We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
marj10000
Witney, United Kingdom

Amazing place

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 June 2022
We stayed here for three nights, and honestly didn’t want to leave. We had room 32 which had a partial sea view, but we could see the sea from our room and we could leave the door to the balcony open at night and hear the waves crashing on the rocks. I was a bit disappointed when we first saw our room as there was no fridge and no tea/coffee making facilities but soon realised these did not matter: the bar is happy to give you ice and there is tea and coffee available from 7am to 9 pm each day. The staff were all really helpful and friendly. Erica who checked us in stands out! We were a bit disappointed that they weren’t doing food for two of our nights there, but the first night we walked along the beach to the bbq bar which had a live band playing and a great atmosphere and the second night we drove into Torino to Shelter which was superb. The third night we ate in the hotel and it was excellent food and good value for $39 each for a three course meal. The seafood tagliatelle had an enormous amount of seafood in it, so great value. We recommend walking along the beach and up to the main road, crossing over and visit the Tofino Botanic Gardens. A very special place! Highly recommend this hotel and Tofino as a whole. .
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management Of MBL, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 4 Aug 2022
Thank you so much for your lovely words! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, the amenities we offer on property and that our staff made you feel at home! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$624
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    AU$534
  • Expedia.com
    AU$625
  • Hotels.com
    AU$626
2.0 km from Middle Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$785
  • Hotels.com
    AU$787
  • StayForLong
    AU$772
  • Expedia.com
    AU$786
0.7 km from Middle Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$479
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$481
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$481
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Middle Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$492
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$492
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
2.2 km from Middle Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Perfect location in downtown Tofino - close to the waterfront, shops, restaurants and grocery store.
AU$363
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$362
2.1 km from Middle Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Room #1
AU$368
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    AU$368
  • Agoda.com
    AU$369
2.1 km from Middle Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
    1.3 km from Middle Beach Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    2.2 km from Middle Beach Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Vio.com
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    4.0 km from Middle Beach Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Vio.com
    • StayForLong
    • Algotels
    4.2 km from Middle Beach Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Tofino
    Reviews (1,329)
    Filter reviews
    1,329 results
    Traveller rating
    685
    397
    144
    60
    43
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    685
    397
    144
    60
    43
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews cinnamon buns continental breakfast yogurt small room mackenzie beach tea and coffee baked goods crab great room lounge area read a book stunning location living room the pacific ocean get away whale watching sound of the waves
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    38 - 43 of 1,329 reviews
    Reviewed 24 June 2022 via mobile

    This is fantastic location we had a room which had a wonderful sea view and we saw a whale within 5 minutes which was an unexpected bonus. The suite was really good and the hotel is in a colonial style which was pleasant. Tea and coffee was available f o c all day So why only a score of 3? One morning the butter ran out at breakfast and another morning coffee
    wasn’t available as they had no filters.
    We arrived at 6.50 pm and they would not serve food so we had to drive into Tofino. We came back and I wanted a drink the bartender gave me a menu and told me to make myself comfortable and she would take my order. We listened to 4 members of staff laughing and discussing girlie things for 10 minutes so I went back to the bar and the other 3 scattered so first impressions were now bad. Later they were all outside watching the sunset and another member of staff had to disperse them so someone could get a drink.
    We had an interesting crab meal but the crab was undressed so many customers did no know how to eat it. It just needed someone to do a demo and this would have added so much value and stopped a lot of wastage. The food was excellent however
    When we checked out the desk clerk did not have a clue but she was assisted by another member of staff who was nearby
    Overall impression rudderless with so much potential to improve

    Room tip: Things to avoid - arriving after 5 pm so don’t get the 1pm ferry from Horeshoe Bay or eat on the way. Don’t be late down to breakfast.!
    Date of stay: June 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Discover00096243171
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Management Of MBL, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2022

    Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry to hear you experience some short comings from some of our staff. Please know this is not our standard, as we strive to get better everyday we value our guests feedback and hope this does not deter you from visiting us again in the future!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 June 2022 via mobile

    My husband and I stayed at the Middle Beach Lodge for 3/2n for our honeymoon trip.

    Love the beach front view from our room (queen w/partial beach view) and the nature sea waves sound. The wood nature-based deco of the building especially the lounge area is very calming and relaxing. The staff at the lodge were friendly and helpful. We were greeted by them as soon as we entered the building. The lodge offers complimentary continental breakfast in the morning and the food was great . The lady worked at breakfast was very approachable. The lodge has private access to the Middle Beach and we enjoyed our morning walk after breakfast. Besides, it also offered complimentary parking for their guests and there are plenty of parking spots in the lot.

    The WIFI service was a bit slow but acceptable considering it location on the island. Also, the road before the MacKenzie Resorts was very bumpy so made driving very difficult. However, we were informed prior to our arrival so it was expected.

    Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Middle Beach Lodge and had a great time in Tofino!

    Cheers!

    Date of stay: June 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    2  Thank mschanchanvan
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Management Of MBL, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2022

    Thank you for spending your Honeymoon with us! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and we were able to make this special trip relaxing for you! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 June 2022

    Booked in for 4 nights, mainly to see whales and bears (we saw both!). Our apartment was comfortable and well equipped. From our balcony we looked out over the beach and could hear the waves. The other side was temperate rain forest with various trails. An idyllic spot. We were lucky that one day was stormy as this really showed the majesty of the Pacific Ocean. It was a short walk through the forest to our main reception/lounge/dining area. What a fabulous place to relax – comfortable chairs, a log fire, views out over the sea and tea/coffee available. Breakfast was plentiful and we booked in for a couple of dinners which were a set 3 course menu you could watch it being prepared. Seafood Tagliatelle one night and Salmon Chowder the next: superb! The staff were friendly and helpful and we liked the fact that they did not have a daily room service (probably from the Covid measures). The general atmosphere was informal which entirely fitted the environment. Would love to go again.

    Room tip: Has to be a sea view, we were in Room 62
    Date of stay: May 2022
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank colinf296
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Management Of MBL, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2022

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed all of the aspects our lodge has to offer!

    We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit!

    Best Wishes,
    Middle Beach Lodge Management

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 April 2022

    My wife and I stayed here for a week - Room 31 is to die for - well not quite! But the view is fantastic and we loved the sound of the waves and the wind in the trees - right on the edge of the Pacific.

    The staff are professional yet friendly and happy. All of the staff were exceptional, and the ones that we came in touch with were the chefs Tom and Hank, both from the Netherlands, Smiling Sam and the others, Sidney and May - all of whom are - I assume - Canadians. The front desk was manned by several, but naturally the ones that shone for us were Emily from Dudley, and Tess from Stratford in east London - hold onto them Canada, they're too good to loose to a visa system.

    The food changed every night. We loved it. Breakfasts are a bit boring - all good stuff but the granola could be enlivened with a little frest fruit salad. Endless coffee during the day and wonderful muffins and buns that just about lasted through the day - nothing wrong in running out - it means that they are cooking fresh food for the next day.

    If you just walk the two beaches, Mackenzie and Middle, you can achieve 6000 steps, but there is much to do here in Tofino

    Room tip: Headlands lodge - choose the best view you can afford
    Date of stay: April 2022
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Ted W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Management Of MBL, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2022

    Thank you for taking the time to leave all of this lovely feedback! We are so happy you enjoyed your experience here at the lodge and that our staff made you feel welcome!

    We hope to see you again soon!

    Best Wishes!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 April 2022

    Stayed here years ago and loved the little touches such as the cookies at night with tea and hot chocolate and the breakfast was fresh and thoughtfully presented.

    Just returned and although beaches are the reason to visit Tofino - we noticed some decline in this Lodge. We know the rooms are tiny - stayed in the adult lodge- so we were prepared for that - upon arrival we were told that there were no night time cookies - they were having a hard time getting them - slightly confused as there are cookies that could be made or bought - ok no biggie - we will survive lol.

    Asked for a couple of wine glasses to have a glass of wine in the evening - told we don't have any - you have to use the water glasses. Ok - again we will adapt..

    Went to drink a glass of wine in front of the fire in the great room - ants crawling all over the coffee table - when I mentioned it response was - ya we know - it's that time of year...( there are solutions to this)

    Upon breakfast the second morning - the baked goods were burnt and overdone - can happen - I get it - but there were muffins put out that were absolutely black - I have a picture- at this point in terms of food and beverage service these should not even be put out for consumption.

    In addition the young woman putting this together came out to fill the juice jugs with the Oasis juice tetra pack at a table where people were eating - instead of taking the jug into the kitchen and filling it then bringing it back out- again standard food and beverage training.

    these are a few things that we noticed that detracted from a nice stay - probably will not make this our choice again - a beautiful spot though - lots of land to wander!

    Date of stay: April 2022
      • Rooms
      • Service
    4  Thank mlarber
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Management Of MBL, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2022

    Hi there,

    We are sorry to hear about the short comings you experienced while staying with us. Please note this is not our standard and we appreciate your feedback.

    We have since followed up on all of the issues you experienced with your stay and we hope to see you again in the future so we are able to prove to you this was a one time problem.

    Once again our apologies,
    Middle Beach Lodge Management

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews