Breakfast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Priceline
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
      AU$438
    • Vio.com
    • Agoda.com
      AU$438
    2.4 km from Meares Retreat Bed & Breakfast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Priceline
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Vio.com
    5.5 km from Meares Retreat Bed & Breakfast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • Booking.com
    5.7 km from Meares Retreat Bed & Breakfast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Priceline
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$401
    • Hotels.com
    0.5 km from Meares Retreat Bed & Breakfast
    Beachfront
    View more hotels in Tofino
    Reviews (58)
    Filter reviews
    58 results
    Traveller rating
    56
    0
    1
    1
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    56
    0
    1
    1
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews breakfast tray yogurt private hot tub larger unit full kitchen spent four days bay window each morning little touches cd player each evening beautiful location charlie deck suite bnb sofa
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    9 - 14 of 58 reviews
    Reviewed 3 October 2017

    My wife and I spent four days in owner and on-site manager Charlie ("By the Sea") Meints's b&b. We couldn't have been happier on all counts: comfort of the fully-equipped suite #2; unbeatable view of the inlet and Meares Island through the bay windows and from the private deck; superb and ample continental breakfast including fresh fruit, granola, yogurt, juices, and pastries from a wonderful local baker; private hot tub; bathrobes; fireplace; and Charlie's in-person insights and recommendations on things to do. Frankly, our stay was one of our best ever in any b&b, and we've been in more than a few in the US and abroad.

    Attention to detail is one of Charlie's hallmarks -- our suite had all the little touches and then some that make a stay memorable. Also, he has strict rules about privacy for his guests that were very welcome.

    I could go on an on, but trust me -- suffice it to say this: if you are going to spend a few days in Tofino and opt for a b&b experience, you must give Meares Retreat serious consideration. We would go back in a heartbeat.

    Room tip: Suite # 2. Awesome.
    Date of stay: September 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank YoYoPa
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 September 2017

    Expectations were high and were exceeded on our 4 day stay at Charlie's. Yes the room was clean, well appointed and views stunning as per photos on websites etc. What you can't find in print is the story behind the success of Meares Retreat & Tofino's gritty history and continued it's success story - that comes from Tofino's knowledgeable host who's passionate local expertise is invaluable. Getting the background on Tofino's & Vancouver Islands' history and lore from a local point of view is why we travel. Of course he had all the pointers too on where to go see fabulous beaches, restaurants, walks & hikes etc all of which is expected from a good B&B owner. The continental breakfasts were lovely & were delivered every morning by our gracious host. That was always a good time to go over previous day trips in the area with Charlie who them took it upon himself to steer us in our next course of action. You never disappointed Charlie!
    As we returned each evening the hot tub was fired up and we spent an hour or so soaking in the stars and the sounds of the sea with the mountains in the background. Four restful nights in la la land, thank you Charlie.
    We'll be back and many of our friends now know where you are.

    Date of stay: August 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    2  Thank K2C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

    We booked to stay with Charlie at Meares Retreat for 4 nights at the end of August based on the previous trip adviser reviews. We were not disappointed!
    The 5 star reviews are well deserved. We had the most amazing stay at Meares Retreat B&B. Fully enjoyed the hot tub over looking the water and the delicious hot breakfast in the morning. Charlie is an amazing host, gave us help and advice what to see and do, collected us from the airport and help us hire bikes that were dropped off at our door. Thanks Charlie for an amazing 4 night stay.
    If you are reading this review thinking of booking at Meares. Book now - you will not be disappointed!

    Date of stay: August 2017
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    2  Thank 74sarahe
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

    We stayed here for 5 nights and loved every minute of it! We actually stayed here as well about 9 years ago. This time we stayed in the larger suite but last time we stayed in the smaller suite. The view is amazingly beautiful, and the suite we stayed in had everything you needed to be comfortable, and more! Amazing hot tub and fire place, and a great breakgast every morning...Charlie is a great host and we will be back!

    Date of stay: May 2017
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank LeGe10
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 6 May 2017

    My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in April. While my husband normally prefers B&B's that have a full breakfast served in the dining room, we decided to stay here because of the beautiful setting and the close proximity to Tofino (easy walk into town). We were not disappointed. The location of this B&B is picturesque and very private. You will happily enjoy the splendid scenery as you sit in your private hot tub on the deck.There are two suites in the main house and we stayed in #2 that has the full kitchen. Charlie, the owner, had just done some renovations and we were told he replaced the flooring and gave the kitchen a full face lift. The kitchen has a full sized fridge and stove but no microwave or dishwasher (no worries!). There is a toaster and kettle and drip coffee maker as well, along with a reasonable set of dishes and pots, some coffee, tea and sugar. We did suggest some additions such as paper towels and some small bowls for munchies. We didn't actually cook while there but I'm sure it would be fine.Charlie's breakfasts (left outside the door between 8:30 and 8:45) were delicious. Each day there was a different choice of pastries, along with your choice of juice, yogurt, granola and chopped fruit. We never ate all the pastries and kept the remainder for coffee later in the day. The room itself is very comfortable with a good sized living room, sleeping area with a comfy queen bed, full bathroom, eating area and the kitchen. Things included that are not mentioned on the website are robes, towels for the hot tub, an ironing board/iron, hairdryer and a CD player. Charlie also has a housekeeper that comes in to tidy up, do your dishes etc. while you're out. Charlie is a laid back character who will happily give you a verbal tour of the beach walks, hikes and restaurants in the area. There was no one in the other suite when we were there so we had complete privacy. This place would be perfect for two couples/families sharing the two suites as you would have use of the kitchen which suite #1 does not have. And there are two hot tubs. When we return to Tofino we will definitely stay here again. It is a gorgeous, relaxing little bit of heaven that is worth every penny!

    Date of stay: April 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank Eileen D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews