We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
111
82
37
16
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
82
37
16
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews studio room bed frame adirondack chairs watch the sun nice balcony short walk mini fridge bed was very comfortable two nights an amazing view view from the balcony long weekend upper floor on the rocks downtown tofino living area bald eagles
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We stayed in one of the renovated suites that was perched close to the water.....we felt like we were on our own as the view from the balcony was such that you only saw the water and islands. This is an example of the web site doing justice with pictures so you know what you are getting. Mike was very welcoming and helped with directions although easy to get around Tofino and find your way. So glad we decided to stay "in town".

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sb1676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim and Mike E, General Manager at Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thanks for the great review sb1676! Hopefully see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

This hotel is beautifully located and has stunning views. However, it is really run down and rather grotty. It is due to be refurbished so some of this will improve but really, given the state presently, it is very overpriced and lack of care would mean we won’t return even after the work is done.

Fittings are rusty, bathroom horrid, blinds broken, one old bbq working. All maybe to be expected as refurb is due, but should it still be charging premium rates?
Other areas could have been looked after just to show care to present guests but poor quality towels, broken lamps and bits of curtain rail left in the garden made us feel like the owners knew they could get away with not bothering. We didn’t even have enough cutlery to eat with!

So disappointing compared to everywhere else we stayed in Tofino and Canada. We won’t return even after the refurb.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Helena207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim and Mike E, General Manager at Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Hello Helena,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review - we wish you had brought these concerns to us during your stay, perhaps we could have assisted or moved to you a different unit while we attended to them. As you mentioned the building is set for a redevelopment starting this month. It is certainly clean and comfortable as it is, many guests have left positive reviews about the same unit. We will be sure to look into all of the issues you have identified and rectify them. We hope you will choose us again if you return to Tofino.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Oh Duffin Cove how we loved you and how sad we were to leave! This was our favourite location on our trip to BC (we stayed in 8 different places).

We had one of the A frame cabins - fantastic for our family of 4. A king size bed downstairs and 2 singles in the loft/mezzanine area. Fully equipped modern kitchen (thanks for the lovely coffee) and spotlessly clean, modern bathroom.

But we didn’t spend much time indoors because most of the time was spent gazing at the most incredible view. We didn’t really want to go anywhere else while we were there! The patio area is big enough for 4 really comfortable chairs so whether it was coffee out there in the morning or a glass of wine at night that’s where we were, watching the boats coming and going or the bald eagles circling above and even saw one coming down to the rocks to feed from one of the pools. Our kids loved exploring the rock pools too - something different to see every time the tide had been in.

We spent 2 perfect evenings down on the little beach with a campfire toasting marshmallows, it really couldn’t have been any better. You feel as if you are a million miles away from everywhere but actually you are about 2 minutes walk from everything Tofino has to offer! Only thing we could say for improvement and this is a tiny thing, more coat hangers would have been useful and perhaps a shelf or 2 more in the bathroom for storage.

Thank you Duffin Cove. Amazing.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank C9214DFlisah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim and Mike E, General Manager at Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Lisa,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Duffin Cove and thank you for the wonderful review! Hopefully we can host you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

This is a great spot in town walking distance from everything. The manager Mike was a great guy! Gave us suggestions on places to eat and tour. Very easy to get along with. I’ll be staying here again in the future. Families, friends, couples. Good for all!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Vince D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim and Mike E, General Manager at Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Thanks for the great review Vince, see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

I would definitely recommend this place. The staff are very accommodating everytime we returned to our room in the evenings our room was cleaned fresh towels and beds made. We stayed in room 7 we were told it was a partial view but I disagree with that because the view was out of this world. The bed was very comfortable . We will definitely be coming back again

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Angie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim and Mike E, General Manager at Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Angie, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! Hopefully we will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews