We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MLH
Victoria, Canada

Lacking those touches.....

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Apr 2022
Stayed here years ago and loved the little touches such as the cookies at night with tea and hot chocolate and the breakfast was fresh and thoughtfully presented.

Just returned and although beaches are the reason to visit Tofino - we noticed some decline in this Lodge. We know the rooms are tiny - stayed in the adult lodge- so we were prepared for that - upon arrival we were told that there were no night time cookies - they were having a hard time getting them - slightly confused as there are cookies that could be made or bought - ok no biggie - we will survive lol.

Asked for a couple of wine glasses to have a glass of wine in the evening - told we don't have any - you have to use the water glasses. Ok - again we will adapt..

Went to drink a glass of wine in front of the fire in the great room - ants crawling all over the coffee table - when I mentioned it response was - ya we know - it's that time of year...( there are solutions to this)

Upon breakfast the second morning - the baked goods were burnt and overdone - can happen - I get it - but there were muffins put out that were absolutely black - I have a picture- at this point in terms of food and beverage service these should not even be put out for consumption.

In addition the young woman putting this together came out to fill the juice jugs with the Oasis juice tetra pack at a table where people were eating - instead of taking the jug into the kitchen and filling it then bringing it back out- again standard food and beverage training.

these are a few things that we noticed that detracted from a nice stay - probably will not make this our choice again - a beautiful spot though - lots of land to wander!
Date of stay: April 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management Of MBL, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 29 July 2022
Hi there,

We are sorry to hear about the short comings you experienced while staying with us. Please note this is not our standard and we appreciate your feedback.

We have since followed up on all of the issues you experienced with your stay and we hope to see you again in the future so we are able to prove to you this was a one time problem.

Once again our apologies,
Middle Beach Lodge Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$625
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    AU$624
  • Booking.com
2.0 km from Middle Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$786
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$786
0.7 km from Middle Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$481
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.0 km from Middle Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
2.2 km from Middle Beach Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
    2.3 km from Middle Beach Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      AU$491
    • eDreams
    2.2 km from Middle Beach Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • eDreams
    • Skyscanner.com
    • Agoda.com
    4.0 km from Middle Beach Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Perfect location in downtown Tofino - close to the waterfront, shops, restaurants and grocery store.
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
      AU$363
    • eDreams
    2.1 km from Middle Beach Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Beachfront
    • Hotels.com
    • Algotels
    • eDreams
    4.2 km from Middle Beach Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Room #1
    • eDreams
    • Priceline
      AU$369
    • Agoda.com
    2.1 km from Middle Beach Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Tofino
    Reviews (1,329)
    Filter reviews
    1,329 results
    Traveller rating
    685
    397
    144
    60
    43
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    685
    397
    144
    60
    43
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews cinnamon buns continental breakfast yogurt small room mackenzie beach tea and coffee baked goods crab great room lounge area read a book stunning location living room the pacific ocean get away whale watching sound of the waves
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    43 - 48 of 1,329 reviews
    Reviewed 1 March 2022 via mobile

    We decided to spend a few days in Tofino to escape from the humdrum of the pandemic and to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. As it turned out, we couldn’t have picked a better place to escape and celebrate. We stayed in a room in the Adults Only Lodge which had a king sized bed, a kitchenette and an amazing ocean view of Middle Beach. In fact, we were perched above the beach and it was wonderful to both hear and see the surf. The room was well decorated, convenient and very quiet. A lovely, Continental breakfast was served each morning in the lodge with its welcoming fires, comfortable furniture and beautiful ocean views. The breakfast was extensive and delicious and the staff serving it were both professional and friendly. Actually, all of the staff were very welcoming. Lovely beach walks are easily accessed from the Lodge.

    Room tip: As we visited in January, there were neither crowds nor parking issues. There were, however, a few restaurant closures.
    Date of stay: January 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank schark
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Management Of MBL, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2022

    We're so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the perfect place to celebrate such a special occasion! Hopefully we will see you again soon !

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 February 2022

    Had a wonderful 2 night 3 day stay at this rustic lodge. It was clean and quiet . The beds were so comfortable! Even though our room faced the forest we could hear the ocean waves crashing. Be prepared to do stairs , no elevator. The great room was warm and inviting with a fire burning all day . The continental breakfast was fresh baked muffins,croissants, bagels or toast, a variety of jams cream cheese, meats and cheddar cheese. Fresh fruit . Coffee hot chocolate and tea and cookies offered all day till bed time . Close access to Middle Beach for beach combing! Thank you Middle Beach Lodge for a memorable get away .

    Date of stay: February 2022
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Northislandrose
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Management Of MBL, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2022

    Thank you so much for taking the time review us ! We're so pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay and hope to see you next time you visit Tofino !

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 November 2021

    Overall I really enjoyed the lodge, but it is very confusing.

    It could use some more signage and lighting because god help you if you need to find the place after dark (which unfortunately for me was any time after 5 pm)

    Lots of old people combined with lots of steps and not much lighting seems a bit risky to me but what do I know.

    The location is amazing though. Very beautiful private beaches and you're in a rainforest so there's that.

    Seriously though consider improving the lighting. And maybe pave that crappy gravel road or at least make an effort to keep the potholes under control.

    The view from our cabin was amazing.

    I feel so conflicted about this place!!!

    Date of stay: November 2021
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank guyincognito666
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Management Of MBL, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2021

    Thank you for taking the time to review our property ! We'll take in your suggestions towards the lighting for our roads . Though unfortunately the gravel road leading up to the paved roads on our property are local township roads that are out of control. We're happy that you enjoyed the time that you spent with us and we hope to see you again in the future !

    Best Regards,
    The Management of MBL

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 31 October 2021 via mobile

    Really enjoyed drinks and dinner at the Lodge. Room had great ocean view, however during COVID when you had to eat breakfast in your room, we should have booked a larger room. Excellent value for your money.

    Date of stay: September 2021
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank DAD11
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Management Of MBL, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2021

    We so appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience ! We know it has been very trying while dealing with new Covid regulations but we so appreciate your patience during these times !

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 October 2021

    Rustic Lodge with great views and walking trails. The staff is amazing. We just finished a delicious 3 course Crab Meal. The breakfast is wonderful and they always leave fruit and pastries out all day along with coffee/tea etc.

    Room tip: Full Ocean View with Balcony had panoramic views and nice sunny room. Also had a fireplace.
    Date of stay: October 2021
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    2  Thank 534brendal
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Management Of MBL, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2021

    Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback ! We're very pleased to here that you've ha such a great overall experience with us! Hopefully we will see you again on your next trip to Tofino !

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews